We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
6
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives private game reserve lodge johan giraffes farm wildlife boma
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 15 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2015

Having travelled to many places around the world, Olievenfontein has been the top place my family and I have been to.
One instantly feels the burden of the world has been taken off one's shoulders.
You would want time to stand still, as every moment is a joy in its own right.
Our 8 years old, enjoyed reading a book in preparation to going back to school after the break, the setting where he was reading the book, just had to be seen to be appreciated, deep in thought reading the book, with Giraffes in the backdrop of scenery.
During the game drive, the manager has successfully grabbed the attention of our "Tech savvy child" away from the iPad, and had him interested in nature, wild life. Now he owns a book to identify the foot prints of different animals.
We absolutely felt amongst friends and family being there, and a return visit is something we all look forward to.
Time there has definitely flown past, but we have the lovely memories we have made there, memories that keeps us wanting to come back.
My family and I have returned home. with much more appreciation of Africa, nature and beauty.....
Son is now a big fan of animal channel on National Geographic.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotter41221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2015

We decided on Olievenfontein, for the mere fact that it looks quiet and tranquil. Me, my husband and 2 year old son stayed there for the weekend and was really disappointed in the fact that the manager was not willing to take us on a game drive (even though we paid for it - picnic) Our picnic was supposed to be at 10:00 but unfortunately it rained, when we asked the manager later the day (when the sun came out) if there are any game drives he responded and said No, but in fact people did go on game drives, the next day a group of people were also out on a game drive, even though the manager knew that we PAID for the game drive and that we really wanted to go on one, he never even considered calling us to join! Why go to a private game reserve but you are told that there are no game drives? One thing to consider before making a booking!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Monique717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

We went here with a group of 10 adults and stayed in different cottages. We did not enjoy our stay at all for the following reasons:

- Eventough the hole complex is very nice and we'll looked after, the cottages themselves are only on a very basic level: No air-conditioning (only big fans, which are very noisy), tiny rooms, small TV. Apart from that, no bar or shop facility is provided. Moreover, one cottage was placed directly near to the septic tank - the smell was very unpleasant.
- This would have been alright if not the pricing would not be so unfair and in our case just excessive. As I said, we stayed in different cottages: Although we were told that every client hat to pay the same amount, for the people of our group it differed between 1100 Rand and 650 Rand per person and night. Although the cottage of the other groupmembers was much nicer, we had to pay most. Furthermore, we booked the hole cottage on Booking.com - and then we're forced to pay 50% more for a third person. This is just ridiculous; we felt ripped off. At the end, we payed 13.200 Rand for 3 person for 4 nights in a basic self-catering cottage - this was the maximum we had to pay in 2 weeks travel through Southafrica (and we stay only in very upmarket and luxurious places). When we complained about this, we got a very harsh answer from the management.
- We ordered breakfast for the first day. Again, very expensive - and just bad. When we asked for a fried egg, we were told in an inappropriate way that we had to accept what was offered and our wishes would not be heard.
- Some members of our groups were black. Twice, the manager made racist comments - an absolute no-go. They did not feel welcome.
- The game reserve does not have too many animals. Therefore, the "game"-drive was quite boring. Also, the manager seemed not motivated and made no comments at all on the drive.
- While the black travelgroup members were told, that it was a quiet place and they had to calm down, no such comment was made to a big group with several wild kids - chilling at the pool therefore got embarrassing.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
7  Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at Olievenfontein.

We stayed in Waterbok and had a watering holes right in front of our chalet.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

There is ample wildlife on the farm, including giraffe, zebra, rooibok, kudu, impala, and more.

The dirt road leading to the farm is in a bad state with lots of erosion. Although not impossible to drive with a sedan, you do need to take it slow.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andres481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We book the "big chalet/lodge" for our extended family and had a marvellous time.
The lodge is beautiful and equipped with everything one could ever hoped for! The view onto the waterhole from our beautiful "stoeps" were amazing!

There is absolutely nothing to do but to enjoy the fresh air and the beautiful nature.
We considered the reserve drive more than a nature drive and loved the view from the top of the mountain.

Lots of space for children to play safely.( As it was winter time we did not use the lovely pool)

We had an excellent family break!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EStruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews