We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
13
20
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
20
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandy ground own meals excellent location expensive island ann beach
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Excellent location--a two-minute walk to a lovely beach with mostly calm water. There are numerous bars/restaurants lining the beach, and it is a short taxi ride to the ferry at Blowing Point. Sydans is also close to several stores, but you have to take a five-minute climb out of the valley. There is a broad trail near La Vue Hotel which is located on top of the hill. There is another, narrower path to the top along he road that skirts the pond. You will have to ask a local about these paths or spot them using google earth. You could also just walk along the road to the top. Sydans has a store but there is not much there in the summer when there are few guests. Wifi is very important for me and I did not lose the signal at all during five days. Having several connection options is very helpful for staying online. My studio was very large and had everything necessary for making one's own meals. I also had a spacious balcony facing the pond. The rooms are comfortable but need to be updated. Of course, updating will result in higher prices. Sydans with its great location is one of the lowest price options on this expensive island. Ann and her family are very welcoming and personable.
They will help you with any questions you may have. I had a good time at here at Sandy Ground and would return to Sydans.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank traveladdict5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

This place is basic located in the heart of Sandy Ground. Room was spacious and adequately comfortable for a shorter stay. We did, however, need a new fan, hot water, iron & board and hairdryer. Furniture and kitchen very dated. Stove almost works.
With prices on island being outrageous, it is good if you're on a budget.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cam1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2016

This is the place to stay while on a budget. Anguilla is a very expensive island with some world class resorts. However, if your thing is eating local, hanging on the beach, beach bars and doing your own exploring, Sydans is the way to go.
No it is not modern and it is set in the 80's. But the rooms are clean and in the end that is all that matters. We only slept and showered in the room. But, it was nice having the kitchenette and the fridge. The convenience store out front also helped make supplies a little easier. They are currently renovating a room and I am sure more are to follow. Like anything, it takes time, but then the price may go up.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank TravelQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Arriving at the hotel was a bit of a shock, it is quite rundown... but the rooms are clean and spacious, the beach just in front of the hotel is fabulous and the owner is a super friendly lady. Good wifi in the rooms. Around the hotel you will find some restaurants, type barefoot (great atmosphere, friendly service and simple meals, just the way we love it!) and bars. All in all, we loved it, and do recommend it. A bit to expensive for what it is, but looking at the total picture, absolutely worth it. At the last day, the lady owner took us to the harbor and did not accept any payment for it. A super friendly lady.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

The maid had to check us in because there was no one in the office. The room was old, tired, well used but the bathroom and bed were clean. The sheets were clean and washed, but there were old stains on them. There were cracks in the ceiling and dirt on the stairway railing. The air conditioning worked well and the manager was very nice once she showed up to check us in. The price is good for Anguilla and it is within walking distance of many restaurants/bars on the beach. It’s about a $15USD taxi ride from the ferry terminal. If we were to go back, we would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews