We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent family accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodlands Cottage

External view of Woodlands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage. View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
External view of Woodlands Cottage
External view of the entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
View of the front entrance to Woodlands Cottage.
Dining area.
Living area with wooden floor and underfloor heating.
Dining area with underfloor heating and granite tiles.
Kitchen with granite tiles and underfloor heating.
One side of the Main bedroom with a king sized bed.
Other side of the Main bedroom.
Walk in Power Shower
Twin room
Twin room.
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bathroom - Bath, sink, toilet and walk in shower
External view of Woodlands Cottage
Garden area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
dipper111
1 review
“Excellent family accommodation”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Can't rate this property highly enough. Better than the photos suggest. Very good chill out mini break over the New Year with my wife and 3 kids, ages - 13, 11 & 9. Excellent facilities and amenities in the cottage. Louise was very welcoming. I can recommend the Lord Nelson pub for a meal, about 5 miles away in Collingham. Cheers, really enjoyed !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illyace
Colchester, Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A very comfy and clean holiday let with everything we needed for our stay. Our young daughter loved all the space and the thoughtful extras like books and games. It is situated in a quiet village that was very convenient for our trips to Sundown Adventureland, Newark and Lincoln. We would have loved to stay longer!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philbyn
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Stay”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Woodlands cottage is a well presented two bedroom cottage which we found very clean and more than expected. It was in a rural area but was easy to find and not too far from Lincoln, Nottingham and Newark. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pancina
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“prefect - just perfect”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! The cottage is located in beautiful countryside with lots of charming old farmhouses and green open spaces. We stayed for a week and explored just about every little village and lane that was close by. The accommodation was spacious and the furnishings of a very high standard - and solid too. Nothing worse than flimsy dining chairs but none of that here! The bed was the most comfortable one I have had the pleasure to sleep in and that is from over 20 years of travelling. The bed linen and towels were good quality. There were plenty of flat surfaces - maybe this is not so important to some people but to me it was bliss to have so much room to sort my purchases from nearby Lincoln and Newark antiques fairs before packing them up to send home! Nothing was too much trouble for Dean and Louise who live in the adjacent building. I can confidently predict that if you book to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable bed, lots of space and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C
1 review
“Really nice cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We highly recommend this cottage. It is a spacious good quality barn conversion with a comfortable bed in a very secure location in an old farmyard which is on the edge of a charming village, South Clifton, but surrounded by open country. Lincoln, with it's ancient and awe-inspiring 11th century castle and cathedral are only 15 minutes away, and Newark-on-trent with it's beautiful old market square and ruined castle even closer, only 10 minutes away.
Louise and Dean were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a real pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space, good quality renovation
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazieres de Touraine
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review of our cottage, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We always value feed-back from our guests and have put some additional utensils and plastic dinnerware in the cottage. We are happy to accommodate additional requirements for our guests if we are able to do so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim L
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value cottage ever !!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The photos do not do this barn conversion justice (and the rental price for August had us worried that there might be something wrong )
Our fears were put to rest as soon as we arrived. The long sweeping, private driveway let us to a beautifully restored set of farm buildings set amongst the the oversized front lawn and patio areas.
We were met by Louise, who showed us round and set us immediately at ease spending time answering all our questions ( the whole of Louise's family were lovely and treated us as VIP guests)
Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, very spacious with comfy beds also very modern. It's also very peaceful with the only noise coming from my 8 & 5 year old. Our children were never bored as Louise had left games and a crate of toy animals for them to play with. We also played football on the (more or less full sized pitch) on the front lawn, played basked ball and we had to drag them off of the trampoline in the evening
There aren't any local shops ( there is a pub within walking distance in the picturesque village) but a short drive away, near Lincoln (15 minutes) are all the main supermarkets.
We went somewhere everyday (Lincoln , Nottingham , Skegness) as well as Rand Farm and Sundown Adventureland all of which kept us busy and were all very nice. Our favourite ( weirdly) was the 2 hours we spent at Sherwood Railway it was like going back to the 70,s and the people that run it obviously do it for love not profit.
On the whole we had a great time here. We have stay in allot of Cottages4u & Englishcountrycottages, this was the first time we have tried Holiday Lettings and this was easily the best value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price
Liked least: Could have done with a few more items in kitchen and the directions should have said 'nicest place in the village ' as we honestly thought we were at the wrong place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
It was truly a pleasure to have you and your family to stay. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. It is greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing