We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is in your budget, Whystay anywhere else.”
Review of Sydney Harbour YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Harbour YHA
Ranked #2 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for a week, having changed our booking from Sydney Central YHA, where we had an excellent stay some years ago, after reading recent poor reviews.

In many ways you can't beat Sydney Harbour. The location, very close to The Rocks & Circular Quay, is fabulous. The beds are comfortable and all rooms, including dorms have an en suite toilet and shower which is hot, powerful and modern. The soundproofing is excellent. The communal areas are open,spacious and comfortable and the kitchens well equipped and clean. The staff are helpful and there 24 hrs. The clientele are interesting. The groups all seemed to be young: school age up to about 19. On the other hand, the 'individual' travellers were that bit older plus families and all quite diverse.

I do have a few niggles, however.
1) We are traveling with our young children and on the whole we try to book a double room Plus a 4 share dorm next to or opposite each other. Although these rooms were available when I booked, the hostel were unable to guarantee that they would be on the same floor, let alone next to each other, so we ended up sharing a 6 bed dorm, which was a shame.
2) It is an expensive hostel, though the location is great, and you pay for that
3) You can't use the laundry after 9.30pm and indeed it's locked, so you can't even collect dry clothes after that time.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Harbour YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hi Kenzas.
Thank you for your review of Sydney Harbour YHA. I would just like to clarify a point you have made about the rooms you wanted to book at the hostel. This YHA does not have any four share rooms next door or opposite to twin/double rooms (they are in a different building), so it would have been impossible to book this combination for you. The only options were the 6 share you booked (with bunk beds), or a 5 share family room which has a double bed and bunks.
The laundry is locked (and the times are displayed clearly) because there are bedrooms near it and we don't want these guests disturbed after 9.30pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Strong features: great location (in front of the opera house and harbour bridge) , new building, clean , good kitchen, great roof terrace.
Weak ones: slightly expensive, no soul with one of the worst YHA reception in Australia, some people working in this hotel so you could be woken up very early by your room mates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Don't let "Youth Hostel" put you off. We are grandparents and used to our creature comforts. This was a wonderful base from which to explore Sydney for 11 nights. In the heart of The Rocks, with Circular Quay a short walk down the hill. Many of the other guests were over 50's and it was a good mix of ages! We had a glorious view of the Opera House from our en suite room (310), sheets changed twice during our stay, room serviced daily with tea, coffee etc replaced. The room was soundproof and well air-conditioned. The kitchens are well appointed, excellent laundry facilities, the roof terrace a glorious place to watch the sunset over the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Breakfast basics can be purchased in house or there is a shop next door. Themed evenings offered well-priced food to stretch the budget. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there is service 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost a more, but it added to our enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kightleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

It is probably the best YHA backpacker in OZ...but due to its new facilities, location (location, location), and the the other benefits, you are going to pay TOP dollar for a backpacker place. Your best bet to ease the pinch on your wallet is to purchase and use YHA eNights (which will reduce the cost to about AU$26-27 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoloSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nothing to complain about here. Fantastic location for the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House etc. We had the double room which had a view to the Opera House. Very modern Bathroom and even tea and coffee making facilities in our room (which only applies to the double rooms apparently) Great the way it is built over the dig site. Very interesting. And the view from the roof top is amazing. Well equipped kitchen and lounge area. Helpful staff. Worth the extra money

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

As everyone else has mentioned this place hits all the right buttons in terms of location, cleanliness, friendliness and efficiency of staff, and I don't have much to add in that regard, except to say that if you come in from the airport on the train, it's just a five minute walk up the hill from the Circular Quay station, and Circular Quay also seems to be the starting point for ferry trips to all sorts of interesting places like Taronga Zoo and Manly Beach.

One thing I particularly appreciated is the fact that there are plenty of power sockets in each room. This is becoming more and more important these days when a single traveller might want to recharge a phone, a laptop/iPad and a camera battery at the end of this day, and in older hostels I've seen crazily overloaded sockets as everyone in the room tries to get their tourist paraphenalia already for a day of photography, Facebook and phone. In my four bed dorm, there was a socket on the light over my bunk as well as another in my locker + a couple more communal sockets in the bathroom and dorm.

I'm a historian by profession and have a soft spot for archaelogical sites. So I loved the way that this hostel is built in a kind of atrium around some recent excavations of the foundations of houses from early Sydney. This aspect of the hostel gives it a character that prevents it from becoming too institutional.

I'm also a beer bore, so the fact that the pub next door (I've forgotten its name) serves a huge selection of bottled beers from Australian craft breweries, as well as a pretty good on-tap selection, was another point in favour of this hostel's location. I also enjoyed eating one of the pub's kangaroo pizzas, while I drank my beer.

I never got up onto the balcony, though wish I had, because the views of the harbour and the waterfront from that bit of the world are beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a great location, right in The Rocks by Circular Quay and near the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Large hostel with clean rooms (take a padlock for your locker). Bathrooms in the rooms were good and staff were helpful. Internet was a little pricier than I was used to. Make sure you see the views from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine_hallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,991 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 145 in Sydney
790 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 145 in Sydney
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour YHA

Address: 110 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $58 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Harbour YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only backpacker hostel in Sydney's historic harbourside Rocks precinct! Explore Sydney's colonial history, walk to all the city's major sites whilst staying in the heart of the city. Multi-share and double/twin accommodation, all with en-suites and many with Harbour and Opera House views. Plus free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). The place to make the most of your visit to Sydney! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydney Harbour YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Harbour Yha Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing