We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Chittaway Bay NSW
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had an excellent stay, shame it was for only 1 night. Our room was quite large and had views towards the city, Like to have same or similar room for our next visit.

The only down side was that there was no variety in the coffee pods.

Regards
Barry & Denise

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NisieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    2,284
    867
    190
    117
See reviews for
1,297
1,513
549
999
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had a 10 nights stay at Sydney last year during July'11. Top notch location; near CBD, train station, chinatown, walking distance to Darling Harbour and many other attractions.
Excellent Service; staffs were extremely well coming and service oriented. I was able to check in at 0800 even though check in timing was supposed to be 1400. Hotel concierge also helped tremendously in advising on fantastic restaurants, attractions and local hangouts.
Great furnishing; standard of furnishings were well maintained, do request for higher floors.
Decent charges; paid a total of $1.5k for 10 days in Mercure.

The main thing about Mercure is definitely their location and service from the front desk to concierge to room service.

Will definitely be lodging at Mercure on my next Sydney visit. Travelled as a couple.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeochinwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here last December. After a terrible experience with an airline, the manager was amazing. He kept in touch while we were en route at Perth Airport even rang me when we landed at Sydney. On our arrival he had already checked us in through 'priority' so we were able to go straight to our room. When we got to the room we were amazed to have been up-graded to a 'Privilege' room. The facilities were great, chocolates on the pillow, dressing gowns and slippers wrapped in satin ribbons and a cappuccino maker! I was in heaven! The pool was fantastic with spectacular views over Sydney, we also used the gym and sauna, perfect! We didn't eat at the hotel as there are so many places close by to chose from. The consierge were most helpful, they could have been tour guides with tips of where to visit and in what order etc. I would highly recommend staying here and will, without a doubt, stay there if I am ever fortunate enough to visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: High floor room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanabbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear guest from Abergavenny,

Thanks for your review. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed by the level of service provided by our team. It is always fantastic to hear positive guest feedback regarding our staff, and we certainly recognise this within the hotel.

I am delighted that we were able to make your stay at Mercure Sydney enjoyable, particularly after facing a bad experience with airline, and I really appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Sydney soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is located in China town close to the universities and right beside central station which makes travel by public transit very easy within the city and to suburbs of Sydney.
The food in the area was excellent with many different ethnic restaurants to chose from. The hotel front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The concierge service was hit or miss depening who was on staff.
The rooms, lobby and restaurant were clean and had everything you would expect. The internet fees were $5/half hour or $10/hour. They also have a 24 hour option.
The tv bill viewing option was not always correct, but when questioned at the front desk corrections were made as needed....so check your bill when you check out. We were there for 9 nights so when the charges add up you need to be diligent when reviewing your bill.
We had some issue with the TV not working properly, this was promptly attended to. We also had to request our luggage to brought to our room after we were told it would be waiting for us. Minor things overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear guest from Hamilton

Thanks for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location convenient. While I am disappointed that you had an issue with your TV, TV bill and luggage, I am very pleased that our excellent staff were able to quickly resolve the problem.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
1,299 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#100 of 179 in Sydney
4,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,803 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
5,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing