We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, Amaning service, Great atmosphere”
Review of Raku

Raku
Ranked #4 of 1,591 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: US$14 - US$144
Description: Sleek Modern Japanese Restaurant featuring traditional Robatayaki, high quality sashimi and cocktail bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Sleek Modern Japanese Restaurant featuring traditional Robatayaki, high quality sashimi and cocktail bar.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This was our 5 times to have food in Raku and it will not be our last. The food's presentation was absolutely stunning and the food texture was tempting. The wait staffs were very professional and attentive with fantastic service. The restaurant design is modern and contemporary. The best Japanese restaurant in Canberra so far, highly recommended!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 282 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

This is my third time at Raku, the second time with the degustation menu. It never disappoints! The service is amazing, cocktails and the wine list extensive, the food is phenomenal. Fresh fish, sushi, and nigiri are all so so good! The deep fried crab is my particular favorite. And the deserts omg just go!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

On Easter Sunday we took a lovely leisurely drive to Canberra for the weekend. We then found the most amazing Japanese restaurant - RAKU. If you ever have to go to Canberra, do yourself a favour & book a seat at the sushi bar & have the tasting menu! This has to be one of the best Japanese restaurants we’ve ever been to (and we've been to a lot)! The unagi with grated foie gras was melt-in-the-mouth brilliant! Checking out the reviews on TripAdvisor and Google Review - ignore anything less than 5 stars - this restaurant, the atmosphere, the staff and most especially the food are all top class!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We had a brilliant family celebration at Raku, thoroughly enjoyed the excellent variety and delicacy of modern Japanese flavours, beautiful combinations so well presented. Exceptionally tasty, delicious! Highlights included the tempura Moreton Bay bugs with chilli sauce and japanese mayo, seared broccolini with miso and ginger sauce, tender and lip-smacking lamb ribs, gorgeous seared boneless chicken wings; everything was exciting. Great whisky, sake and wine list too. Service from staff was first class, attentive, professional. A lovely and memorable night!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank drewm610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We are Japanese food enthusiasts and Raku did not disappoint.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, atmosphere was lovely, food was fabulous.
Only thing I will say....we ordered the large banquet and the courses came out way WAY too fast.
We were often still eating the last course when the next arrived. To be fair they warned us at the start that there is no specific order or timing to the dishes; so we should have known I suppose, but it was difficult to eat that fast!
Only $80pp for the large banquet, well worth it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank rachstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raku also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Raku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing