We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of forest paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Deerdale Lodge

Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove Private outdoor hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Luxury bedrooms with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Cosy-up in front of the log burning stove
Private outdoor hot tub
Welcome to a luxury traditional log cabin nestled in over 3000 acres of woodland
Outdoor dining on the decking terrace
Kitchen and dining with double oven, dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster
Lounge with logburner and TV/DVD
Bedroom 2 can be twin or double, with TV/DVD and views into the forest
Bathroom
Private outdoor space
Power shower and bath
The adjacent and surrounding forest
Winter 2012/13
Snow in the forest
Forest path snow scene
Private hot-tub and terrace
Dining terrace
Indoor dining
Great in all seasons
Hammock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clur85
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of forest paradise”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay for my partner's birthday at Deerdale, lovely gesture of bottle of fizz for his birthday and a lovely welcome basket on arrival. We absolutely loved the decor and it really felt homely, you could easily enough stay curled up watching DVDs and chilling in the hot tub for a few days! But we ventured out for a few walks, what was really annoying was getting signal back on our phones when we were closer to civilisation again, we loved the peace of not having wifi or phone signal in the lodge!!

The hosts are lovely and Stuart was very welcoming on our arrival, the bathroom light broke whilst we were there and he saw to it very quickly. Love the idea of posting notes to your host if you need anything so you don't need to disturb them and vice versa!

I would make a slight suggestion that a larger fridge perhaps be installed and a slimline dishwasher instead? For self catering accommodation the fridge is very small so you might want to take a cool box if you are planning on eating in and making your own food - we found it a bit of a struggle with food and drink. I suppose people will go to the nearby pubs to eat but we quite liked just staying in so if that's your intention and you're packing a few days worth of food to take with you bear this in mind.

We have complete holiday blues after coming back to reality from this magical place. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, homeliness
Liked least: small fridge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thankyou for finding time to write your review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will certainly give some consideration to your comments about the fridge. Thanks for being great guests. We hope to see you again soon,
Warm regards Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23MissB23
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We love it here!”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our second visit to Deerdale and we loved it even more than the first time. Hidden away in Sherwood Forest, this is the perfect place to hide. No wifi, no signal - brilliant. The lodge is just beautiful and so well kept. Lynda and Stu are brilliant and really welcoming. The little welcome pack is really thoughtful and the shortbread is to die for! Lots of little touches that just make this lodge stand out against the rest.

The hot tub is great and there is a hammock to relax and read a book. We didn't want to leave and cannot wait to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thankyou for taking time to write another lovely review and for being great guests. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madhouse7...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW , Gorgeous , beautiful”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just got back from a three night stay at this gorgeous log cabin me and the hubby went for our anniversary and to chill NO phone signal GREAT :) The cabin is beautiful it as everything you need and more the surroundings are lovely we loved the log fire and Hot tub cant wait to book for next year , thank you for the champagne and treats :) would recommend it to anything that wants to chill in a beautiful place and just forget the real world for a bit thank you Lynda & stu x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for your lovely comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next year,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hideaway”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just spent three nights at Deerdale Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was great. The lodge is very clean and of a high spec with little touches to make your stay that extra special. From a warm welcome from Stuart to complete privacy this lodge is a must.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for your lovely comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your anniversary stay and hope to see you again soon,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAXONMAGI...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and friends stayed at Deerdale it is in the heart of the forest, it has everything inside aswell as a few sweet extras but Lynda and Stu. The process of booking was carefree and done with ease. The cabin is beautiful, it's quiet and tranquil I would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for your lovely comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisag86
essex, england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay here after getting married on Saturday. It is absolutely beautiful and has everything you could possibly need and more. We hope to return next year for our anniversary. We didn't want to leave. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Lisa and Ian Bargus

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for your lovely comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your anniversary,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joshanem
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Didn't meet Lynda but Stu was very accommodating. The place was absolutely stunning and everything was very high quality. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place or location. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Weather
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thankyou for being great guests and for your lovely comments about the Lodge. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon,
Warm regards, Lynda & Stu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing