We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent visit.

I hadn't been to the mint for years and didn't have the best of memories. Today we went with our... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
matthewpM742PW
,
Canada
via mobile
Fabulous free tour at the Mint

A very entertaining and knowledgeable tour guide We went on a weekday so people were working in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
MelindaM1582
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,204 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Canberra
from US$43.80
More Info
from US$11.00
More Info
from US$138.10
More Info
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveller rating
600
448
133
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
448
133
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews factory floor australian coins make your own coin making dollar coin decimal currency money money money gift shop interesting place to visit guided tour free entry free tour public holiday interesting history worth a visit quick visit school groups
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

the mint sure is a amazing experience to go and visit, easy parking, usually quiet looks like it most times, interesting place to visit that for sure

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank adeppeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for the review. It’s an honour for us to share the stories behind our nation’s coins with you (and everyone else who comes to visit!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Interesting history of coins, great to see the factory floor and the sales staff are fantastic. I travel to canberra quite a bit and if i have a moment of spare time i head to the mint to see whats new!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Vacation366726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Worth a visit and to take the into tour - probably a 1 hour visit is enough - the exhibition on the history of money and coinage is worth viewing and if you could see the Minting process in action it would be impressive - but if you visit on the weekend not much equipment is operating. Gift Shop has lots of high priced stuff, best value would be paying $3 to mint your own $1 coin - a relatively cheap souvenir of your visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank melbourne-vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for the review. We’re very proud to offer exhibitions and tours to allow people to enjoy the story of coins in their own way. Of course, we feel the same way about our shop, which is why we stock a range of items to suit all interests and budgets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

It's not every day you get to print money. The Mint has a couple of machines that you can print a $1 coin, kids love it

Great range of historical coin collections and a little cafe as well for a coffee stop.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 992louiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for visiting. We trust it won’t be long before the coins your kids made are sitting alongside some others that they have collected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Our family trip included a trip to the mint, a must see and wait for the tour - Jamie our tour guide today was brilliant, energetic, knowledgable and engaging.
The place was interesting and informative for teens and the adults learnt a thing or two too.

Great attraction since it is a free venue. So enjoy it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank my1stmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for visiting. Being called a ‘must see’ makes us feel as almost as rich as a coin collector with a 1930 penny!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews