We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
120
22
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
22
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub bethells beach bedroom cottage west coast beaches new zealand great hosts city life kia ora amazing location shampoo and conditioner gorgeous setting spent two nights short drive well equipped kitchen home away from home playing table tennis auckland cbd
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 159 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

This is a fabulous spot to enjoy amazing coastal scenery. The owners are welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately however the accommodation is not particularly comfortable. The cottage we stayed in needed a good clean with cobwebs and dust obvious in places, pots and pans greasy, rugs soiled. The mattress was particularly soft, I suspect old as you rolled into the middle of the bed. The bed linen and pillows were worn, the dining chairs uncomfortable, bathroom sink cracked and mould and spiders around the shower. This really could be an incredible spot but sadly the dated tired accommodation detracts from it. Thankfully we had only booked one night, I think we would have moved on if it had been two.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PLJSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Just spend a night in the one bed apartment, was so relaxing. It’s a short drive down to the beach and lake walk. The apartment itself is very private and has a hot tub with a great view down to the beach. If you stay it’s good to bring food and drink as there is no shop out at bethells beach, but what it lacks in amenities it make up with pure tranquility!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OliverMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Arrived at the cottage for the last two nights of a 8 week holiday through Australia and New Zealand, we had booked the larger cottage , it was a massive disappointment as very run down and grubby. Ants on the worktops and flies. The bed sheets needed replacing and the smell was musty. Internet connection wasn’t good but we can live without that for a few days. The area where the weddings had been held is in a complete mess . Can’t imagine any weddings held there for a good few years .We moved on after one night .

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Had this stay been the first night of our week long trip to NZ, instead of our last, we might not have gone anywhere else. Our stay in the cottage was wonderful. It overlooks one of the best beaches in the world. Exploring this remote, largely uninhabited mile long beach during low tide was maybe the highlight of our entire trip. The cottage is surrounded with a carefully manicured lawn and flower/herb garden, including hot tub and hammock. This is not an ultra modern, new facility but has everything that you need to get away from the noise and crowds of Auckland. It is the ultimate example of charm and character. The gracious, humble hosts have spent years building, adding and tweaking every little detail, from privacy blinds, nice towels, comfortable bed, loaded kitchen, reading material to wifi (spotty coverage), games (lawn chess, ping pong), cut flowers, travel brochures, full size refrigerator/freezer, several coffee makers, etc.

Room Tip: Cottage has great views.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018

What a lovely relaxing weekend we had staying here!!!! Very private, with views looking down over the dunes and beach. You can totally get away from the fast pace of life here as mobiles refuse to work here!!!! Beautiful sunsets. Will come back again some day! Thank you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneL3567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews