We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Deal at a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydans Apartments and Villas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Island Harbour
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Excellent location--a two-minute walk to a lovely beach with mostly calm water. There are numerous bars/restaurants lining the beach, and it is a short taxi ride to the ferry at Blowing Point. Sydans is also close to several stores, but you have to take a five-minute climb out of the valley. There is a broad trail near La Vue Hotel which is located on top of the hill. There is another, narrower path to the top along he road that skirts the pond. You will have to ask a local about these paths or spot them using google earth. You could also just walk along the road to the top. Sydans has a store but there is not much there in the summer when there are few guests. Wifi is very important for me and I did not lose the signal at all during five days. Having several connection options is very helpful for staying online. My studio was very large and had everything necessary for making one's own meals. I also had a spacious balcony facing the pond. The rooms are comfortable but need to be updated. Of course, updating will result in higher prices. Sydans with its great location is one of the lowest price options on this expensive island. Ann and her family are very welcoming and personable.
They will help you with any questions you may have. I had a good time at here at Sandy Ground and would return to Sydans.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank traveladdict5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Sydans Apartments and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

This place is basic located in the heart of Sandy Ground. Room was spacious and adequately comfortable for a shorter stay. We did, however, need a new fan, hot water, iron & board and hairdryer. Furniture and kitchen very dated. Stove almost works.
With prices on island being outrageous, it is good if you're on a budget.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cam1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

This is the place to stay while on a budget. Anguilla is a very expensive island with some world class resorts. However, if your thing is eating local, hanging on the beach, beach bars and doing your own exploring, Sydans is the way to go.
No it is not modern and it is set in the 80's. But the rooms are clean and in the end that is all that matters. We only slept and showered in the room. But, it was nice having the kitchenette and the fridge. The convenience store out front also helped make supplies a little easier. They are currently renovating a room and I am sure more are to follow. Like anything, it takes time, but then the price may go up.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank davideQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Arriving at the hotel was a bit of a shock, it is quite rundown... but the rooms are clean and spacious, the beach just in front of the hotel is fabulous and the owner is a super friendly lady. Good wifi in the rooms. Around the hotel you will find some restaurants, type barefoot (great atmosphere, friendly service and simple meals, just the way we love it!) and bars. All in all, we loved it, and do recommend it. A bit to expensive for what it is, but looking at the total picture, absolutely worth it. At the last day, the lady owner took us to the harbor and did not accept any payment for it. A super friendly lady.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The maid had to check us in because there was no one in the office. The room was old, tired, well used but the bathroom and bed were clean. The sheets were clean and washed, but there were old stains on them. There were cracks in the ceiling and dirt on the stairway railing. The air conditioning worked well and the manager was very nice once she showed up to check us in. The price is good for Anguilla and it is within walking distance of many restaurants/bars on the beach. It’s about a $15USD taxi ride from the ferry terminal. If we were to go back, we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

This is our 4th year staying at Sydan's. I will tell you this. If you are on a budget and don't mind clean, yet set in the 80's, then you will be okay. The thing about Anguilla is its expensive so if you want to stay there yet don't have thousands of dollars for a place to stay then this is a great option. However, don't expect bell boys, front desk people or elevators. Sometimes there is no one there to check you in so you have to call Ann on her cell phone so be prepared for that. We love staying here because it is informal. It feels like home in some ways. Could it use updating? Sure but then her prices will go up and it will no longer be budget friendly.

Our stay this year was great except for a few snags. The internet was fabulous this year which is a huge change from other years. However, every time we have stayed there, she always has us move rooms & I have to say, while it isn't horrible, when I am staying somewhere I like to get settled. Another situation, which isn't her fault at all, is the toilet in our upstairs loft ended up plugged. Apparently someone with a child stayed in it before us & we believe a toy or something was put down it. Thankfully we had a second toilet downstairs because that toilet didn't really work the whole time we were there. So anyone booking here better get visions of grandeur out of your head before you arrive. Sydans is clean and comfortable but nowhere near fancy but you definitely feel welcome and that's what counts in my books.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We arrived around 7 pm, with no one to check us in, thank goodness a lady was able to call the owner, we were not impressed with the room as it really is outdated, but for the price we paid, was okay. This is for anyone who plans on staying a long time and don't expect any frills, they have a small kitchen you can cook in instead of going out to dinner, within walking distance from beach and places to eat. The photos that are shown on this site is far from exaggerated...everything is old...

Room Tip: if you want luxury, this is not the place for you...
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamwoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Island Harbour
2.4 km away
Arawak Beach Inn
Arawak Beach Inn
#1 of 4 in Island Harbour
123 reviews
13.9 km away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#3 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
0.3 km away
Shoal Bay Villas
Shoal Bay Villas
#2 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
1.2 km away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
228 reviews
12.4 km away
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Anguilla Great House Beach Resor...
#10 of 13 in West End Village
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydans Apartments and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydans Apartments and Villas

Address: Sandy Ground, Island Harbour, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > Island Harbour
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Island Harbour
Price Range: $133 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sydans Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing