We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
97
20
18
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
20
18
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park mornington peninsula mini bar welcome drink my partner food and wine luxury hotel world class staff were exceptional light bulbs turn down service tasting menu rolling hills bath salts amazing hotel room for improvement every staff member
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 149 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

First off, you pay a LOT to stay here... If you don't value design and aesthetics you won't feel like you got good value. If you love design, you'll probably be in heaven! Our package had 2 dinners and breakfast so the rate actually quite isn't as scary as it first seems (OK, still a bit scary!).

We stayed 3 nights, unfortunately the vineyard view rooms were sold out as it was pretty new and popular, so our room overlooked the carpark. Not ideal at the price, but when on you sit on the bed of out on the balcony, you just see trees and sky so not too bad.

The design is dark, moody and thoroughly refreshing compared to beige box hotels. Doot Doot Doot was excellent for dinner and breakfast. Rare Hare, the more casual restaurant, was also delish!

The only real negatives, there's a lot of people who come for day trips etc, (I think there was a Hen's party group one day) so the bar, restaurant, entry, carpark etc are always filled with people who haven't necessarily payed for the hotel experience, which make it feel less luxury and a LOT less private. Yes the pool etc is for hotel guests only, but at this level there should be a bar or lounge to hang out for guests only, so you can enjoy the spaces you are paying so much for.

Finally, the bathrooms have frosted glass walls separating the toilet from the room... not exactly mood-enhancing for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chichotellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

I regularly stay at luxury hotels and resorts maybe 80 days of the year and this was a total let down. We paid $750 per night to have a view of the car park. A small room with uncomfortable linen and not a true king bed rather two singles pushed together.

For the price we would expect some peace and quiet, rather the hotel is overrun with the public and screaming kids.

Don’t waste your money on the hotel. It’s absolutely not worth the price. They should really charge $300 per night for this quality and service.

The hotel bar couldn’t make a French martini, and they were out of a few of their signature cocktails.

Also upon arrival there was no valet service and we had to wait until after 3 to check in.

We booked two nights but decided to check out at 8am after the first nights stay.

I heard they are thinking about opening in the city. My advice is to get this right before investing in more properties.

Listen to your customers, we won’t be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The pluses are that Jackalope is only an hour from Melbourne and is a superb location for visiting the wineries in the area. Although it does not appear to be advertised I managed to find out that they offer a driver service which we took advantage of to go for lunch to another winery.The decor is contemporary with black walls and neon lights but it works. The deep bath in the room was the highlight and worth the half hour it took to fill it. There were lots of young friendly staff around who all seemed eager to please. Great breakfast , served until 11 am so no need for an early start.
The big minus was the noise, the entry doors to the rooms are self closing ( self slamming ! ) and so every time a fellow guest goes in or out of their room you hear the door, we could also quite clearly hear the music being played in the room next door and the crying child opposite. Another thing to be aware of is that the loo is behind a frosted glass window in the bedroom, no privacy! The website needs to be fixed up, when you click on ' the hotel ' tab it makes no mention that there is a pool and a spa ( it is shown under the ' whats here' tab) so we arrived without bathers not knowing that there was a pool and were unable to get a spa booking as it was already booked.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but definitely room for improvement.

Room Tip: Beware, half the rooms overlook the car park
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jwea2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

The property is interesting, the location is beautiful, with lovely sunsets at night.

If you can, avoid rooms overlooking the car park.

The good:
*The rooms at the back/overlooking the vineyard have a lovely view
*Breakfast at Doot Doot Doot is good
*The pool is a good size and a nice way to spend some down time
*Flaggerdoot had some very well prepared/ presented mains and entrees

The could be better:
* Service at breakfast time can be improved. Despite half a dozen servers (wait staff?) walking about, getting a refill for a coffee can be a chore.

*The pool area needs more umbrellas and chairs. 4 Umbrellas is not enough, and too few chairs for the number of people using the pool.

*Someone else pointed this out - the rooms facing the vineyard get blasted with sun in the morning, so your options are to use the blackout curtains, or try to limit the brightness by pulling the pretty thin & transparent white curtain to limit the sun a bit. The second option doesn't really work all that well, so either you're baking in your room, or in the dark.

*Rooms facing the vineyard could benefit from shades/some sort of overhang, or an umbrella. It would have been nice to sit outside and have coffee on the balcony, but the sun made that difficult, if not downright uncomfortable, especially when the temp was rapidly climbing.

*Overly complicated light switches- 6 buttons to control lights in the various parts of the room?! A perfect example of "Just because you can doesn't mean you should"

*The frosted door in the toilet cubicle - no. Again, just because you can...

* The hallway was rather noisy, so you do hear coming & going of your neighbors between 10 and midnight.

It was a positive experience overall, but the property has some kinks to be resolved.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anthony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I were celebrating our anniversary, and thought we would check this place out! It is extremely well designed and you definitely notice an ‘upmarket’ feel about it. Take some cash, but it is enjoyable and fun! We were very happy with the service. We didn’t stay there, just went for drinks and nibbles. All in all, we would go back!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kdt217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews