We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing family wildlife encounters

We loved our visit to Dolphin Marine Magic - we visited with our 2 preschool aged kids and had a... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
coastingaustralia
,
Blackpool, England
Amazing Experience for All Ages

What a fabulous day we had today. The weather was perfect and the Ultimate Dolphin Experience was... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Heather W
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 1,275 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Coffs Harbour
from US$72.60
More Info
from US$57.90
More Info
from US$69.60
More Info
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,263 results
Traveller rating
855
296
68
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
296
68
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea world fairy penguins dolphin experience seal kiss professional photos feed penguins interactive experience photos taken once in a lifetime porpoise pool red fish small place staff were friendly all ages sea life entry fee amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,263 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

We loved our visit to Dolphin Marine Magic - we visited with our 2 preschool aged kids and had a great time. It's such good value - included in entry is the dolphin kiss and seal hug. The show is educational and fun - and it's great how there are loads of activities throughout the day. The staff are all lovely and the park itself is beautiful. Thanks for a wonderful day!

Thank coastingaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

What a fabulous day we had today. The weather was perfect and the Ultimate Dolphin Experience was well worth the money. To get up so close and personal with these majestic mammals is something we will never forget. The staff certainly helped to make our day very special. From the booking staff, to the dolphin handler/trainer (sorry can't remember the two young ladies names) through to the photo booth (Gail). Shouldn't forget to mention the staff that provided great entertainment with the Dolphins and Seal show. Well done to all concerned.

Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Heather W and thank you for your kind review - I will be sure to pass your comments on to our team. As you will have observed, the team are dedicated to their roles in caring for our magnificent animals and ensuring all our guests have the best possible experience and leave with a much greater appreciation of the animals under our care. Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Today we visited Dolphin Marine Magic,Sea World it is not (thank god ).
Has a great dolphin & seal show and we also did the Ultimate Dolphin Experience.
What an experience that was,something I will always remember and treasure.
How often do you get the opportunity to swim with a dolphin and give them a hug.
The staff are very experienced and friendly,talk you thru everything.
An amazing afternoon had.
Thank you Dolphin Marine Magic.

Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Roman T for your review. I am so glad you had a great time. We do not pretend to be Sea World as we are a much smaller and intimate experience, which is what we attempt to give all our guests. The opportunity to get so close to our beautiful creatures and have their habits and behaviors clearly explained by our dedicated staff is something Dolphin Marine Magic is renowned for - a reputation we are very proud of. Again, I am glad you had this opportunity and come back again soon.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was wonderful for our family. We were welcomed warmly, we got to have a picture with a seal and a kiss from a dolphin. We saw the seal and dolphin show. All the animals were rescued and the keepers tell the animals' stories of how they came to the zoo and especially why they couldn't be released.

Thank Chava J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Chava J and thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time at Dolphin Marine Magic. We like to provide our guests as close an experience as possible with our beautiful animals and the stories behind how they came to be with us simply add to that experience. Dolphin Marine Magic has been involved in rescue and rehabilitation work of sick, stranded and injured wildlife for all of its 50 years and that work continues today with the support of visitors to our wildlife park - thank you.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed a morning dolphin and seal show. So entertaining. Had photos hugging a seal and kissed by a dolphin. Beautiful!!

Thank Enna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Enna R and thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with our beautiful creatures and we hope to host you again soon. Please like our Facebook page as we are going through a number of changes and upgrades over the next 12 months and we would like to keep you updated.

Terry Goodall - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

After having visited this place many years ago, we were excited to come back when we visited Coffs Harbour again. Unfortunately we were disappointed.
It appears that this place has turned into nothing but a cash grab. Their kiss by a dolphin "experience" and hug a seal "experience" consists of a person with a camera positioning you and insisting you look at the camera and smile, once your photo is taken you are pushed away without having even seen the dolphin that "kissed" you. Its not an "experience", its a pose for a photo opportunity. And don't even walk anywhere near where the "experiences" are taking place with a camera or a phone - you will be told off because "we don't allow photos in this area". They then sell these photos, for $10 each for a print, or $10 each for a digital copy. Thats $20 for ONE photo if you want a print and a digital image, no packages for multiple images and then when you go to pay with your card - "there will be a surcharge to pay with card" - more cash grabbing right there.
The show was average, at best. The pool the dolphins are in is so small that the dolphins cannot get any speed up when swimming and therefore no big jumps possible. A whole show with the same tiny little hump jumps done over and over again with a different "story" to try and make it interesting.
The size of the pools, and the attitudes of the people here, give off the impression that these poor animals are nothing more than cash grabbing performing monkeys. We won't be coming back here again.

Thank LeanneandBrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi LeannandBrett M and thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience but you are definitely in the minority of the visitors we have over the year as the vast majority of feedback is extremely positive. The presentation provided is intended to demonstrate the intelligence and agility of these magnificent dolphins and show and explain to the guests the types of behaviors that are a natural activity they perform in the wild - it is not meant to be a show of tricks. You obviously missed the show of incredible speed the dolphins are able to reach, which is part of the presentation.

The sale of photos is indeed one of our means of raising money, a portion of which goes toward helping to fund the critical and ongoing rescue and rehabilitation work Dolphin Marine Magic has been performing for decades for the health and well being of sick, stranded and injured marine animals and wildlife in our area. The credit card surcharge of 1.5% on the other hand is certainly not a "cash grab" it is a charge that is imposed by the banks, which we on-charge. It is a regulated charge that you will no doubt have incurred in many other retail, hospitality and accommodation providers you use. I would add here that guests are under no obligation to buy the photos. There is also interaction time scheduled poolside with the dolphins after each presentation, which is included in the entry fee and where guests are welcome to take photos.

With respect to the pool size, the area in which the presentations take place is only one part of the total area that is available to the dolphins. The regulations governing the keeping of cetaceans in NSW are particularly stringent - even by world standards - and Dolphin Marine Magic is compliant with all legislative requirements.

I accept that you are entitled to your view but, for the sake of readers, I hope that I have been able to answer your criticism.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thought l was visiting a reputable aquarium and now l have to totally disagree with the high reviews - how can people be so blind and not recognise that the size of their pool is way to small. I have now looked on the internet since my visit and realised that Dolphin Marine Magic has been taken to court about misleading advertising and concerns for the poor lives that these dolphins have. They may be meeting legal requirements set by people interested in maintaining the local tourism but this is not in the interests of the lives of these dolphins- anyone with any empathy for them can see that!

I wish ld looked on the internet before l went as I found it was so upsetting to see the dolphins in such a small pool, it is obvious that Dolphin Marine Magic is not such a caring establishment because the dolphins are kept in the equivalent of a tiny cage! I was sad that the parents saw this as ok, even sadder that the children are being taught that it’s fun and ok to treat intelligent animals this way.

They are purely circus animals for the owners - l pity any being rescued by them. It’s now obvious that just as the trainers and owners of all such terrible places you see in places around the world they will say repeatedly that ‘our animals are healthy and happy’ of course they will always say that. Hello folks - the elephant in the room is .... they are going to say that because “they want our money” lm shocked it happens in Australia! What poor legal requirements you must have for animals here.

My sadness only increased when l realised that the public could touch and kiss them - they have now stopped this from happening with the dolphins at Monkey Mia as they now know it’s bad for the dolphins.
I will never go to another place like this again.
If you care about dolphins - then you also should not be giving money to somewhere that keeps them in terrible conditions and lets people touch them. I expected better animal welfare awareness than this in Australia :-(

Thank Freganing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Freganing
Thank you for your very detailed, obviously passionate but somewhat misinformed review. The dolphins we home and care for have either been rescued and rehabilitated but deemed unfit to be returned safely to the wild or have been born here at the park and so cannot be released to the wild. The decision to retain these animals under human care has been one made with the authority of local and state government departments and the rules and regulations required to maintain these beautiful creatures under our care, ensuring they have the best possible welfare outcome, are some of the most stringent in the world.

The behaviors you may have witnessed are clearly described in the presentation as activities these animals demonstrate in the wild - they are not circus acts - and the ability for guests to have a close experience with them under the watchful, guarding eyes of our animal carers only serves to enhance the guest's appreciation of these magnificent and intelligent animals. Many of the 100's of thousands of visitors to our wildlife park over the past 50 years of our existence will never have the opportunity to see one of these animals as up close as they can at Dolphin Marine Magic and we know that this experience for the public, including the significant number of school programs we run over the year, the education sessions we provide our young visitors along with the ongoing rescue and rehabilitation work we perform and have done so for many years, only helps to give the public a far greater appreciation of our marine mammals, wildlife in general and the environment.

I suspect that you are most likely an animal rights activist, which means we have a lot of ideals in common the main one being that neither of us can tolerate the mistreatment of any animal. I can assure you that Dolphin Marine Magic is a fully accredited facility and we work closely with organisations such as NSW Parks and Wildlife in attending to stranded and injured marine animal rescue events. In addition, our peak industry body, the Zoo and Aquarium Association granted us full accreditation after undergoing an extremely rigorous program that has proven that the animals under our care experience no negative impacts on their health and well-being.

Let me assure you that the animals we home receive the best possible care. As I stated previously there are very stringent standards - particularly so in NSW - that we must follow in order to have our licence to display the animals that we home renewed every year, and every year our licences are renewed.

Thank you again for the opportunity to answer your concerns and explain more clearly how we operate and the absolute dedication we have to ensuring the ongoing enrichment and welfare outcome for all the animals under our care.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from the show not much else to see so you need to time your visit. Your entry ticket includes a seal hug ($10 if you wish to purchase the photo though) and a dolphin kiss. The show is very interactive and a big hit with the kids.

Thank Nannyjo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nannyjo01. I am glad the kids enjoyed the presentation - did they get to feed the penguins, hug the seal, feed the fish, see the fresh water turtles, visit Seal Shores to watch the seals playing and/or lying in the sun and kiss the dolphin - all of which are included in the price of admission? We do like to see the youngsters and not so young enjoying themselves but more importantly learning about how we need to take care of our marine environment and appreciate our wildlife. There will be a number of changes taking place at our park over the coming 12 months so we look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you for your kind review.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best day at the Dolphin Marine Magic. Such a casual environment with very personal experiences. We got to feed fish and penguins, hug a seal and got kissed by a dolphin. We also got to touch the dolphins bellies and get up close and personal with them in their free time. We were lucky it wasn't busy and both my daughter and I got picked to be part of the dolphin performance. Our experiences were priceless and we have life long memories to take with us. Hopefully we can visit again one day.

Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Kristin T for your kind review. We do like to give all our guests an up close and personal experience with all our fantastic animals so I am glad you had a good time and congratulations to you and your daughter for being picked to be part of the presentation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is great if you want to interact with the wildlife, up close and personal. Feedings and photos were lots of fun and a unique opportunity. The posted information posters and boards were either in the dark in a tunnel so you couldn't read them, or really old and faded. It's a small place and I thought the $40 entrance fee pretty steep for what you get. Kids would love it, but as an adult, not so much.

Thank TravelBug711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdfg, General Manager at Pet Porpoise Pool - Dolphin Marine Magic, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you TravelBug711 for your honest review. We are one of the smaller wildlife parks and as such, are able to offer guests a very personal experience with our beautiful animals. Children especially have a wonderful time and we try to provide not only a great experience with the animals but a learning one for them as well. Our aim is to have all of our guests - particularly the children - to leave with a much greater appreciation of our wildlife and for the environment. Dolphin Marine Magic is currently undertaking a face lift and upgrade to our presentation so I would urge you to like our Facebook page to keep up with the changes taking place. Thank you again for taking the time to send us your comments and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Terry Goodall - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews