We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Experience PEI - Happy Clammers- MOVED
Save
Review Highlights
Fun for the whole family plus delicious homemade meal!

Making the booking through experience PEI couldn't have been simpler! Quick email response and... read more

Reviewed September 10, 2015
Tracy C
,
Coquitlam, Canada
via mobile
Lots of fun and very educational

We found Happy Clammers through Experience PEI and tripadvisor.com, and it turned out to be our... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2015
Neil L
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
62
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 65 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2015

Making the booking through experience PEI couldn't have been simpler! Quick email response and clear instructions. Gilbert and Goldie are very friendly and a wealth of stories, information and delicious homemade treats. Definitely the most memorable activity of our family vacation! We also visited Jackie and John (Gilbert's brother), they run the oyster lover's experience, and picked up some yummy fresh oysters.

Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2015

My daughters and I absolutely loved this experience!!! Gilbert and Goldie are wonderful, and so authentic. Gilbert taught us how to dig for clams and explained quite a bit about them during the first part of our adventure. Once we found enough clams, we went back to their house where Goldie taught us some more about different types of clams, while our catch steamed in the background. We had steamed clams, clam chowder and Goldie's famous blueberry pie for lunch - heavenly!! Gilbert and Goldie are so knowledgeable, interesting and talented! If you like experiences, this is one you should not miss!!

Thank Thempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2015

We found Happy Clammers through Experience PEI and tripadvisor.com, and it turned out to be our favorite excursion on the island. Gilbert and Goldie are excellent hosts, artists, and educators: my wife and I were warmly greeted by them and as we were waiting for other groups to show up, Gilbert showed us the art that they have made using various sea shells, drift wood, and sea glass. Once everyone showed up, we drove down to the beach area where we raked for quahog clams (a.k.a. little neck clams). Gilbert taught us all how to dig for clams quickly, and it was quite the zen experience. With our bounty of clams in tow, Gilbert and Goldie steamed the clams for eating, and we enjoyed exceptional chowder, delicious clams, and deserts with coffee. While the food was being prepared, Goldie taught us all about the other types of clams you can find.

This is the most complete experience you will find on the island: adventure, education, and tasty food! I can't recommend it enough!

Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2015

We signed up for this tour the day before and at that time, we were the only two people signed up for the tour but by the time we arrived the following day, we learned that there was going to be 15 people made up of some adults and several children. The tour time is dependent on the tides as you need to go clamming for hard shell clams at low tide. So, we were told to arrive at 3:00 in the afternoon. We arrived at Gilbert And Goldie's home and had the opportunity to go to the washroom and learn a little about how we were going to find the clams when we got to our clamming destination. We were shown how to use the clamming rake and how to use the clam sizer to make sure that we were only taking clams that were of legal size. There was a large family group joining us and they were running late. We waited for a while and then the decision was made that those that were there would go and the other family could catch up with us when they arrived. The beach area where we were clamming was only about a 5-minute drive away and each group followed behind Gilbert In our own vehicles. When we arrived we walked out in the wet sand for a while and then we got to start clamming! It was so much fun! Gilbert was there to help us get the hang of it and then we were free to clam away! The kids in our group were having just as much fun as the adults! It really is a neat thing to do and we got so excited when we got a good one! About half way through, the other large family joined is and, by the time we were done, we had all collected an impressive amount of clams. We then returned to Gilbert and Goldie's home where the clams were cleaned and where we could clean off our filthy feet! Once in the home, Gilbert started cooking the clams while Goldie gave us a very interesting lesson on the different types of clams and the different methods of catching them. With perfect timing, at the conclusion of her presentation, Gilbert announced that the clams were ready. It was a beautiful day and they had prepared two tables on the deck for us. We were treated to fresh, homemade biscuits and our freshly caught clams served with a delicious garlic butter. I was taking part more for experience and would have been happy to catch and release, but I was surprised that I actually enjoyed eating a few clams! We then had some delicious clam chowder to finish off our meal. The kids at our table really enjoyed the clam chowder and biscuits. We enjoyed the company of the family we shared a table with, enjoyed the fresh food and enjoyed the sunshine. After the meal, they had freshly made blueberry cake or chocolate cake and ice cream ready for us for dessert. All in all, we had a really fun experience and a great meal. To improve, we feel that they should cap off the number of participants at a smaller number. Once all of us were there, we felt that there were too many people to make it truly enjoyable. Some tips-you may want to bring bug spray as there were some pesky ones around. Also, you want to where shoes that can get muddy, but for us, flip flops were not the answer! Every step we took, they would get caught in a bit of mud which would fling up on us in our next step. We ended up in bare feet which worked well for us! Overall, we left as happy clammers!

1  Thank naylenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

The Gilbert & Goldie clamming experience came highly recommended by family members as a must do while visiting the beautiful Provence of PEI. Gilbert took us to a clamming mudflat at low tide to dig for our dinner. We were joined by several other tourists and once determined that we had dug enough, we returned to his beautiful home and Goldie steamed our freshly dug clams. Goldie also served her delicious clam chowder with home cooked biscuits for dinner and ended our dining pleasure with a strawberry shortcake with fresh strawberries and topped with ice cream. Absolutely a delightful experience that we would recommend to anyone visiting the area. Gilbert and Goldie have a long and interesting family history on PEI.

If you do decide to go clamming plan on leaving a couple of hours early. Take a short ride to the end of the road and visit the Prim Point Lighthouse, which is the oldest lighthouse in the Provence of PEI. And a stones throw from the lighthouse is the Point Prim Chowder House waterfront restaurant and a must stop. Also along this same road keep an eye out for the bottle houses village, also a must see. These village replicas were built by a retired School Bus Driver who opens his yard to all. Donations are accepted and thousands of dollars have been raised to date for the Children's Hospital in Halifax. A memorable day on PEI.

2  Thank tropicalal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

We called the day of and it was great that we could be accommodated in a same day booking. Gilbert and Goldie welcomed us into their home, shared family information as they have been in this area for generations and told us about the Point Prim lighthouse. We then headed off to start clamming. Though it was pouring rain the experience was still amazing. Gilbert was very knowledgeable and taught us how to dig. He had many interesting facts about clams to share. Upon arrival back at their house, Gilbert cleaned up our muddy shoes while Goldie did show and tell about various clams. We enjoyed a great dinner at their table consisting of our clams, tea biscuits and chowder. The home made desserts were a great way to end the meal. If you have one bring a waterproof camera. Don't miss this experience.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We only had 3 days in PEI - a first time trip for our family - and we were so lucky to find this amazing experience. We loved it. Gilbert & Goldie were so kind and generous to welcome us into their home and teach us about PEI and clamming. The food was amazing and my son was thrilled to see Gilbert's fossil collection. We also met other travellers and we all had a laugh and enjoyed getting dirty in the low-tide sands searching for our dinner.

Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperiencePEI1, Owner at Experience PEI - Happy Clammers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

Thanks Nancy....we clearly succeeded in meeting your expectations with our Happy Clammers experience. Goldie and Gilbert are such amazing Islanders who love sharing this amazing place with visitors. We love it when complete strangers come together during our experiences and end up making new friendships.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2015

From beginning to the end of our experience we were happy clammers. Gilbert and Goldie are excellent hosts. My 85 year old mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the beach learning how to find clams and meeting other families. The clam chowder and biscuits were delicious only out done by the homemade pie. Would love the recipe for Goldie's homemade rhubarb drink. Truly an afternoon we won't soon forget.

Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperiencePEI1, Owner at Experience PEI - Happy Clammers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

Truly high praise and we thank you for it. We're delighted you and your mom had a great time with Goldie and Gilbert. I'm sure Goldie would be delighted to share her rhubarb drink. Just send me an email and I will get it to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2015

Gilbert and Goldie Gillis are very kind to my group of 3. Gilbert showed us where to dig for clams and how to find them (the little holes in the sand). After the clam digging with Gilbert, Goldie will cook the clams we dug. Her clam chowder and blueberry pie are so delicious! I wish I can finish her pie but I was full =( . We also enjoyed listening to many stories that they tell us. Gilbert also drove us to the Lighthouse where he and Goldie got married. Overall, we strongly recommend this experience; you all will love the Gillis couple.

3  Thank Khoi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperiencePEI1, Owner at Experience PEI - Happy Clammers, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

We're really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time on our Happy Clammers experience. Goldie and Gilbert are a truly delightful couple and love sharing their passion for Prince Edward Island with visitors. Going to Point Prim Lighthouse isn't normally part of the Happy Clammers experience but the lighthouse is so important to their lives and the community they enjoy showing it people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Gilbert and Goldie were the most wonderful hosts, my girlfriend and I couldn't have asked for better guides. Clamming was fun easy and incredibly rewarding. Eating the clams we had dug up just an hour before made the experience even better! We got along great with the family who had booked at the same time as us and got to really enjoy the landscape and nature around the area. You go for the clams come back for the biscuits!

2  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews