We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Point Prim Lighthouse
from US$78.38
More Info
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
65
38
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
38
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chowder house nova scotia point prim gift shop is small fee take your time pretty drive steep steps worth the trip light house last week worth the climb bad knees take home beautiful spot mobility issues miles and miles
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This horseshoe shaped island varies in width (at times) between 4 miles and 50 miles. There are about 1,100 miles of coast line around an interior of one million acres of land interior, thus there are many lighhouses that tried to protect the many old saling ships that traveled through this area.

This is the oldest (still in existence) lighthouse on the island. Built in 1864 it is 60 Ft tall in Halburo bay (same one we observed as our ship came into port). Very impressive stone structure, but externally covered in wood to keep the salt air off the mortar holding the stone & bricks together and is made of stone, but to protect it from the salt water corrosion effect to the mortar joints, the outside is clad in wood shakes.

The stairs to the upper level is rather steep and anyone with a mobility issue most likely can not make it up.

Thank Tommy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

While on vacation, we drove to the lighthouse from Charlottetown. It’s worth the trip, but it’s basically by itself. There is a small diner, but we didn’t stop.

Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

There’s a reason you don’t use clay bricks to build lighthouses. They don’t withstand the elements. This one is round and clad in shingles. The flies trapped inside got more numerous every step up the ladders to the top. At lantern level is was unpleasant! Interesting narrative at every floor. Good deck for picnics.

Thank Stevethearchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The oldest lighthouse on PEI. The only round lighthouse on PEI. The only brick lighthouse on PEI, though it has been covered over by wood clapboard to protect the brick from further erosion. Gift shop have the original "light" on display. Local crafts for sale include sea glass jewelry & potato soap. Views from the top depend on the weather. Visited with a bus-load from the ship & people were not sent up in small groups, so it was difficult to come back down while others were still climbing up.

Thank Christi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

This is a quintessential down east picture opp kind of place. Beautifully preserved and restored, this is simply a gorgeous lighthouse to vist. It also happens to be the oldest lighthouse on PEI and the only one made of brick. There is a $5 charge to climb up the very steep stairs to the very top. Don’t go you have bad knees, legs, or vertigo. But go if you can. There are 4 levels of informative “stuff” and a heck of a nice view once you get there.

The gift shop is truly beautiful and not gimmicky in the least. There is lots of gorgeous works from local artisans. There is also well laid out history on the lighthouse and its keepers.

Well worth a detour. And, of course, you must eat next door at the chowder house.

Thank WhiteLakeDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Stopped yesterday the 4 of us. great history. friendly staff. got to see a seal following 2 kayaks. nice stop and not too far out of the way.

Thank Oilsandsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This is a very cool experience. For $5 you can go into and climb to the top of the lighthouse and it is a must do! The stairs are steep and tight, so if you have mobility issues it may not be ideal, but if you take your time and pay attention it is fine. The view at the top is beautiful, and you get to see where the lighthouse keeper would stay as you go up each level.
The gift shop is beautiful, air conditioned, friendly, and very well priced. Stop in while you are there!
It is pretty cool to be in PEI's oldest lighthouse and Canada's only remaining circular brick lighthouse. Check it out!!

Thank Cloudwater88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

It’s a little outside of town (45 minutes from Charlottetown) but if you’re in the area, it’s worth a stop. You can get climb up 3-4 narrow stairs/ladders and get to the top for a great view of the ocean.

There is a nice little gift shop where you pay your $5 to get into the lighthouse. You can get a tour or just go yourself. It doesn’t take long at all to see everything.

There is a seafood restaurant very close to get a bite to eat, but not much else around.

Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Locals suggested I stop here on my way to the ferry in Wood Islands. The grounds are well maintained and there is a little shop on site. There is a fee to climb the lighthouse. I just walked around the grounds. Would have stayed longer but I was being eaten alive by mosquitos! This has been a particularly bad summer for this so bring bug spray and you'll be fine!

Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Brought my 4 young children to check it out while on vacation. We were staying in a cottage up the road so we stopped in. There is a minimal fee to climb to the top but well worth it. My youngest is 3 and the steps are pretty steep but I had him stay just in front of me and he made it just fine. What a view from the top!!! I would not recommend a climb to the top for people that are limited physically.

Thank mjjf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews