We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect sanctuary!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Apple Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Kitchen
Sun Room
Hot tub
Lounge
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pylle, Shepton Mallet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsty C
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect sanctuary!”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed here with our two dogs and couldn't of asked for more. The Cottage is finished to a beautiful standard with a contemporary feel. The location is wonderful, it's so quiet and peaceful yet just at the end of the lane is a wonderful farm shop full of treats to keep you going for your break. The garden is huge and enclosed for the dogs.
The cottage has all the facilities you need so you have no desire to leave the place except for a stroll around the farmland for some fresh air.
Some lovely welcoming gifts greet you on arrival and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Will definitely visit one of their cottages again if not this one!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that the location and scenery worked well for you and that you were happy with Apple Cottage. We look forward to seeing you at one of our other properties some time in the future. Kind regards, Ed & The Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob007Ken...
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Stunning Somerset Cottage”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We spent a long weekend at Apple Cottage at the end of November having previously stayed at Woodlands Farm. Booking was smooth and trouble free with great communication. Ed spent time showing us the cottage and making some local recommendations. The shortbread and cider were nice welcome gifts. The cottage is modern, well equipped and surrounded by beautiful open countryside. We loved the hot tub and the real fire. The cottage is very cosy and comfortable. The Sedum spa has amazing facilities and it literally feels like you are in the middle of nowhere - watching the sunset over the distant hills whilst sitting in the hot tub was an experience. Thanks Paul and Ed for makikg our stay so enjoyable. We will be back to try one of your other properies soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for staying with us once again and kind words, it means a great deal to us to have happy returning visitors. We hope to see you again sometime. Paul & the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Apple Cottage, we're happy to say that we have now replaced the broken bottle opener thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you again sometime. Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CazzyWidd
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utterly amazing”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved everything about Apple Cottage. Beautiful in every way. We loved the hot tub - the garden was wonderful for our three minature dachshunds too. The garden room was wonderfully relaxing for chilling out in and taking in the view with a beer. The sedum spa was fabulous too and Gemma the therapist was great and we all enjoyed facials and massages. Ed and Paul were so friendly and helpful. Definitely coming back !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words - we're so pleased you had a good stay at Apple Cottage and that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the west country. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Silence around
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
Thank you for your comments; we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Apple Cottage and hope to see you again on your next trip to the UK. Paul & team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing