We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located & Amazing Staff”
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Canberra
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastchester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Centrally Located & Amazing Staff”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent service centrally located in Australia’s Capital starting at $160 AUD

Overview
Convenience cannot even begin to describe the Novotel Canberra. If traveling by bus, you hop off and just look up. There’s your hotel. If you are traveling for business or pleasure, the amazing staff will help you with everything at this 4.5 star hotel.

Location
Canberra, ACT. Australia’s Capital City. Right on Northbourne Ave, it is centrally located and within walking distance of the Canberra Centre shopping mall, the London Circuit pedestrian area, Glebe Park, Canberra Museum, and right near the central ACTION bus stops. About 3 km from the National Art Gallery and Parliament. If you find your way to Canberra for an exhibit at any of their many museums, sport, the National Folk Festival, business or government this is the place.

The Room - 225
One of the most important things when it comes to hotels for me is the bed. I can say I had one of the best sleeps I have had in a long time in the Queen Size bed. It was soft and very comfortable. Like how you imagine sleeping on a cloud would be like. Ya know, without that whole falling through it thing.

There was a flat screen TV, business desk and couch. It seemed great. However, we moved the couch to watch a movie on our laptop and there was all this garbage underneath. Not a good look. So when we left the hotel, we left the couch where it was so that the housekeeping knew to give it a good clean. Also, the view is not something to expect here. It is a view of the bus terminal downstairs. But I guess that is what you get for a city hotel.

The Bathroom
Bathroom was standard. Toilet behind the door and great bath products that were replenished each day. It was a shower/bathtub for your choosing.

Dining
Dining options were not limited. You could choose from 24 hour room service, go to the restaurant and bar downstairs, or choose from many of the places nearby.
I chose to try out the room service. Ordered some penne pasta. It came upstairs in record time. However, it was mediocre to say the least. But it did the job.
I did not get the pleasure of dining in the hotel’s One Restaurant and Bar, however, I noticed they were very accommodating for Easter. They adjusted the hours and took note that many other places around town would be closed. The staff even let you know of places to eat outside the hotel that were open.
We chose to eat out for Easter Brunch. We headed to Gus’s where you will see the BF enjoyed (and was taken back by) his huge meal.

Gus’s is a Canberra landmark. It was the first outdoor dining establishment in the city and has been around since 1967. There is even a plaque on the ground to recognize the original Vienna immigrant Augustin ‘Gus’ Petersilka.

Amenities & Facilities
Heated Indoor pool, Sauna, Hot Tub, Mini Bar, Gym, 24 hour service, Wi-Fi internet (30 minutes free in lobby otherwise pay for it in your room), movies (surcharge) and computers/business lounge.

The pool was nice. It was great that it was indoors because it was just under pool temperature outside. Didn’t feel that heated though. Also, the Sauna was broken and out of order. But we relaxed in the hot tub and enjoyed the company of National Folk Festival attendees.

The internet worked great. We got the 24 hour pass for unlimited usage and since here in Australia you have to pay per byte it was nice that we were able to update Kiwi BF’s software on his computer.

Overall
I am a sucker for a great location and amazing hospitality. Although the Sauna was broken and my room service didn’t taste that great, I give the Novotel a thumbs up. There were always smiles from the staff, despite having to work over Easter Weekend and I slept like a baby. The place is centrally located, so just take the bus in and they have parking available.

Room Tip: Hotel Tip: Try to ask for a room NOT on the second floor. The pool is also on this floor and you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    1,490
    652
    166
    70
See reviews for
926
1,119
285
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location,. easy to get to, friendly customer service, clean rooms, great value,
highly recommend. Good choice of food in restaurant and buffet breakfast supurb

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was quite surprised when we stayed at the Novotel Canberra, recent refurbishment has created a Jewel in Canberra. The staff were very attentive to our family needs and were great with the children. The 3 star rating does not do this hotel justice, great facilities, rooms and location. 5 stars from me. I have already recommended the hotel to family members.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waggawoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback on Novotel Canberra. We take pride in providing guests with excellent service and a product that exceeds expectations! Our location to the city centre as well as many tourist attractions is definitely convenient for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here over Easter with the "Renaissance package" including tickets for the art exhib . We received an upgrade which was a nice start ..Overall the room was comfortable.clean ans spacious.Very well located central to anything Canberra has .The staff were busy ,but helpful and friendly.Two negatives ! 1...valet parking ,who actually wants this ? I would suggest the majority of patrons would prefer to park their own vehicles ,the fact that it is also a pretty painful experience seals the deal! Number 2 was the free buffet breakfast ,we were advised it gets busy at 830 weekends so got up early and headed down ,unfortuneately the hotel obviously told everyone the same so it was bedlam ! Absolutely packed and nowhere to even wait! We decided to skip it and buy our own downtown (which was both expensive and average in quality!) .These 2 points however were a minor distraction from an otherwise pleasant stay! Would definately consider again next time!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pechar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan F, General Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Novotel Canberra, we appreciate the feedback. A new leadership team with a focus on maximising guest satisfaction is in place and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.3 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest Canberra
Quest Canberra
#32 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Property: Novotel Canberra
Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#22 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym. Please note that the pool, spa and sauna will be closed from 26 April 2016 until 30 May 2016 during refurbishment of the pool and spa area. Enjoy the onsite One Restaurant for breakfast and dinner 7 days, while One Bar offers all day dining and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing