We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George & Falcon
Nearby Hotels
The Swan Hotel(Alresford)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
US$93
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$115
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langrish House(Petersfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
106
59
20
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
59
20
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmeon valleybaked camembertlovely lunchpigeon breasthouse burgerfish and chipscooked breakfastsouth downs waysunday lunchhand cut chipsmashpielocally sourced producesized bathexcellent overnight stayservice was friendly and efficient
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 203 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed for one night to break up a journey - a lovely place, very welcoming. Room had everything in it we wanted including a fantastic shower. Had an evening meal which was very very nice, and although opted for the continental breakfast (in with the price) it was lovely and very substantial. Very friendly staff / owners and we would certainly return. Originally booked as it was a place that stated dog friendly, but would stay again with or without our dog.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhols64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A weekend exploring Winchester and surrounding countryside was made very enjoyable by our stay at the George and Falcon. Our room was more than adequate, DInner on both nights was excellent and the staff were attentive without being pushy. It would be an ideal stopping place to break a longer journey in the good old tradition of an Inn, but would also be a lovely place to stay longer if, as we did, you wanted to explore the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peregrine Falcon room. It is not huge and it is not a room with a view, but has everything that is needed and the hotel pays you the compliment of not tying down the hairdryer. It's nice to be trusted and internet access was both free and fast.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed over for one night at The George and falcon as I was attending a friends wedding in the neighbouring village.

Excellent accommodation, great service and a fabulous cooked breakfast - only continental breakfast included in the price, the cooked breakfast is extra but a snip at under 6 quid - would definitely recommend!

If you are in the area give it a try. Car recommended as remote-ish location.

Will definitely be back for a nice romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto_Bub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed one night here after going to Legoland on the way to Dorset. We had a family room which was nicely equipped and comfortable beds. The manager & staff were very friendly & helpful, the food was good and the price not bad to include a breakfast.
Its a pity it was raining otherwise the decking out the back would be a lovely place to eat/drink on a summer night.
Overall a really good B&B and pub

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyNighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The George & Falcon is a spacious and tastefully refurbished roadside pub and hotel in Hampshire's attractive Meon Valley. At the rear are a large car park and garden backing onto the River Meon.

A huge open plan bar, two raised dining areas and a terrace provide a very agreeable setting for a drink or meal. The food is thoughtfully prepared with main courses in the £10-£15 range. For beer lovers, there are two Ringwood bitters on offer.

Our one-night stay was spent in the comfortable Red Falcon Room, again tastefully decorated with king size bed, Freeview TV, big pine wardrobe and kettle. The large bathroom had an excellent shower over the bath. There was a degree of traffic noise in the morning, but this is inevitable from the location beside the A32.

The booking website used by the hotel indicates that breakfast is included in the room price, but it turns out this means a continental breakfast and not a cooked breakfast - which costs up to £6 extra. Having said that, the continental breakfast is very good indeed, with cereals, yogurt, toast and nice pastries.

The service was friendly and efficient throughout our stay... until I was unfortunately presented with another guest's bill on checkout. Although this was swiftly resolved, the error was compounded when I received an email later in the day apologising for the slowness of the credit card terminal. Clearly this was not intended for me as I had no bill to settle, having paid in advance online.

For anyone arriving without a car, buses to Petersfield and Winchester on Stagecoach route 67 stop right outside. (No service on Sundays.) This is good walking country. Old Winchester Hill with its spectacular views is just down the valley. The nearby National Trust estate at Hinton Ampner is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews