We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb cosy and secluded woodland escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Deerdale Lodge

Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove Private outdoor hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove
Private outdoor hot tub
Welcome to a luxury traditional log cabin nestled in over 3000 acres of woodland
Outdoor dining on the decking terrace
Kitchen and dining with double oven, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster
Lounge with logburner and TV/DVD
Bedroom 2 can be twin or double, with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bathroom
Private outdoor space
Power shower and bath
The adjacent and surrounding forest
Winter 2012/13
Snow in the forest
Forest path snow scene
Private hot-tub and terrace
Dining terrace
Indoor dining
Great in all seasons
Hammock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teeayeemm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cosy and secluded woodland escape”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My girlfriend and I visited mid January for a 3 night romantic break and we were not disappointed.

The directions to the lodge were spot on and we had no trouble finding the place. On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the host and were given a tour of the lodge including how to work the hot tub, after this we were left to our own devices but with the knowledge that the hosts were only in the house next door should we need anything.

Can't fault the location, nestled deep within the forest, everything we needed was in the lodge, right down to a welcome basket including fresh ground coffee and some amazing shortbread homemade by our host.

We can't wait to book again and go back, it's just a pity it's booked up for the majority of the year already!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for finding time to write the nice comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“This Lodge is absolutely perfect !!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The lodge is immaculate and the attention to detail is faultless. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. Its peaceful, romantic and so relaxing. We had the pleasure of seeing Husky racing in the forest. I am so pleased we booked this Lodge, you can't find better. Can't wait to return. Thanks Lynn & Stu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lodge is perfection
Liked least: There's nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for taking the time and effort to write complimentary comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gl0betr0t...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful & relaxing lodge.”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here with friends who have visited the lodge a few times now.
The lodge is lovely & beautifully furnished throughout with lots of attention to detail & some lovely personal touches to welcome guests.
The hot tub is great to relax in.
Peaceful location & very relaxing. Would stay here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lodge & facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thankyou for being great guests and for taking the time and effort to write the nice comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just back from weekend break and already thinking about our next trip! The cabin was absolutely perfect in every way & the welcome pack very thoughtful - even a few doggie treats! We enjoyed the woodland walks & rewarded ourselves with a couple of drinks at the "Dog & Duck." Booked a meal at The Lion in Farnsfield for the Saturday evening to celebrate Birthday which was lovely. Also enjoyed meal at the Rose Cottage follwed by a walk back in the dark to enjoy relax at lodge again. Hot tub lovely treat and made good use of this.
When we arrived it was dark and we were welcomed by a lovely glow from the log burner & Stuart just run through the basics with us.
Wonderful location & super log cabin.
We'll be back!

Dawn, Martyn, Dave & Gill

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi and no TV reception
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2014
Thankyou for the lovely detailed review, also for being great guests and for leaving the lodge clean and tidy. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking to return,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbpartyma...
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really Lovely”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a really nice & cosy lodge, just as described and reviewed, The perfect getaway treat to relax and recharge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thankyou for the great review, also for being lovely guests and for leaving the lodge clean and tidy. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey d
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The word luxury is so apt for this wonderful lodge. The attention to detail makes all the difference. It's beautiful, cosy, comfy, homely and romantic. The log burner and hot tub are great assets to the lodge. Situated in an ideal private location in the woods. We had daily pleasurable walks with our dog then relaxed in the hot tub follows by filing up in front of the log burner. It makes a perfect summer or winter holiday and we will definitely revisit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: luxury & privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thankyou for the excellent review, also for being great guests and for leaving the lodge clean and tidy. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have recently returned from a 5 day stay at Deerdale Lodge & have already booked for next year!
The lodge has been so well thought out & is of high standard whilst still being cozy, homely & comfortable. Ideally located to explore all the forest has to offer, very secluded with everything on hand. Lots to see & do within short distance, we did explore but quite honestly you could easily spend relaxing days away from the stresses of everyday life & not leave the lodge!!
The location, quality & extra special touches provided set this Lodge apart from the rest - simply perfect in everyway.
The only down side is that it will soon become difficult to book, as it is so lovely :-)
Thank you......Luan, Tony & Phoebe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & quality
Liked least: Leaving :-)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thankyou for the brilliant review and for being the perfect guests. We look forward to seeing you again next year, Warm Regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing