We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific for a luxury pre-cruise stay”
Review of The Pilgrim Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pilgrim Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marchwood B&B and Inns
Grantham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrific for a luxury pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

As it was a "milestone" birthday for my husband the day our cruise started and so it wasn't much of good use of his time spending hours on the roads getting to Southampton, I booked what I hoped was a "5 Star" hotel for the night before. Well, this place certainly didn't disappoint on any fronts.

It proved to be a really beautiful hotel with plenty of character comprising an "olde-worlde" whitewashed inn containing the bar and restaurant and just a few steps away an obviously more modern, but still very characterful large red brick thatched house containing the bedrooms.

The rooms were individually furnished and beautifully finished - just about as far from a hotel "chain" bedroom as you can get. Our large gleaming shower room was ultra modern and had plenty of very high class toiletries.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food at the evening meal was absolutely divine. As a measure of its popularity, the restaurant and bar were really busy on that January Monday night!

All in all a delightful luxury hotel which proved good value and I would certainly be happy to recommend it to everyone needing top class accommodation in the Southampton area. I would certainly use it if we go on any more cruises from this port.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmalade-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    173
    52
    31
    22
See reviews for
113
311
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Amazing food had a meal for 8 people and every plate was clean. We were all amazed at how good the food was. The food quality was outstanding and we will definately be going there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrchuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff excelled especially Amy. Everyone made us feel so welcome even the locals. Food excellent and thank you for lovely canapes New Year's Eve. Loved the finishing touches, local chocolates and biscuits in the room, fruit and sweets in lobby to help yourself. The Pub is what every pub ought to be!!! Loved the roaring log fire. Boutique bedroom just perfect with spacious bathroom. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place is brilliant, the staff excellent, the food good, the breakfast good, the room good clean well stocked nice bathroom,usefull location for New Forest etc. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

On arrival we checked in at the pub and crossed the car park to the accomodation building. there was around 15 rooms and we had the largest suite. the room was very spacious with a four poster bed, seperate seating area and en suite. we did request a bath as many rooms had free standing baths and seperate shower, but we were given the standard bath with overhead shower.
we had dinner in the pub, which was full of locals. the tables were very close together and we felt like we were sat with the family next to us. starters of camembert and rabbit terrine were good, but upon ordering the waitresses didnt know the specials nor what some of the dishes came with. we ordered the slow cooked shoulder when one told us what it came with, but it infact came with something completely different. my husband ordered a drink when the starters were taken away and i had to call to a waitress walking past the back of his chair halfway through our mains to find out where his drink was. my braised beef was very nice, kept simple with a horseradish mash and red cabbage.
breakfast was very nice, local produce. there were no prices on the menu so we were unsure whether it was included with the room, as the cold selection was. we assumed, since the lack of any prices that it was, but on checkout were charged £17 for both. we think for £150 per night a sausage and egg should be included.
the pub was being cleaned whilst we had breakfast, not too bothered but think other guests were put out.
doubt we would return, very nice but nothing really stood out for the money, staff ok, service ok, food ok, room good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deebees62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I found the Pilgrim Inn to be the most delightful surprise - I am extremely fussy and have the highest of standards. I expect much! The Pilgrim Inn not only met my expectations but exceeded them greatly. The staff were more than helpful - courteous, friendly and caring. The standards of the accommodation excellent with lots of lovely little touches and details. The Inn had a warm and welcoming atmosphere where you could enjoy a drink with the locals and the food also great.
I can find no fault and can only very highly recommend this lovely little gem. I look forward to returning to their hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This inn has beautifully appointed bedrooms - there was lots of space in our twin room and the decoration and fittings were lovely. There was a nice touch when we were given fresh milk in a flask for our tea tray, which included a couple of delicious hand made Beaulieu chocolates.

Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend the Pilgrim Inn for a weekend break as it is so well placed for the New Forest. We were only sorry we weren't staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marchwood
3.4 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
5.0 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
9.0 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
7.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Inn

Property: The Pilgrim Inn
Address: Hythe Road | Marchwood, Marchwood SO40 4WU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Marchwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marchwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pilgrim Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pilgrim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Marchwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing