We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Ranked #36 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My partner and I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment at the Medina Executive in Sydney for four nights in February 2012.

We requested in advance a room as high up as possible, and this was met by the friendly team at the Medina, our apartment was on level five (out of six levels total).

I’m not sure if this hotel offers a ‘pay extra for a good view’ type deal as many do. We did not do this, our view was of the pool in the backpackers next door and this was fine. As this hotel is so far from the harbour and not particularly tall I wouldn’t recommend visitors pay extra for a room with a view.

Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Fridge is pre-stocked to tempt you with mini-bar goodies but at the insane prices ($7.50 for a small bag of Jaffa lollies!) we purchased our own food from supermarket nearby.

The most recent issue of Marie Claire on the coffee table was a nice touch.

Other reviewers have commented on the small step between the tiled bathroom and the living area – my partner and I both scraped our bare feet on the tiles during our stay, but it was really not a huge issue.

We requested extra pillows (those in the room were quite hard) and a new iron (as ours leaked) during our stay and both were delivered promptly.

The pool and spa area is gorgeous and was deserted every time we visited. As someone who normally finds outdoor pools too cold except on the most sweltering of days, I was very pleasantly surprised by the temperature of the pool at the Medina. It was lovely and cool, but warm enough to dive right in.

The location of the hotel was very handy for visiting the Powerhouse Museum. My partner and I are good walkers, and managed the walk from the Medina to the Rocks and Darling Harbour quite well. For those who aren’t keen walkers I would suggest a hotel closer to the harbour or utilising public transport.

Incidentally, an all zones ticket will cost about $20 per day and will get you on most ferries, buses, trains and the light rail. A weekly ticket will only set you back $43 so if planning on using public transport for more than two days, invest in a weekly ticket.

I recommend taxi from the airport if there are two or more travellers – taxi fare was less than $30 from Sydney Domestic to the Medina Executive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear MelissaFromOz,

The team at Medina Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the near future.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    586
    153
    54
    35
See reviews for
416
341
97
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
240 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have just spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment at Medina Sydney Central.
As with other properties that I have stayed in with Medina (Medina on Flinders Melbourne and in St Kilda).they offer a great space to relax.
My room on the 5th floor was exceptionally quiet considering the busy intersection outside the hotel.
It had all we needed in the room and although a little tired, was very clean and well presented.
The pool downstairs looked great although we didn't find time to use it.
There are plenty of places just around the corner to buy basic bread, milk and groceries and Chinatown is a 5 minute walk away with more supermarkets and bottle shops and Market City for fresh fruit.
I do have a real issue however with Medina continuing to charge $25 a day for internet use,.
Its about time in Australia we started offering this as a service in all properties.
there is a Gloria Jeans across the road where you can access the net for the price of a cup of coffee.
And Medina is only a 5 minute walk to Central station and a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour so in a great position.
Overall, a great spot whilst staying in Sydney.

whilkst

Room Tip: Room 70 a 2 bedroom apartment was great and Room 35 a 1 bedroom looked excellent as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Dear ushy,

The team at Medina Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
In regards to our daily internet charge, we are unable to supply this as a free service, as this service is provided by an external supplier. Once again thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the near future.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This is a great place to stay in Sydney, very tidy, quiet and the staff show everything you need to enjoy the best Sydney has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear tia F

The team at Medina Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the near future.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen for 5 nights on wotif.com at a reasonable price. There were 3 of us ... 2 adults plus a 3 year old child.

Arriving to check in at 10pm, we were provided with an upgrade to a loft apartment.

We were extremely happy with our apartment. My priorities are cleanliness and safety. The bathroom, kitchen and apartment in general were very clean. No problems with swipe cards to access lift and room. We're pretty tidy when travelling, but the apartment was cleaned regularly, including the bathroom being wiped down daily ... A cleaner even unloaded our dishwasher, even though this wasn't an expectation.

We were very fortunate to have a small balcony that faced north. Being able to sit outside and enjoy the city was great. Despite being noisy whilst sitting on the balcony (not a problem, we're in the middle of the city after all!), the apartment was very quiet when the balcony doors were shut. Also nice to open the balcony doors to let in a breeze to cool the room.

The loft next to us had a similar balcony with access but no view as the fascade of the building ran the length of the balcony, which rendered the balcony useless if you wanted to sit outside. Still able to open doors for a cooling breeze. Consider this when making a loft booking.

I made use of the washing machine ... It was clean and seemed in excellent condition. I also used the dishwasher, and was clean and working.

I didn't make use of the oven or stove.

We used the airconditioning quite a bit to cool the loft. Both the vents upstairs and downstairs worked effectively. It's a large space to cool, but keeping the blinds and curtains shut helped and we were most comfortable.

Some of the scrim curtaining was ripped, obviously by the handle of the balcony door. A little care by previous patrons would have prevented this. We pulled and tied back the curtains and had no problems. I wasn't fussed by the torn curtaining. Can't expect it to be replaced everytime a patron is careless and damages them. Of course, I would expect them to be replaced when they get pass the point of return.

Stairs in our loft were a little steep, but my three year old (who has poor vision) made use of the ballustrading well, and was confidently using the stairs.

I agree with zzNov314 ... "Best advice, go all the way here and get a room not at the lower end and you'll see the best it has to offer which is, actually rather good". Being an old building that has been converted within the constraints of the original wall structures means that some of the rooms may be pokey.

Overall, we had an excellent trip. Full kitchen was an asset when travelling as a family. Position to Central Station was great, especially considering we travelled on the XPT and Indian Pacific, and also made use of the light tram and local train services whilst in Sydney. Lots of places to eat at from cheap and cheerful to restaurants. It was nice to stay in an 100 year old building with a bit of character than a skyscraper type building.

We were fortunate and appreciative of the room upgrade. Will stay here again with the family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that open, allows you to make use of the breeze in Summer. If you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovepythagoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear ilovepythagoras,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Having stayed here several times over the years, I've seen the best, and worst it has to offer.

The lofts are charming, modern and elegant. Views are engaging, and the location is great, though, there are heaps of other places to stay around here, budget places that, frankly, aren't all that bad, for half the price.

The worst rooms really are Insultingly poor by comparison.

The shoebox I had on my last stay was, frankly, worse than the most budget of accommodation I've experienced in Haymarket. Small and characterless, no luggage space or racks, a bathroom that is dim and built to a DIY standard... Pay through the nose Internet, and not a spare pillow to be found anywhere. Top it off with and a constant tapping and vibration of the aircon on the wardrobe 'fixtures' so loud it actually woke me several times. Oh, and a dodgy alarm clock that went off at midnight for no apparent reason...

Top night.

Even the budget places down the road are better than this room, or at least, one can accept that they come with the price tag...

On the positive side... Transport is very easy to come by here, and it's
got 24hour food places nearby too.

Best advice, go all the way here and get a room not at the lower end and you'll see the best it has to offer which is, actually rather good.





  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Undisclosed_Location
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear zzNZ314,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your stay at the Medina Executive Sydney Central.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
I would like to apologise for not being able to meet your expectations with our rooms and services at the hotel. In regards to luggage racks, we do have these available at the hotel upon request as all our rooms have double size wardrobes.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Medina Executive Sydney Central in the near future.


Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Medina Executive is a centrally located apartment hotel which is very well equipped & fabulously maintained. We stayed in a top floor apartment for a period of two weeks and have only one complaint. Make sure you set the airconditioner to a temperature that is not going turn the upstairs bedroom into an ice box! We quickly learned that the aircon system was located in the ceiling of the top floor to the apartment and as such it took a little time for the cooler air to make its way to the lower level. Apart from this, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is close to China town, Capitol theatre and Central Station, the bus stops directly across the road and there is a supermarket only a few blocks away. Everything is easily accessible and all within a 10 minute walk.

The facilities are all well maintained and housekeeping check the apartment daily and maintain a high level of cleanliness. The bed is super comfortable which assisted in a few well earned sleep ins!

Room Tip: Choose a loft on the top floor - a corner suite overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Aphrodite076,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed at the Medina Executive a number of times over the last 5-6 years. It is close to transport and relatively close to shopping at Pitt St mall. The prices are quite competitive and therefore worth every penny. The rooms are reasonably sized, they have a kitchen, lounge room and decent lighting. Although it may now be a little out-dated (I haven't been for the last few months), it's a very cosy little hotel. Would recommend for a group of friends or a couple.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear msbaybee,

The team at Medina Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the near future.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Address: 2 Lee St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing