We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here after a night out with friends. Its location is ideal for for this or if you want to be able to walk to the main city attractions.
We had a standard room, which was excellent - nice king bed, soft pillow, good bathroom with separate shower and bath. And we took the high floor option for only $9 extra - worth it.
The Glass Wine Bar was excellent for a late night drink - a bit noisy but modern, sleek and a great selection of wines. We would have preferred the more atmospheric Marble Bar, but there was quite a queue.
The hotel is centrally located between George and Pitt Streets and across the road from the Queen Victoria Building (QVB), and less than a block from Pitt St Mall, with no shortage of dining or breakfast options within a very easy walk if you prefer to get out of the hotel.
There is a pedestrian entrance in George St but the car entrance is at 255 Pitt St.

Room Tip: High floor option was good value.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for posting your review about Hilton Sydney.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will have an opportunity to come back and experience the unique vibe of our iconic Marble Bar.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,512)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,438 - 3,444 of 4,512 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Myself, my wife and two children travelled to Sydney to have a "relaxing" four day break, and being a frequent traveller, the Hilton hotel with their reputable location in George street Sydney seemed the perfect place to stay in Sydney!

Apon a late arrival to Sydney Friday night, I booked a table at the resturant where I was told I was certain to get a table, however when I took my family to the resturant Apon arrival I was told there were simply "no more tables" available! After being spoken to by extremely rude weighting staff, the resturant manager ensured us he had a table and apologized for the RUDE greeting by the female weighters!

Friday and Saturday night were complely disastrous,with my family barely having one hour of sleep due to the noise from outside and the elevators! When talking to the manager, simply giving my feedback, I returned to my hotel room to find packets of ear plugs on our beds!!!!

On the arrival back to our home (Adelaide) my wife and teenage daughters have had to undergo physeo to correct their backs due the uncomfortable beds which the Hilton provide, and catch up on sleep!!

THERE WAS NOTHING RELAXING ABOUT THIS SO CALLED BREAK AT THE HILTON HOTEL SYDNEY!!!

Room Tip: Try the westin hotel in Sydney!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

Naturally, I am very disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great Hotel food in Glass. Expensive, but wonderful wine list and food presentation.
Dislikes- unreliable key system.
Likes- staff, gym, breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your stay.

We deeply regret any inconvenience caused by the problems you encountered with your room key and we are currently looking into an alternative key card system.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Normally I avoid Hiltons like the plague - this property is the exception. Well located in Sydney's CBD, it is contemporary in a manner fitting a city like Sydney (aka it doesn't try too hard to be something its not). The restaurant is great for breakfast, and the rooms are clean-lines modernist in a way that completely eludes most chain hotels in middle America (latter being stuck in some notion of American suburbia that is best characterized by the country's politics- dated and distasteful). I especially like the bathroom- though small, very bright, cleanlines, separate shower that has a glass wall to the room. The room itself is beginning to look worn- can't quite put my finger on it (the carpet etc). Being a Hilton, each guest has to suffer through cheap advertising on cheap paper being placed everywhere. That said, notwithstanding other choices in Sydney, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrekker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for choosing Hilton Sydney.

We appreciate your valuable feedback pertaining to the guest room and your stay overall.

I am pleased you would choose to stay at Hilton Sydney again in future and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I'm a Sydney born and raised Aussie, but currently living in the USA.
This is the hotel I recommend for all my friends in the USA looking for a great hotel in the Sydney CBD, with easy access to everything. Top notch service, and excellent staff.
Have stayed here several times when coming back to Sydney with friends and family members.
The hotel has never disappointed me. I recommend a "relaxation room", rather than just a standard room if you can afford it. They are really nice and it makes a difference to your overall trip. Also a very nice buffet.
I have an upcoming stay in May and have 3 rooms reserved. Will provide an updated review then, and let everyone know how the rooms are this year. As a Diamond, i really hope to get an upgrade. Feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Room Tip: Go for the "relaxation suite" if you can afford it. Worth the extra money.. We really lik...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thanks so much for your comments.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Relaxation room and we look forward to your return in May. As a Hilton Honors Diamond member we value your loyalty and we certainly endeavour to upgrade you on your next visit.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights on business in March 2012. The room was very comfortable, clean and top quality. Very nice and clean bathroom.
Amazing breakfast buffet with plenty to choose from. Dinner at the restaurant on the 2nd floor was also very nice however slightly expensive. I ordered dessert from the room service menu and unfortunately was very disappointed- was nothing as described and over baked. Despite this I would rate this hotel very high.
Very friendly staff and a pleasure to stay.

Room Tip: Central location
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are so glad you enjoyed your overall stay. I do appreciate your feedback pertaining to the quality of your in room dining experience and have relayed your comments to our Executive Chef accordingly; thank you. Our sincere apologies for this disappointment.

I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again soon at the Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Sydney in Jan 2012 for 4 days and had a really great time. The room assigned to me had a great view of the city and the Sydney Harbor bridge. The room was very neat, bathroom and eminities were more than adequate. It was within walking distance to lot of restaurants and attractions. Had no issues at all with the stay. The staff was very friendly starting with the check-in process to final check-out. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip. Thank you, Hilton Sydney for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Select a high floor for good views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am absolutely delighted you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sydney and we certainly look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,888 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 178 in Sydney
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,237 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $251 - $786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing