We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked in for one night while visiting the Archibald Prize at the Sydney Art Gallery. When booking in we chose a harbour view room. The room was nothing short of wonderful with a large and comfortable bed, a delightful window seat and excellent bathroom. From our bed we looked straight up the harbour over Pinchgut towards the heads. It was divine. Service was excellent at all times and the hotel amenities very good. My only small criticism extends to the buffet breakfast. The offering was uninspiring and redolent of hotel breakfasts from the 1990s. Regardless of that I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,471
    1,273
    391
    136
    99
See reviews for
742
1,877
230
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the InterContinental Sydney on the last day of March 2012 for 1 night to attend a wedding of a friend whom was holding his special day at the hotel.

The service was wonderful and welcoming. All the staff were friendly, from reservations, to the porters, to front desk and to housekeeping who greeted us when we passed by them on our floor.

We were appointed a very comfortable room with a great view of the beautiful botanical gardens.

Their location is fantastic. Everything is within walking distance - Circular Quay is a 2 min short stroll away and Pitt St Mall is another short stroll the other way.

I personally regret not choosing to stay at the Intercontinental for my own pre-wedding day and my wedding night. If I did, perhaps I may have avoided the nightmare that was Shangri-La Sydney and the drama of having my wedding dress brought up 30 minutes late.

We had a lovely stay at the Intercontinental and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzelldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed as Ambassador member for a weekend with our free voucher. Check-in was fabulous, staff very attentive, asked lots of questions i.e. restaurant recommendations for dinner (outside of the hotel, which I thought they would probably recommend Etch etc instead), asked if we wanted the check out for 4pm etc. Porters whisked away our luggage to our room without a second thought. Very impressive. We were also upgraded to a King Deluxe Harbour Bridge room. Very nice room, although not all that big, but I guess its an average hotel size. Bed very comfortable and we really enjoyed the window seat which was lovely to relax and watch the views of Circular Quay from. Bathroom quite small in comparison to other luxury hotels, but it served the purpose. Didn't eat in any of the restaurants unfortunately as we wanted to explore the City instead. Only had cocktails in the Cortille Lounge which was very nicely set up and a very pleasant environment to relax. Overall impressive hotel in great location to the Quay, Opera House, Botanic Gardens and The Rocks area. Staff couldn't do enough for us either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of February 2012. We booked a harbour bridge view room and were not disappointed. The view of the bridge and botanic gardens and beyond was fantastic. The room itself was large with good quality bedding. The bathroom could have done with a little updating. Breakfast was good with excellent service. The hotel is is in good location close to Sydney Opera House, Botanic Gardens, circular quay, restaurants and just a short walk from The Rocks. We took a ferry to Taronga Zoo which was well worth the money and also to Manly where we spent the day. We would have no hesitation in saying here again.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
It was pleasing to read your review, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Location is wonderful for visitors to Sydney and very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return to InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position and handy for the main attractions and just across the road from the Botanical Gardens and handy for The Quay.
The lobby and bar area are well appointed. The rooms are located in a tower built atop the beautiful Old Teasury Building.
Rooms are more than adequate, ours was a basic with a city view.
All staff we came into contact with were extremely efficient and pleasant to deal with.
Breakfast was included in our rate and is very good.
Bar prices are in line with what you would expect of a hotel of this standard.
We stayed 4 nights, check out was 11.00A.M. and as our flight wasn't till late evening they stored our luggage and then provided access to the gym area to freshen up before our flight. Ask at reception.
It is a good option for a Sydney stay and would use it again if the rate fitted our budget,
AuroraUK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuroraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Your review was a pleasure to read thank you, it is always great to know that we have met all expectations.

I am pleased we were able to assist you with your luggage and access to the gym, I agree it does make a difference when waiting on a late flight departure.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here on business for 40 nights consecutively, and I can tell you for sure that compared to its peer hotels (e.g. Marriott), it is inferior. Room service food is wayyy too salty, very limited choices of food (puny selection of Asian food). Expect to wait a long time and plenty of escalations to get your rewards points (despite telling front desk at least twice to credit points into the account). Definitely on my ban-list for future business stays.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriendlyLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your Tripadvisor review as well as contacting IHG Guest Relations.

As advised by IHG Guest Relations as well as by our Guest Services Agent, reward points are not given immediately by the hotel. Points can take up to 5 - 7 days to be awarded after check out. Your departure was 28 March and your points were available to you on 31st March. This is quite an acceptable and normal wait for points from all reward programs.

I am very sorry you found our room service menu to be limited in Asian selections. We do try very hard to cater for all tastes with a variety of cuisine from around the wold as well as Australian. We are more than happy to assist guests with any personal food preferences which are not available on the menu whenever we can.

I do hope overall your stay was enjoyed and thank you again for your contribution.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Sensational view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge from the 17th floor, beautifully comfy bed. Was surprised not to see blackout blinds on the window...not that we required them as we wanted an early start, but imagine it would be very hard for someone wanting some sleep during daylight hours....it is a very bright room. Again though, great for us. Breakfast at Cafe Opera was all you could ask for and more. Delicious. Service exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charkey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

Pleased to read your stay was enjoyed with us. We do have blackout blinds in all rooms, next time you visit just ask one of our team members to assist you with this.

Hopefully you will return to us once again very soon.

Yours sincerely
Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,415 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing