We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Canberra last week and were extremely impressed. The Crowne staff and mangement should be congratulated because all aspects of our stay were first class. Our check in was handled smoothly and without delay and our room was very comfortable and may have been recently refurbed. Our evening meal at the Restaurant as well as the buffet breakfast were delicious! Overall our stay was excellent and I would recommend the Hotel to anyone visiting Canberra for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park - great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griswalds59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

First off this is a great location for shops, walking in the park, the theatre and an excellent selection of restaurants. If you like casinos there is one next door. Our room overlooked the park and this was a beautiful view which over the next few weeks will likely become more spectacular.
On the downside the lift to the carpark is out of action (being refurbished?) but even so I think there is only one lift down to that level.
We had no trouble checking in or out but there are a few airlines using this hotel and if you arrive just as half a dozen flight crew do it can be a struggle.
Concierge was most helpful in finding a car wash facility and with other directions.
We did not eat at the hotel but did hear positive comments from others.
All in all the hotel is getting there, a few things still to get perfect but well on the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Mum and I went to Canberra for the current exhibition at the National Gallery - we have stayed here before and this was our first choice again when staying in Canberra. First class staff, and clean, very comfortable room. Great buffet breakfast. The hotel is a great location for dining choices - just a short walk from the Civic dining district.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent 3 days at the Crowne Plaza Canberra last week $400 a night for a basic room. Check in was shocking. No concierge service and the reception staff were lacking any energy at all. In the evening i went down and check the gym out and it is really terrible. Nothing has changed since i last visited the hotel 5 years ago, the machines are old and look dangerous to use. I decided to give them gym a miss and pay $22 at Fitness First instead. On my second day i arrived back at 2.45pm and to my shock the room was not made and i had to contact reception to get some fresh towels. I think next time i will stay at the Novotel instead. Even though i am Priority Club Elite member i will not visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Dont stay here simple :0
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PlatinumTraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Argentina4eva,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking time to provide feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I am currently staying in this hotel in a beautiful room overlooking the park and cannot let previous reviews pass without springing to the hotel's defence! It may be that it was those reviews that have caused the hotel to reflect on its standards and contributed to the quality of my stay but even if that is the case, I would not wish those looking for a place to stay in Canberra to be put off by them.

I arrived at about midday yesterday (a Sunday). Mt room was ready for me and the concierge staff were waiting to assist me with my luggage before my taxi from the airport even came to a stop. The room that I am in is certainly not 'tired' - indeed, it seems to have been refurbished very recently. The bathroom is just a little on the small side but otherwise I would struggle to find flaw with it.

I have not had a problem with the lift, although I do see that there are signs directing patrons to the lift which serves the car park and a large notice in the foyer advising that the lifts are to be refurbished.

I cannot comment on the standard of the meals here as I have not yet eaten one.

In the time that I have been here, the staff have been at great pains to make my stay as pleasant as possible and I thank them for that.

I have stayed at Crowne Plaza Hotels all over the world (I am a Priority Club Platinum member) and would say that this hotel, whilst not the best, compares very, very favourably with most others.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the park would have to be prefferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Michael W,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review us and particularly for jumping to our defence.
I am sure that your affection for the brand played a part in your decision to write a review and that is a compliment in itself.

I am thrilled to see that as one of our most frequent guests with global experience of the brand, you found our product and service to your liking. While we are constantly improving in service standards and consistency, the experience you had is very much in line with our goals and indeed encourages us as a team that our efforts are bearing fruit.

Our improvement plans are a constant as we strive to become the first choice for acommodation in Canberra and I do hope that you and all our guests will see the results of our efforts ongoing.

Thanks again and please don't hesitate to contact me direct if there is any aspect of this stay or future ones with which I can assist.

Yours Sincerely


Matt Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Good location. Nice room and friendly staff. Free internet available. Only disappointing point was the price of the breakfast knowing we had already paid quite much for the room itself.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I have stayed at this property a number of times and it has always felt tired and worn out. My most recent stay for business was terrible. The toilet ran water constantly making a loud noise, the air conditioning didn't work, the phone by the bed didn't work, the room service dinner included a salad with brown lettuce, the room service breakfast trays remained in the hallway until after 6 pm at night, the staff entered the elevator before me on two occasions and offered no assistance, I carried my own luggage to my room, the concierge was ill informed and the list goes on and on...

I stayed here because I am a priority gold member and was grateful for an early check in. I was also impressed with a follow up phone call from the head of room services to apologize for the poor standards. I am usually a very loyal customer when I have joined a loyalty program but I am not sure if I could cope with another stay at this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,303 reviews
2.1 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,524 reviews
0.9 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,375 reviews
1.0 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,606 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $140 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing