We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay, motel style, but no wifi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daly Waters
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalywaters Hiway Inn
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Our room had a nice shady porch with table and chairs to sit outside. All rooms are a few steps above parking level and have separate access, so no one needed to pass our door to get to their room. Liked the privacy. One downside is there is no cealing fan, so you need the airconditioning, which I really hate.
Complimentary tee and coffee, fridge are in the room.
The pub is nice for food and drinks, friendly service, bar favoured by locals and travellers, but not overcrowded. Really good to wind down after a day on Stuart Highway. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarianneSammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

It is difficult to find a good word to say about the accommodation offered by this 'hostelry'. The room appeared to be the half of a converted shipping container. The lavatory was clogged, the bedclothes were 'tired' and torn and the air-con ineffective. Consequently, the atmosphere was putrid.

Less said the better

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pompey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Clean room, good air con(very important out here) great food and friendly service in pub. A bunch of little kids totally out of control didn’t seem to bother any of us patrons too much, staff handled the situation with great tolerance.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_gillham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived quite early and set up in the shade and watched the birds coming and going from the "waterhole" in the paddock.

It got quite busy as folk are on their way to a big car show in Alice Springs.

The food was good pub food and the bathroom facilities were clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sala5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here while travelling down the Stuart Hwy. We were two families each with two adults and two children. We booked two cabins for the night. These were two bedroom and were clean and tidy. Thanks for your hospitality. A special mention to Orla who was very patient with all the phone calls I made to her while trying to organise getting back a mag-lite that we'd left in our cabin.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Greg651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

The room was a cabin, not our idea of a good stay. Restaurant was ok, but expensive. It was expensive for the type of room given. Would not recommend. We wanted to stay overnight on our way down from Katherine to Alice Springs, was advised to stay here by Darwin tourist information centre, they shoud check it out before recommending it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackiekirk500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Whist traveling down the middle we literally lost a tyre off our caravan (rolled off) at 90kms/ph. Scary stuff, we did what we could roadside and limped to hi-way inn Daly waters. The very next morning Jack the mechanic assisted us at every turn. He arranged for replacement parts to be collected from Katherine, he allowed us to leave our van in his shed so we could get the parts. On our return he fixed out van and basically went out of his way to assist - highly recommended mechanic in the middle of no where.
Stayed in the park for 2 nights and ate at the restaurant the first night - the best hamburger ever! Even get a free beer:)
Grounds are beautiful with trees, bbq and lovely green grass and van/car can stay hooked up.
Amenities are basic but were clean and serviceable.
Honestly this place is a long way from anything and we had an amazing experience, thankyou to Jack, Irish (sorry didn't get your name) and the team
Will return and recommend

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank queenie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dalywaters Hiway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalywaters Hiway Inn

Address: Corner of the Stuart and Carpentaria Highways, Daly Waters, Northern Territory 0852, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Daly Waters
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Daly Waters

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing