We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch from my Daughter For my Birthday....”
Review of Bodega 1904

Bodega 1904
Ranked #890 of 6,912 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The food was all lovely.... Dips with lovely bread,egg plant,Barramundi....spritz drink....we sat at the bar...great service.....

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

A funky, comfortable looking place with an interesting sounding menu - that is where it stopped unfortunately. The dishes are overpriced, the wine even more so! We are traditional Chardonnay drinkers and we had to pay $100 (public holiday surcharge included) to get a decent one! We started with a fresh Merimbula oyster which was delicious - but not really due to them. Then we had the beef tartare lettuce cup - weird flavour combination. The king prawns - dry and over cooked. The steak with potatoes - also over cooked! The waitress said the chef serves it medium rare, it was more like medium well!! A good cut of meat ruined. The staff seemed a little preoccupied with themselves, apart from the hostess who was lovely, an American girl who obviously has more hospitality experience than her colleagues... we won't return.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Lrhb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Food is severely overpriced. "Cold cuts" were three thin slices of each of two different deli meats. No work done to them. Likewise "heirloom tomatoes" (which arrived 5 minutes after we'd finished everything else) had minimal intervention from the kitchen and what had been done was imprecise. Overall dramatically overpriced and unsurprisingly almost empty. NOT tapas, as advertised.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Lionhound029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Our first visit to the Tramsheds, with a walk around each of the offerings and we chose 1904, which was a great choice. We chose to sit at the bar stools rather than the restaurant tables and had a great time, with the experienced bar and restaurant staff.

The staff are well versed in the wines that are sold and prepare great cocktails, to be able to taste most wines is not usually on offer, but great to learn and try something different. The food was fantastic, we chose five (5) tapas offerings including the Chorizo, Pork and Prawns, simply delicious.

A great experience for our first time at the Tramsheds which we are sure to return and enjoy 1904 food and wine experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

Was looking forward to visiting this destination. Overall the experience was pretty ordinary. Great waitstaff but the food let things down. Fairly pedestrian in most ways. The shared platters were ordinary but some of the small tapas dishes were great

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregH2599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega 1904 also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bodega 1904? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing