We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent nights stay, friendly family great place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old School - Tebay

The Old School - Tebay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old School - Tebay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tebay
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent nights stay, friendly family great place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed one night here and where welcomed from the start. We had a nice meal and the desert was excellent. Nice friendly family looked after us and nothing was too much trouble.
They even made us lunch for our long bike ride the next day.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandsendtoJohnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duex Sevres
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very homely, warm, clean, with excellent breakfasts and comfy beds.
Arrive early and try the Tea Room for lunch and yummy cakes, all home made,
you can see them cooking in the kitchen.
Lovely welcoming family, nothing is too much trouble and they even liked our goofy dog.
Beautiful views, backing directly onto the Howgills complete with fell ponies.Pity they can't control the weather.
Will be calling there again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TudorKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

My fiancé and I stayed here for a weekend of walking and relaxation. We really love The Lakes and found this place very easy to get to from London (it's just off the M6). It's a really good base to go walking from... and a breath of fresh air from city life! The Old School is family run, and you can tell they really care about looking after their guests and making them feel welcome. The food is great - all home cooked - and they'll take great pleasure in telling you exactly where the ingredients have been locally sourced. Our room was quite basic, but generously sized, well-equipped and clean - with these great prices, we think it's perfect for a low-key getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CluckChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We had a lovely time here! Excellent location for walks and cycling.
The family that run this place are so welcoming and incredibly nice with my daughter.
I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula1974lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

Nice place, friendly owners lots of flexibility. The rooms are clean and thoughtfully equipped. Location is just off the M6 for convenience, in a lovely area and part of a cute town. Great for overnight travellers or weekend stays.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STIUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

This is what staying in the Lakes is all about. A friendly welcome from a family run establishment with more than you expect for the price.

Tebay is just off the motorway but just in the hills and has easy access to loads of places. The owners are flexible, serve good local food and have comfortable on-suite accomodation plus some large communal areas.

It's good value for more than basic accomodation and I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

I arranged a university re-union for myself and 10 others. We wanted to go up to the lake district but weren't quite sure on where to stay or what to do. We stumbled on the old school just off the M6 after a tip off and found ourselves a little gem.

With a range of rooms available Steve and Jo were friendly and ameanable from the start. They gave us a whole list of potential things to do in the area which we certainly found useful.

The breakfasts were spot on time and really tasty, just what we needed. Ensuit showers, comfortable beds and all for a good price.

We shall definately be coming back, thanks!
Neal

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzd31155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tebay
2.1 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 15 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Shap Wells Hotel
17.0 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.5 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
15.1 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
23.2 km away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School - Tebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School - Tebay

Property: The Old School - Tebay
Address: Tebay, Tebay CA10 3TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Tebay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tebay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School, Tebay, is a friendly Tea Room and guest house in the beautiful Eden Valley. Situated between the Lakes and Yorkshire Dales we are ideally located to offer good access to many fantastic locations. With the M6 only minutes away this is a perfect stop off point for the weary traveller. For those wanting a longer stay there are many places to explore from the central location. Accommodation The Old School offers an excellent standard of bed & breakfast accommodation ranging from single through to large family rooms. For the larger group up to 30 people, there is the option of B&B, fully catered or self catering. All our rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and en-suite bathrooms.The tea room is open every day except Tuesday from 10:30 am through to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old School - Tebay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing