We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Homely Cottage”
Rear garden which faces West
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear garden which faces West
Terrace with folding doors to living room View from living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Rear garden which faces West
Terrace with folding doors to living room
View from living room
A classic yacht seen at Landshipping
1st. Floor Double Bedroom with views to Estuary!
Shower Room with View to Estuary!
First Floor Double Bedroom with views to the Estuary!
Twin bedroom - ground floor - Views
Ground Floor Bathroom/Shower - View to Estuary!
Living Room
Living Room looking West through folding doors
Well fitted and equipped Kitchen
Snug
Snug looking into Living Room
A classic yacht passing the cottage, seen at Landshipping
Close by.. Gone for a picnic!
Bathing at Barafundle
Kite carting at Pendine
Kayak close by on the Estuary
Riding near Druidstone
Half Term . . This on the beach at Amroth
Tucking in! (She's a big girl now!)
Looking south from the foreshore.... Tranquillity
Looking West from the cottage .. one of many.... Wonderful!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Landshipping, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Carol M
Epping, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Homely Cottage”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you are looking for a homely cottage in a gorgeous location then Waters Edge is perfect. We stayed here over the Christmas period with two young children and two dogs. So refreshing to find somewhere which welcomes both children and dogs.
Waters Edge felt like home the minute we walked through the door (and if truth be told I didn't want to leave!). Although there were only four of us there would have plenty enough space for 6 people. The kitchen seems to have everything one might require and more! The house was lovely and warm when we arrived and the log burner made our winter nights super cosy. The cottage is quite obviously furnished and maintained to a very high standard.
Nigel and Judy are the perfect hosts. From the Christmas Tree and decorations they supplied, to the Welcome Hello, the much appreciated Welcome pack and Nigel's help when our car wouldn't start when it was time to go, they made every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
I can't say much about the local attractions as we spent most of our days visiting family who were staying nearby. But the cottage location is just superb. Being able to eat whilst looking out over the estuary and watching the weather and sky change is beautiful. It is a quiet location, away from the crowds, but with a couple of major towns within about 15 minutes. It is a perfect location for dog walkers / owners being able to set off with the dogs straight from the back door in any direction for some lovely walks.
We all loved our time at Waters Edge and would definitely recommend it. Nigel and Judy are conscientious and discreet hosts and we look forward to returning to them in the future.
My only word of warning would be to hide the gong from the kids!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean and very comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin H
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cottage and fabulous location”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We holidayed over October half term with two teenagers and two dogs and Glen yr Afon was just what we needed for a relaxing break. The cottage itself was furnished to high standards and was very warm and comfortable. Nigel and Judy were always helpful and friendly. The personal touches were especially appreciated including a welcome pack of wine, shortbread, fresh flowers, dog biscuits (for the dogs!) and pumpkins for Halloween. The location in Landshipping is particularly peaceful with wonderful views and walks down to the estuary. We have already recommended Glen yr Afon to our family and friends and, although we like to try out new places, will be sure to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamedg...
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage ,lovely hosts ,perfect holiday”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

second stay at Waters Edge ,even better than last time ,great place for a relaxing holiday ,our dog Tilly loves it ,had fantastic weather , when we arrived there was music playing ,a bottle of wine on the dining table ,two glasses & bottle opener ,welsh cakes ,a bowl of biscuits for Tilly ,just great ,Nigel & Judy are just the perfect hosts ,you do need a car as it is a quite location but easy to get around ,was always nice to come back after a day out & relax in the garden & enjoy the views.
Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & quality of the cottage ,great hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smarylloy...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“The balm of beauty and silence.”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The first thing we noticed was that the cottage is wonderful. It's spotless, and has the charm of a cherished family home. The owners, Nigel and Judy Macdonald, had left us a bottle of wine on the table, and M&S chocolates which were enjoyed by all. Those wonderful touches were a lovely introduction to Glan yr Afon and the 'Secret Waterway'. The second thing was the quiet. It could have been ten thousand miles away from the troubles of the world. The view is beyond beautiful, and we all stood outside as the sun went down, listening to the haunting sound of curlews and owls from the wooded country around. There is one field to cross to get to the estuary, and Nigel and Judy have mowed a wide path down to it - another touch of caring and hospitality.

When one thinks of estuaries we may think of polluted water, but the waters of the Cleddau are clear. (Pro tip: Don't do what our dog did, who loved paddling and swimming. We miscalculated the tide one afternoon, and he tried to gallop over the mudflats to the water; immediately he was mired to the hocks in silty mud). But there is plenty of room to walk when the tide is in, and it's hardly a stroll to Landshipping, where some really charming boats are moored.

The garden of Glan yr Afon is lovely; beautiful turf, and there are sun loungers in the spotlessly-clean shed. You can sit outside on the table and chairs and just look over at the waters, the woods, the sky beyond, and peace falls like music. We barely left as we could look at the view, walk and unwind, and decided we did not need more. What a gorgeous place, and what super owners! We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spenny608
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home in a stunning location”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a family trip of 3 adult couples and this cottage catered very well to meet all of our needs from the well-equipped kitchen, BBQ to the adorable summer house packed with games outside. It was lovely to receive a welcome package, what a nice touch! The location is beautiful, especially the sunsets, which will stay with us for a long time. It is very quiet but close (by car) to lots of different places such as Narbeth, Tenby and Saundersfoot. Highlights in the nearby area have to be Barafundle beach and Bosherston Lilyponds, well worth a visit. We would like to thank Judy and Nigel for being so accommodating and providing a faultless service and we hope to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay in Garth-y-don cottage, October 13 and June 14. The cottage has everything you would need for a lovely holiday and get away. Nigel an Judy are the perfect host with special treats on arrival, and the paper delivered on Sunday morning, nothing seems too much of a trouble. On our first visit we had our elderly mother, the downstairs bedroom and bathroom, was ideally equiped. The Garden is fully kitted out for family games and BBQ, with lovely views over the water. This cottage location is ideal for a quiet break away, but only a short drive away from Saundersfoot- which is a must visit beautiful beach with lots of parking, and only a short drive away to Temby and Narberth, which both have lovely cafés and eateries. We look forward to returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the amazing views
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBuckerfi...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding cottage with stunning views in an ideal location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Cottage was ideal for us (family of 4). The owners made us very welcome and have thought of everything - from kitchen gadgets, TV/DVD & stereo equipment, books & games to taking the trouble to fit a stair gate for our very mobile 1 year old. The cottage was immaculate, decorated with a lot of care and very comfortable. We didn't need it, but the log burner in the living room would keep the whole place cosy.

The west ward views of the sun setting over the river estuary and constantly changing tides are simply stunning; even on the couple of damp days we had, the weather cleared each evening and we were able to open the bi-fold patio doors from the kitchen/main living area and enjoy the balmy evening 6 nights out of the 7 we stayed.

The Cottage is beautifully situated in open countryside with Tenby, Pembroke, Stackpole, Folly Farm (ideal for wet days) and numerous other attractions all less than half an hour away. It was a home from home and we will definitetly be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing