We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loction, Location, Location!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Southern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #88 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loction, Location, Location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our base to explore Sydney for 6 nights. It was very conveniently situated near to Paddy`s Market and Central Station ( a stop for the Sydney Explorer and Bondi Explorer Bus ). The hotel was rather old-fashioned and the rooms rather small, however staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to purchase vouchers for breakfast ( hot or continental) which was fine. The Hotel was approx 30 mins walk from Central Quay/ Opera House/ Harbour Bridge/ Darling Harbour. We just loved Sydney and the Hotel provided an affordable convenient base for our stay. Our legs/ feet were aching after 7 days!!

Room Tip: Rooms to rear have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    410
    225
    86
    49
See reviews for
108
361
129
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Main advantages were that the hotel was close to Central Station and Paddy's Market. We got a special price via Entertainment Card - $67. It would be hard to find Queen room for cheaper in Sydney CBD. However the room was very small, called "heritage" but this meant out of date 70's wooden wardrobe, desk, bedside tables, and small flatscreen TV. Window faced straight out to windows of other rooms so couldn't have curtain open. Also the air-con was really noisy and just blew cold air at us when set at 20 degrees or higher, but if turned off the room grew too hot. This made it bit uncomfortable at night. Was billed as 4 star but I would have called it 2.5 to 3 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a non heritage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I selected this hotel for an overnight Sydney sojourn for my wife and I for its proximity to Central Station which is a junction for all rail routes including the route to and from the airport. The hotel is also on the door step of Chinatown and Paddy's Markets with easy access (walk or bus) to all the other attractions, sites and shopping that Sydney has to offer.

The hotel is apparently heritage listed which is evident with much of the period features and original character remaining. A facelift with a splash of colour and perhaps a change to some of the interior decor, fixtures and fittings would provide the Grande touch an old lady deserves. The rooms are quite small, dated and could do with a lick of paint where bags and furniture have scared the walls. The carpet is nearing the end of its life and attention to detail in the housekeeping, particularly the bathroom where mould is evident in some of the tile grouting and base of the glass shower screen. The shower recess is very tight so watch the elbows and hands. Our bed was a king (two singles pushed together) which was reasonably comfortable. The air conditioning worked, the TV (an old style flat screen) functioned correctly the bar fridge kept our drinks cold, the kettle boiled and was clean and there was an iron and ironing board. Compact but satisfactory. Oh! don't expect a view of the Opera House or Harbor Bridge...we had a view to the overhead of diners down stairs, a brick wall and external walkway.

Overall there is nothing wrong with this hotel. Reasonably clean, friendly front of house staff, and small but adequate rooms. A respectable 3 star hotel with an affordable tariff by Sydney accommodation standards. As a house guest I did find the $2.00 per bag/day storage fee a little unreasonable but with no where else to store bags while waiting for your room on check in or late departures from the city...you don't have much choice.

Room Tip: Request the king bed configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedbergh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We found this on laterooms at a very good price for the 2 nights we needed between flying in from Brisbane and leaving for Heathrow. Tube straight from Domestic and back out to International airports arrives at Central station after 2 stops. The hotel is a short 200 yard walk from there. Into reception and registered very efficiently with key card to room. Rooms are everything you'd expect for a 'stay over' if you're not looking for a romantic break or spending a load of time there. Shower room good with fridge, kettle and drinks as expected. Reasonably quiet even though we were in a room facing across George Street and towards the station. No complaints whatsoever. Walk back across the road towards station to take a tour bus around Sydney as we try to do in most places we go to get an idea of the location of everything. We concluded that there aren't many places not easily accessible from here and indeed we walked most of the way up George Street to Hotel on Sunday night after a last drink with our boys at Harbourside. No frills but good honest service provision at a reasonable cost in the right place. Try it.

Room Tip: Not sure of other rooms but we had a George Street (front facing) room and to be honest, the noise d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castlehawking0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My 1st time to Sydney...got great hotel that near with attraction places...very near to Chinatown as well as Darling Harbour which just a few blocks from hotel....good location for travelers who doesn't spend much time in hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladleenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This place was ideal for the night between arriving on a cruise and leaving on an early morning train. There was a bus direct from the cruise terminal and it's a short walk to Central Station.

I was never sure whether this was a classic heritage hotel or just very old fashioned. It's certainly not up to 4 star standards. The room was small with no view but it was very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel bistro was closed for a private function so we had our dinner in the pub section which was typical but good pub food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Heritage bar dominates the front of hotel. But go inside and you will be suprised by the hotel itself
the staff are efficient friendly and helpfull. the room we stayed in was above average, and better than some more expensive hotels. location brilliant cleanlyness faultless. Cafe style restraunt clean and efficient. food was unbelievably good so we ate there more than once.You can also eat same food in the bar.Were once again the staff were efficient and helpfull and kept place clead even under preasure. The hotel is not modern chick but tastfully decorated in the style when it was built. with the addition of cause of modern lifts and computer connections. Albert.

Room Tip: stay on 1st bedroom floor then you dont have to use lift if you dont like them.our was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#96 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Southern Hotel

Property: The Great Southern Hotel
Address: 717 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Pacific International Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing