We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
33
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree roomstop floorthe ownerold rectorynext yearbeautiful gardencakessecond floorrooms are spacioushomemade yogurthousevisithostsvillagesuitesitesshower
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We stayed here last week and can honestly say it is one of the best B&B's in Belguim we have stayed in 20 years Situated in a quite village location and close to the town of Ypres. Great area for Walkers, Cyclists and Bikers.
Excellent breakfast with mostly home grown and made produce. Wim's sweet bread has to be eaten but not if you are diabetic ! Home made produce is also available to purchase.
Honesty bar upstairs and with tea/coffee facilities free of charge. Large bedroom with on suite shower room was spotlessly clean and comfortable bed. As it is a B&B not a hotel there is no room service/maid etc but towels can be changed daily. Wooden floors - take soft slippers .
TV in room ( that's if you really can't do without one ? ) does not have any English channels.
The owners have a beautiful garden with seating areas. This garden is a credit to them. There are farms in the area so expect some good country smells but it was not an issue to us. Merkem is after all a country village. We had a problem with biting insects but our hosts provided us with some bug spray for our room .
Hosts speak very good English and are very helpful. We will stay again next year if it is available.
Pastorie Van Merkem is worth every Euro.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Nicky2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Els W, Owner at Pastorie van Merkem, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Thank you for your beautiful review. For us, the satisfaction of our guests is very important. We are pleased to let our guests enjoy our home, the beautiful surroundings, our region and the many homemade and local products we are so proud of.
Your appreciation for this makes us so happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

Beautiful rooms with wood beams and floors. Very well kept backyard for relaxing. Owners helped us find local attractions geared for Canadians and Canadian landmarks.
On site bar is a plus.
Breakfast was great and we even had a chance to bring a light lunch with us.
Thank you Els and Wim.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

We stayed here two nights and wish we had a week. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding. Short, easy drive to Ypres and the WWI museum and sites, and easy drive to Westvleteren and the best beer in the world! I highly recommend you rent the bikes at this B&B and take a ride along the canals. So peaceful and beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Beautifully restored old Flamish minister's house with a beautiful garden this B&B offers the perfect combination of old and modern style. The owners are very friendly and helpful and make you feel like home immediately.

The rooms are spacious and very cozy. Breakfast is outstanding --- homemade yoghurt, jelly, apple juice and the home baked variety of breads. The best of all are the eggs from their own chicken --- never seen eggs that yellow.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Florian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

I stopped here while traveling for work after it was recommended by my wife. It was well worth the slight detour. The house is very charming and the rooms were very comfortable. We enjoyed a few Belgian beers offered for sale in a lounge room on the second floor. They also have a beautiful outdoor garden area where you can sit outside to read or have a drink.
However the best part was our hosts who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable. The breakfast was amazing featuring made to order eggs, homemade yogurt, fresh coffee, fresh pressed apple cider and an assortment of breads, meats, and cheeses. I can't wait to return with my wife to enjoy the lovely B&B experience over a long weekend when we can explore the bike paths and history of the beautiful countryside.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews