We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
135
43
12
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
43
12
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub new owners canonteign falls pie sunday lunch fantastic food lovely lunch lovely old pub washed down beautiful village little gem real ale hidden away off the beaten track narrow lanes well worth a visit evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 207 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited here today after visiting the canonteign falls. Really lovely traditional pub, gorgeous lit log burner, nice owner who knows his stuff and good local knowledge. I had a sauvignon blanc which was really good quality wine. We both had a roast dinner which was nice and tasty- although my only constructive criticism would be the portion was slightly on the small side, throw some carrots on for extra vegetable variety and an extra roast spud or two and it would make it all the better. Overall though we really like what they are trying to do here and we found a little gem. We will definitely return

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Called in for a meal with our 2 greyhounds after viewing a house in the area. Great sense of history, extremely friendly and great food and service. Our dogs were no problem. Very happy that this will soon be our 'local'!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We stayed here for two nights in the middle of September and what a lovely stay !
The building oozes character and has a very friendly atmosphere.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay and both occasions the food was excellent.
The bar has a couple of real ales on hand pump, a selection of whisky that an Edinburgh pub would have been proud of and a great range of different gins.
The staff are all very welcoming. All in all we cannot wait to visit again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Meanwood03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Stayed here Saturday night as a stopover to plymouth and glad i did. The Cridford Inn is as you'd expect from the photos, Quaint.
A small bar with a very good selection of spirts. Some local ales and very friendly service.
The food was really good, a varied selection from fish to steak to lasagne.
We stayed in "the nest" which was 1 minute (maybe less) from the restaurant.
Slept soundly and had a lovely breakfast in the morning.

No hesitation in recommending this place and will stay again as our son is in Plymouth Uni.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2016

Good afternoon Mark P,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - really pleased that you enjoyed the food and the cottage - it is quite a jaunt isn't it!!

Look forward to welcoming you again soon

George N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016

We found this place by accident while looking for nearby Canonteign Falls waterfall (also worth a visit). On the day we were there they were doing Pie and a Pint for £10.... delicious home made food! My wife had Paella which was also delicious.
They have great real ales and a large selection off Gins, Vodkas and single malt Whisky.
The owner had only recently taken over the Inn (parts of which date back to the 9th century). In the bar is a leaded light window from the 1600s
They currently have four bedrooms but are planning to convert the cottages ajacent to provide more. The lovely lady that served us was a mine of useful local information too! Ask her about Dartmoor Falconry.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2016

Good afternoon EssexJohn,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Indeed we do have quite the selection of spirits - now totalling over 100 gins! So pleased you found us by accident and took the time to leave us a review - hopefully you will be able to find us again in the future!

Kind regards
George N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews