We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting family nearby, needed somewhere close and comfortable to stay”
Review of The Court House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Court House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We Stayed at the Courthouse Inn, Gt Bromley. for a few nights while visiting family.
Upon arrival we were met with a warm welcome by the proprietor and her staff. the venue was clean and the food was lovely, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

The room we stayed in was part of the original 17th century building and had so much character we have booked the same room again for august bank holiday.

The chefs sunday roast and the ploughman's lunch we had during our stay were exceptional, thank you again for such a lovely stay

Room Tip: The luxury chalets outside were full, we were worried about noise from the bar, but the family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

This lovely renovated old pub offers a warm, friendly welcome with good and reasonably priced food and drink. Our first visit and a pleasant surprise. Particularly liked the outside space with its colourful furniture and wonderful hanging baskets. The landlady was really charming and talked to us at length about the pubs history and the work that they had put in turning these once derelict buildings into the fine pub it is today. We will definitely go back when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bigblondegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. It was, indeed, a pleasure to meet you and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your first experience at The Court House. I was only too happy to enlighten you on the characterful history of the old building and you certainly chose a good day to visit with the sun shining and the flowers looking at their colourful best. With all good wishes we look forward to welcoming you back another time. Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night mid June 2017. The staff were very welcoming and although the bar was shut they offered to make me a snack which was very kind of them. My room was lovely and clean, it had all of the essentials and more. The bed and linen were luxurious, something that I always look for when booking a night away. I ate a cooked breakfast in the morning which the staff happily tweaked to make vegetarian for me. A generous pot of tea, juice and cereal were also on offer. The surrounding area was lovely and quiet and only a short drive into Colchester. I have quite high standards especially when the rare opportunity of a child free night is on offer and I would happily stay here again.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2017

Hi Kelly and thank you so much for your kind review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at The Court House and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit in the future. All good wishes from Robert, Michelle and the Court House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

My husband and I stayed one night in the chalet style rooms outside this pub. Room was very clean, bed extremely comfortable, good selection of tea/coffee/water/biscuits. We also had an evening meal with our son. Staff very friendly and polite. Food excellent and served on hot plates. Good atmosphere in the pub; lots of happy locals.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2017

Thanks very much for your review, Clare. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you'll be back to visit again soon. With all good wishes from Robert, Michelle and the Court House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Hi Michelle

Just to say we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much for your welcome and attention during our stay. Felt very comfortable. Breakfast is a must with everything served freshly cooked and hot. The tea and toast was offered continually and you didn't have to wait. Superb thank you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2017

Thanks very much for your review, Julie. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards from Michelle and all the Court House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We had a two night stay in spacious, clean, comfortable rooms with an excellent evening meal. Food really was good and service exceptional. Beautiful inside and out with easy parking has to be highly recommended. *****

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as close to relatives and to celebrate my eldest Aunts birthday. Court House was very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent! They even put banners and balloons up for breakfast as it was my birthday too! Lovely surprise!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rozza12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Bromley
7.7 km away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
294 reviews
5.6 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
721 reviews
8.0 km away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Blue Ivy Hotel
Blue Ivy Hotel
#6 of 23 in Colchester
145 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court House

Address: Harwich Road, Great Bromley CO7 7JG, England (Formerly Old Courthouse Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Price Range: $114 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Court House is a beautifully refurbished, family run 17th century inn offering a wealth of facilities, including Accommodation - luxuriously appointed en-suite rooms and chalets Daytime and Evening Restaurant - serving quality home cooked food daily. Jonty's Bar - stocking finely kept real ales, crafted lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks Tearoom - serving a selection of teas, coffee, sandwiches, cakes, cream teas Function Room - ideal for all private, business and club functions. The Court House is perfectly situated for visitors to north-east Essex - its rural location being convenient for the Constable Country villages of the River Stour, the beaches of the Tendring Peninsula and the historic towns of Colchester and Harwich. It's also perfectly placed as a stop-over en-route to or from the Port of Harwich and its Cruise Ships and Ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing