We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Heavenly”
other travellers have booked this property
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Strathisla tea estate bungalow Strathisla - Matale tea estate Sri lanka
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Strathisla Tea estate Guesthouse poolside
Strathisla tea estate bungalow
Strathisla - Matale tea estate Sri lanka
Strathisla verandah
Strathisla tea estate bungalow interior
Strathisla bungalow - view from front entrance
Suriya room 4 poster bed
Salmal room
Suriya room ensuite
Tea estate tour, Strathisla estate Sri Lanka
Strathisla Sunset
Local waterhole
Knuckles range
Historic Kandy town
Pinnewala elephant orphanage
Giant sleeping Buddha, Polonnaruwa
Langur mother and baby
Elephant riding in Kandelama Lake
Castlereagh Lake
Local temple
Local 'weigh in' of tea
Dambulla Rock Temple
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

NireshEli...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Heavenly”
Reviewed August 3, 2020 for a stay in August 2020

Nestled in the Knuckles Mountains near the town of Matale. Bracing climate. Surrounded by tea estates and gorgeous forest. Amazing bungalow from the 19th century. High ceilings. Quaint old furniture. Huge verandah where one can relax and enjoy a glass of wine. Two huge living rooms. Wifi. Superb service - extremely helpful and friendly. Brilliant food - western and eastern. Great for family, work, couples. Excellent pool. Definitely going back again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolasbe...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Sri Lankan hospitality”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We spent almost a week in Strathisla and felt at home from the moment we arrived. The house and gardens are beautiful and set in a very peaceful environment. The staff are non intrusive and among the best we’ve met in Sri Lanka. They just make sure you’re alright and let you enjoy the place as if it was your own. Don’t miss the evening drinks on the terrace and the fabulous home cooked dinners!

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2018
Hi Nicolas
Apologies about the late reply; I only just noticed I hadn't replied to your wonderful review. From all the team at Strathisla many thanks for choosing to stay with us and we wish you happy and safe travels in the future. Be sure to come again! Warmest regards, Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Marrickville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2016

This is a beautiful estate set in a quiet, gorgeous part of Sri Lanka. Peter and his family are just wonderful, kind and friendly. They are also excellent cooks. My daughter and I had our best holiday here in Sri Lanka. definitely stay here again. thank you.

Date of stay: January 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itchyfeet...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sublime..”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Exceptional service, delicious food and a truly gorgeous location in a beautiful colonial house. This is as good as it gets.

What was particularly special was the fascinating guided walk around the valley through tea plantations and jungle where we learnt a huge amount about the local people and the flora and fauna of the area.

Pria’s food was consistently lovely and Jeyakumar and Moorthi provided both a wealth of knowledge and an exceptionally high standard of service. They went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay and that our onward travel went as smoothly as possible.

The house and grounds are stunning and the house in particular has been carefully restored, creating a wonderful atmosphere and preserving a piece of colonial heritage. The music was also a nice touch.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owners who were very friendly and welcoming. It was fascinating to learn about their Strathilsa project. Thank you Peter and Moselle! We can’t wait until next time!

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Hi James
So great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Strathisla bungalow. of course with such lively guests as your selves it does make our job a whole lot easier. Anyway I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sr Lanka as much as with us and please come back soon.
Warmest regards from all the team here at Strath
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Childeber...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip. Highly recommend. ”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The villa is beautiful, set in a wonderful garden and facing out over the hills. We enjoyed wonderful sunset skies whilst drinking on the terrace with the other guests and using the pool. The food was amazing and suited all tastes - it is prepared and served with obvious pride. The whole vibe of the place is wonderful and it attracts a good crowd. The villa team organised a day tour of Kandy (temple and botanical garden) and another day of hiking. Both were excellent and anything we needed was provided for.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Hello, thank you for your lovely review of Strathisla, which is much appreciated. Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback. Safe travels - Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priya S
Coburg, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful tea estate bungalow surrounded by lush jungles!”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here with the family the first 4 nights in Sri Lanka. This tea estate bungalow is surrounded by mountains of lush beautiful forests and gardens. So many things to see and do, an informative tea and spice walk, a walk through the lush jungle to a beautiful Buddhist temple and nearby river. The food cooked by Priya, the resident chef, was by far the best food we ate in Sri Lanka, not to mention the numerous pots of estate tea we drank! The wild life we saw from birds, squirrels, lizards and even a group of moneys was magical. My little ones were also taken with the resident dogs and made good use of the pool here. Very knowledgeable and friendly host as well. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone, especially as a first stop to acclimatise to the Sri Lankan weather and take in the beautiful surrounds.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Thank you, Priya, for your wonderful review and for staying with us. Come back again please! Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Kandy District, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss Revisited”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We were welcomed very warmly by owners Peter and Mozelle at their romantic, sympathetically-restored Plantation Home to a wonderful Lunch on the terrace overlooking 25 acres of exotic gardens with far-reaching views to jungle, mountains and valleys. Jaykumar the manager runs the estate efficiently, and his lovely wife Pria cooks delicious food sourced from the estate or from local farmers. The fine house is tastefully furnished with Sri Lankan antiques and the high-cieling bedrooms have 4-poster beds. We were having a reunion lunch with old friends from Mount Lavinia, and were enjoying ourselves so much, they missed their train to Colombo! A blessing, really, as we could linger over delicious desserts on the terrace, enjoy the view , the swimming-pool, and the soon-to-be-opened new Yoga Spa, discreetly hidden in the beautiful grounds. I have been here before and never want to leave, and always want to return, for longer. Heaven !

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Hi Kris
Many thanks for your kind words. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. I wish you happy and safe travels in your remaining travels and please know you are always welcome back at Strathisla Bungalow.
Best regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.