We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly, depressing disappointment of a hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ugly, depressing disappointment of a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This place has just been refurbished!? What were they thinking? Room was motel level with ugly lighting, grey depressing furniture, uncomfortable hard cheap bed ( i thought Marriott was proud of their mattress comfort...), poor minibar, bathroom was like a mini morgue. No kidding! Toiletries were fit accordingly.
Room service arrived promptly and was average.
A lazy hotel capitalizing on its location.
Unacceptable!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerchat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    1,286
    383
    144
    77
See reviews for
732
1,242
206
831
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
532 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great location rooms are very comfortable but what makes the difference is the staff

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour view away from lifts non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Circular Quay twice during our trip to Australia. The Marriott Circular Quay was very convenient to downtown Sydney near Circular Quay harbour but we had to take train, bus, or taxi or lengthy walk to Darling Harbour and other areas of city. Because we had luggage, we took a taxi (with 3 people and 6 luggage) to catch cruise at Darling Harbour. However, we walked to our cruise ship docked at Circular Quay from the hotel. The room (2 double beds) was small to average size but adequate for 3 people. The hotel's restaurant was expensive but there are other reasonably priced breakfast cafes nearby. Lunch and dinner in the hotel as well as all of Sydney is expensive.

Room Tip: Hotel prices its rooms based on the views; however, on our second stay we had a view of Sydney Harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Bonnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks dated, front desk staff unreceptive, decent value for money...

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wasimmehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for the second time on business.
Similar to the first experience- the service was lacking; staff at front desk seemed uniterested, resulting in long check -in times.
The room was in good shape- no major issues to report. However surely its time to upgrade the old look n feel of the rooms [ e.g. old curtains, etc]. Housekeeping had forgotten to include room service compendium in there however, and once reported, was corrected quickly and efficiently.
Food was of good quality, however took long to arrive- 32 minutes for a club sandwich!
Overall, the main pros of this hotel was the location.
The main problem with this hotel is the substandard service. Given that I experienced similar levels of service when I first stayed there [ and it has not improved since], I am dissapointed for the money it cost. I will not be recommending this hotel - especially to corporate travellers- as I think there are better value hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great hotel. Very nice and clean. Comfortable. Professional. Awesome location. Restaurant is very pricy, but what hotel restaurant isn't.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oils1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is not a cheap hotel (even by local standards), but in my opinion you do get what you pay for.
The biggest upsides are the staff professionalism and friendlyness, location, and interior (lobby, restaurant, as well as room).
The sound isolation of the rooms is excellent.
Downside is that the 'standard' internet connection which comes with the Marriott membership card or corporate rates is really inadequate, while the 'high speed' internet is very expensive in comparison. This really is a very cheap trick and costs this hotel a full star in my review.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay

Property: Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Address: 30 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 595
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Harbour Marriott at Circular Quay offers a distinctive blend of stylish comfort and modern convenience. Overlooking the sparkling Sydney Harbour and world famous opera house, our downtown hotel can be found at the doorstep of a shopping Mecca and moments away from the historic Rocks district. Guests are invited to indulge in luxurious treatments at our on-site spa or savour finely-crafted cuisine at the renowned Icons brassiere restaurant. Book your memorable trip now at Sydney's premier 5-star waterfront hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sydney Harbour At Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing