We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What renos?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What renos?”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Apparently a bit of money has been spent upgrading this place over the years. It is hard to say this shows in the rooms and decor.

Had the misfortune to stay on level one, with small window and 'view' of dark and fairly industrial looking space. The room itself was extremely small and furniture recycled and does nit fit current alignment. Eg tv cabinet half across bathroom door and disturbingly open back to fridge and wiring which is a safety risk with proximity to wet area. Other annoyances were standing height desk built in underneath and midget size chair to fit. Completely useless for the business traveller.

The breakfast was standard fair, not particularly well done. Large bottle of water in room (complimentary at others of this rating) was eight bucks.

Staff were generally good although more often than not you felt like you were interupting a conversation to their annoyance.

Gym and pool are small but nicely finished given the space.

Great location to business district and Harbour.

Room Tip: Lower levels are dark and dreary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mlear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Mlear 11,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney.

I note your comments regarding the appearance of the rooms and the décor. The Hotel’s lobby and restaurant underwent a refurbishment in 2010, however we do have a program in place that ensures that our highly used rooms are in perfect condition.

I was also concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction regarding your room allocation. As the Hotel is a heritage listed building, the size and layout of rooms varies. I have however asked the Front Office Manager to ensure his staff are re-confirming room preferences upon arrival with our guests. In relation to our desks and chairs, the chairs are adjustable so that it can suit all our guests.

Further to this I was disappointed to learn that some of our staff members were not attentive and welcoming. Be assured I have discussed your comments with the Front Office Manager and have asked that he reiterate to his team the importance of displaying a friendly and helpful 'Yes I Can' attitude at all times. As comments regarding our staff are highly regarded, this area will continue to be monitored closely to make certain this is not an issue going forward. I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

On behalf of the team I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,151
    1,090
    254
    69
    53
See reviews for
706
1,872
294
1,201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for 4 nights after getting a special offer through Wotif that reduced the rate to $260 per night. Fantastic.
The location really is excellent and is close to the train to the airport, Circular Quay, shopping precincts, Exhibition centre and Darling harbour etc.
The room was functional and comfortable and really not worthy of special mention.
The bathroom was on the other hand one of the best I've seen. The layout, attention to detail and use of space was excellent.
Definitely a place to consider when staying in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Sadly we only got the opportunity to stay for one night. Have been lucky enough to stay in some lovely hotels around the world over the years, and this has to be one of the best. We got an amazing deal through Booking.com. Our room was beautifully furnished and equiped. Hotel was quiet at night. We took advantage of the dinner special at Bistro fax. $35 for two courses and a glass of wine. Awesome value, superb food, and a lovely setting and atmosphere. What more do you want? Every aspect of the evening was perfect. After a wonderful nights sleep in an extremely comfortable bed we went for breakfast. Wow!!! Great selection and wonderful quality. The location of the hotel is great too being very close to Circular Quay. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: One guest told us at breakfast that she was on a lower level and she found the buses a bit noisy. Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for a weekend because my partner stays here for work as it is right across the road from her office. She has been staying there just about every week since the beginning of the year so you'd think they would have given us a nice room when we checked in but instead we got a room with a big wall and a tiny window.
In fact just about every time she goes down she get put in a below average room and has to go back down and ask them to change. Very annoying and shows no appreciation for loyal customers.
Poor customer service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Konigv,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel in January.

I was disappointed to learn that although your partner is a regular guest of the Hotel, you were not looked after during your stay and that she has not been allocated nice rooms in the past. It is unacceptable that she has not been recognised as a regular guest and I have asked the Front Office Manager to carry out further training with his team regarding the importance of guest recognition and confirming room preferences upon arrival to ensure this is not an issue going forward. I sincerely apologise for the disappointment this has been causing and I would be pleased to offer you and your partner an upgrade for a future stay. Please contact our reservations team on res.sydplaza@radisson.com in order to arrange this.

I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the Hotel when you next travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

to this lovely hotel.
We spent a couple of nights for a girls weekend staying in a premier room which had a couple of very, very comfortable double beds. No view to speak of but that wasn't an issue for us as we only visited the room to sleep and a very nice sleep was had.
Shower water pressure was amazing and the linen and towels were great.
Service couldn't be faulted and a couple of night caps were enjoyed in the fantastic lounge area whilst listening to a very talented Joe Cocker type entertainer at the baby grand piano. Royland was our waiter here and his great service added to our enjoyment.
We will have no trouble deciding on accommodation for our next Sydney trip.
Loved the Radisson.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night, and even though we made a very late booking ( via their own website BTW) we got a great room and breakfast deal. The hotel was very quiet and the room we had was quite large, with high ceilings.

The room was tastefully furnished, and clean. We were however impressed with the service, especially at check-in and check-out. It was fast, friendly and very efficient.

The location is ideal for anywhere in the Sydney CBD. we walked to the Rocks and back from our hotel, and it would be an ideal walk further up towards the mall, AMP centre etc.

I travel a lot for my job, and even though this booking was for lesiure the hotel rated very highly in my view. A boutique style hotel is often better , and with the Radisson Blu this was certainly the case.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel in February this year. The hotel itself was very good and in a good position for sightseeing, its a short stroll to Circular Quay. Our room was very nice and had all the facilities you would expect. Our visit to Sydney was part of a trip to celebrate my wifes birthday this year and the hotel had very kindly left a bottle of bubbly in our room for us when we arrived. The staff at the hotel desrve a special mention, very friendly and will do all they can to assist you. This is an excellent base for your stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: I would suggest trying to get a room with a juliet balcony, we didnt and had no view of the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,345 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing