We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olievenfontein Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mokopane Lodge(Mokopane)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oasis Lodge(Mokopane)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nedile Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zulu Camp(Vaalwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
4
6
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
2
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 14 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2015

We decided on Olievenfontein, for the mere fact that it looks quiet and tranquil. Me, my husband and 2 year old son stayed there for the weekend and was really disappointed in the fact that the manager was not willing to take us on a game drive (even though we paid for it - picnic) Our picnic was supposed to be at 10:00 but unfortunately it rained, when we asked the manager later the day (when the sun came out) if there are any game drives he responded and said No, but in fact people did go on game drives, the next day a group of people were also out on a game drive, even though the manager knew that we PAID for the game drive and that we really wanted to go on one, he never even considered calling us to join! Why go to a private game reserve but you are told that there are no game drives? One thing to consider before making a booking!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Monique717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

We went here with a group of 10 adults and stayed in different cottages. We did not enjoy our stay at all for the following reasons:

- Eventough the hole complex is very nice and we'll looked after, the cottages themselves are only on a very basic level: No air-conditioning (only big fans, which are very noisy), tiny rooms, small TV. Apart from that, no bar or shop facility is provided. Moreover, one cottage was placed directly near to the septic tank - the smell was very unpleasant.
- This would have been alright if not the pricing would not be so unfair and in our case just excessive. As I said, we stayed in different cottages: Although we were told that every client hat to pay the same amount, for the people of our group it differed between 1100 Rand and 650 Rand per person and night. Although the cottage of the other groupmembers was much nicer, we had to pay most. Furthermore, we booked the hole cottage on Booking.com - and then we're forced to pay 50% more for a third person. This is just ridiculous; we felt ripped off. At the end, we payed 13.200 Rand for 3 person for 4 nights in a basic self-catering cottage - this was the maximum we had to pay in 2 weeks travel through Southafrica (and we stay only in very upmarket and luxurious places). When we complained about this, we got a very harsh answer from the management.
- We ordered breakfast for the first day. Again, very expensive - and just bad. When we asked for a fried egg, we were told in an inappropriate way that we had to accept what was offered and our wishes would not be heard.
- Some members of our groups were black. Twice, the manager made racist comments - an absolute no-go. They did not feel welcome.
- The game reserve does not have too many animals. Therefore, the "game"-drive was quite boring. Also, the manager seemed not motivated and made no comments at all on the drive.
- While the black travelgroup members were told, that it was a quiet place and they had to calm down, no such comment was made to a big group with several wild kids - chilling at the pool therefore got embarrassing.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at Olievenfontein.

We stayed in Waterbok and had a watering holes right in front of our chalet.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

There is ample wildlife on the farm, including giraffe, zebra, rooibok, kudu, impala, and more.

The dirt road leading to the farm is in a bad state with lots of erosion. Although not impossible to drive with a sedan, you do need to take it slow.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We book the "big chalet/lodge" for our extended family and had a marvellous time.
The lodge is beautiful and equipped with everything one could ever hoped for! The view onto the waterhole from our beautiful "stoeps" were amazing!

There is absolutely nothing to do but to enjoy the fresh air and the beautiful nature.
We considered the reserve drive more than a nature drive and loved the view from the top of the mountain.

Lots of space for children to play safely.( As it was winter time we did not use the lovely pool)

We had an excellent family break!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EStruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a bad dirt road journey with hardly any signage (we chose the longer route requiring occasional telephonic guidance from the owners) ,the hosts welcomed us with fruit juice and moist towels - very thoughtful. The accommodations were very comfortable and clean and the grounds very well kept. A nice setting in the Bushveld with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately we did not get to participate in any of the activities they offer because of bad weather. Would we go back ?- most definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews