We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Not sure what I was expecting Believe the free tour is a must as otherwise you miss the history and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Thoughts3
,
Newcastle, Australia
Liked it

We were only in Canberra for a couple of days and ended up at the Mint on a Saturday. Being a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
FanofDunk
,
Townsville, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,233 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Canberra
from US$239.52
More Info
from US$14.52
More Info
from US$27.58
More Info
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveller rating
609
462
138
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
462
138
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews factory floor australian coins coin making make your own dollar coin decimal currency money money money gift shop interesting place to visit guided tour free entry free tour public holiday worth a visit quick visit school groups interesting displays
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had a great time even though there wasn't any production just about to walk around and see the machinery that's used was in real eye opener and the museum was incredible a lot of history about Australian currency and even though I might be a large collective myself I still learnt a great deal of knowledge and I'm definitely going to go back when I have a bit more time I didn't want to make my friends hang around there for hours while I read everything but I will definitely be making another trip back

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank butcherboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for the review. There is certainly a special extra touch when you can see the factory in operation, but just remember that our multimedia touchscreens can show you all of the different parts of coin-making up close. Oh, and don’t be shy about bringing non-collecting friends with you. Even if they aren’t as passionate as you (yet!), we can guarantee that coins have been a part of their lives. This is something we always love to celebrate in our exhibitions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

the mint sure is a amazing experience to go and visit, easy parking, usually quiet looks like it most times, interesting place to visit that for sure

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank adeppeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for the review. It’s an honour for us to share the stories behind our nation’s coins with you (and everyone else who comes to visit!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Interesting history of coins, great to see the factory floor and the sales staff are fantastic. I travel to canberra quite a bit and if i have a moment of spare time i head to the mint to see whats new!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Vacation366726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Worth a visit and to take the into tour - probably a 1 hour visit is enough - the exhibition on the history of money and coinage is worth viewing and if you could see the Minting process in action it would be impressive - but if you visit on the weekend not much equipment is operating. Gift Shop has lots of high priced stuff, best value would be paying $3 to mint your own $1 coin - a relatively cheap souvenir of your visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank melbourne-vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for the review. We’re very proud to offer exhibitions and tours to allow people to enjoy the story of coins in their own way. Of course, we feel the same way about our shop, which is why we stock a range of items to suit all interests and budgets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

It's not every day you get to print money. The Mint has a couple of machines that you can print a $1 coin, kids love it

Great range of historical coin collections and a little cafe as well for a coffee stop.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 992louiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Aust_Mint, Public Relations Manager at Royal Australian Mint, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thanks for visiting. We trust it won’t be long before the coins your kids made are sitting alongside some others that they have collected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews