We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highlight of our 10 day cruise was visiting John and Jackie

Our Seaborne cruise stopped in REI and we have the pleasure of spending the afternoon with John and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
lokaykg2016
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Fantastic experience for the whole family!

We spent an afternoon with John and Jackie digging for clams, learning about clams and oysters an... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
clairemB1824UQ
Read all 29 reviews
  
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
29
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters incredible hosts jackie cruise farming canada pei
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Seaborne cruise stopped in REI and we have the pleasure of spending the afternoon with John and Jackie learning about oyster farming and shucking oysters. They were incredible hosts: warm, gracious and educational. This was the HIGHLIGHT of our entire cruise through Canada and NE. A must do for anyone on PEI.

1  Thank lokaykg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We spent an afternoon with John and Jackie digging for clams, learning about clams and oysters an then enjoying some on their deck. Our group included 4 adults and 4 children, and all of us learned so much from the experience.
John and Jackie were wonderful hosts and it is evident how passionate they are. They are a wealth of knowledge, and took the time to explain all areas of the oyster and clamming industries.
We all left with full bellies, and extreme gratitude to them for opening up their home to us.
Thank you John and Jackie for a truly unique experience. Our children can't stop talking about it.

Thank clairemB1824UQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

John and Jackie were very welcoming hosts who gave us a truly great experience. John taught us a lot about how to catch, prepare, and shuck oysters. We learned the process from river bottom to table on the Pinette River. It was really cool to imagine some of the oysters caught that day would be served in restaurants all over the island. Jackie told us the history of the area and provided us with fresh clams and beverages on their deck. With John shucking, we ate our weight in oysters! The wildlife around their land was incredible as well. Loved this experience and will definitely be back next time we are in PEI even if just to see our hosts again.

1  Thank tstandring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We went clamming with John and had a wonderful time! It was an awesome experience! John answered all our questions and was so patient. Both John and Jackie made us feel right at home. A Must do!

1  Thank fivefoottwoeyeso2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Amazing experience with the family, first digging for clams then enjoying learning about the Pinette River Oyster Co.!

1  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperiencePEI, Owner at Oyster Lovers Experience, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Hi Stephen,

We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the Happy Clammers experience while you were visiting the Island. John & Jackie love to share their beautiful property and their passion for shellfish with visitors. We hope the rest of your vacation is awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

What a great experience, the highlight of our time in PEI. The property is beautiful and the hosts competent and friendly. We went with another couple and everyone had a great time.

1  Thank lindawolyniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2016

Who knew the process for finding, digging, measuring, and harvesting oysters? Not one person on our cruise excursion, that's for sure. Now we all do. This family is so sweet and opens their home to all who visit. John has a boat hiked up in the yard to show us how the process works. He offers to let us try (uh-oh, too heavy!). Then the yummy part: we get to eat as many super fresh oysters as we can, accompanied by delicious condiments and drinks. What a special treat.

1  Thank writingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

It's been over a month since we returned from our east coast seafood tour and we can't stop talking about our Happy Clammers PEI Experience. We had a fantastic time, this was definitely the highlight of our trip. John and Jackie welcomed us to their home and served us succulent clams and oysters fresh from the sea. We highly recommend this experience, especially for those seafood lovers out there!

1  Thank seafoodlover881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016

My children are not exactly the outdoorsy kind. Their ideal kind of vacation would be to lie in bed and watch TV in a hotel room. However, whenever I bring up our trip experience in the East Coast, they would always say "Happy Clammer" as their number one favourite. As for me, nothing can top eating raw oysters right at the source!

John and Jackie are wonderful people who are both knowledgeable and passionate in what they do. I would definitely go back in the future.

1  Thank Montreal0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We had a wonderful afternoon learning how to dig up clams and eating them afterwards! John also taught us about oysters and was shucking them with the meal. John and Jackie were so kind and welcoming, especially with our kids. Our kids (ages 11,9,6) said that the Happy Clammers Experience was their favourite part of our PEI vacation. We would definitely recommend this experience to anyone! Thanks again, John & Jackie!

1  Thank kbyc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews