We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome.......”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The RAdisson Blu Sydeny, in an excellent downtotwn location, just accross the road from Wynayrd rail station which serves Sydney Airport. Hany for Circular Quay and all the sights of Sydney, you literally walk out of the hotel turning right and you have a fabulous view of the Harbour Bridge. The rooms are typically Radisson stylish, and comfortable. Good large bathrooms with a great stream of hot water for the walk in shower. I found the dining area for breakfast a bit smaller than I had imagined it would be, but hey it is only a short time you spend there. Staff were friendly but not intrusive, helpful but not gushing. Excursions and taxis were arranged with ease, and complimentary drinks were provided when the friends we were travelling with were given a fresh room having been allocated one not of the standard they had booked. Good sauna, jacuzzi and steam in the Spa, massage expensive and the pool whilst not good for laps was great place in which to relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunelm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,191
    1,102
    254
    69
    53
See reviews for
715
1,891
296
1,220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with a sis on holiday to explore Sydney. I absolutely loved the location considering it was walking distance to all the iconic sites in Sydney. The room had everything available including an umbrella, which came in handy when it poured the last night we stayed. The staffs were really friendly and their service was excellent. Also, the room had wifi available which was awesome. The only thing I felt misinformed about was the cost to make local calls. I was informed that i was about a dollar to make local calls but when we checked out, I got hit w a very heavy phone bill and the receptionist informed me that it was a dollar for a local NON-MOBILE phone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crushvelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having stayed at many 5 star hotels throughout Asia and Australia, this hotel was disappointing.

Beside the location, my wife and I couldn't believe that there was no complimentary water in the room, the decor was tired and shabby (first floor) and our "window" looked out into a central dirty atrium area with very little natural light. Even with midday sun. The room was very dark. In addition the food was bland and mediocre and there was even a five dollar charge for room service delivery.

If you want a decent five star hotel in Sydney we would recommend the Intercontinental where we previously stayed.

The staff were very helpful, but overal not impressed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dm0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Dm0911,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel.

I was disappointed to learn you were not happy with your room allocation during your stay at the Hotel. Our reception staff should be confirming room preferences on arrival, and I have asked the Front Office Manager to carry out further training with her team to ensure this is not an issue going forward.

Further to this I was concerned to learn of dissatisfaction with the food being bland, bottled water not being complimentary and the tray charge applied to In Room Dining orders. I have passed on your comments to the Executive Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager for their review. I apologise for the disappointment these matters caused, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked a secret hotel deal and was not overly thrilled to find out that the hotel was Radisson Blu Plaza, having stayed there before and finding the room to be incredibly pokey for the rate I paid. However, I was pleasantly surprised this time around.

Our room on level 9 was spacious with king bed and a large bathroom with separate bath and shower.

Room service is expensive but the service is prompt and they were able to cater for my special dietary needs.

Location is right in the heart of the CBD and walking distance to Pitt Street Shopping mall & Circular Quay.

I wouldn’t pay rack rates for this hotel but would recommend staying here if you are able to secure a discounted rate.

Overall, this hotel met my expectations of a 5 star CBD hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whareroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a tale of 'two' hotels, the common parts, reception , restaurant and bar, executive lounge and such like have been through refurbishment and are very nice (apart from a musty smell around the entrance), however our room was in serious need of a freshen up (10th floor), being dull, over lived in and generally only suitable for one night max (we stayed three).

A couple of aspects that need further comment are:

1. We arrived at the same time as a group of around 40 Germans, most of whom did not appear to have stayed in a hotel before, and instead of moving these guys to a separate area to avoid a complete obstruction of check-in pandemonium reigned supreme for a period of time.

2. There are two pianists in residence on Friday & Saturday - I am not expert but either they or the piano needs tuning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWhiteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear IanWhiteUK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding you recent stay at the hotel.

I was concerned to learn with your dissatisfaction with the condition of your room. We do have a program in place to improve our highly used rooms, and I have ensured that this room has been added to the list.

Further to this I note your comments about the group who arrived at the same time as you. Our Duty Manager should have taken the group to a separate lounge and we apologise the disruption this caused to your arrival.

I also note your comments about the piano needing tuning and this has been arranged by our Food and Beverage Manager as a matter of urgency. I apologise for the disappointment these matters caused you, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel next time you travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,

Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Situated in a quiet street just 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay this hotel is great for both tourists and business folks.

The staff at the hotel were excellent - Albert the barman deserves a special mention!

The room was spacious and modern. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower - the latter being particularly good.

Breakfast is a little expensive but if you like a full cooked breakfast the freshly sliced baked ham was delicious. The rest of the fare was typical hotel buffet breakfast but with a good choice of fruit juices. There is a great cafe just across the street if you want a more cost effective light breakfast however as the hotel is in the business district, it is only open weekdays. There are many other cafes around Circular Quay which is a short walk of the hotel.

The bar food is the best option if you need to eat at the hotel. It's the same menu as the Bistro but cheaper... plus the service in the bar is second to none. The staff cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here last January overnight and had a beautiful spacious room with big windows and a city outlook.
This trip staying 5 nights and the room is very ordinary small window and quite claustraphobic. I'm disappointed.
It's clean and the bed is comfortable but I had higher expectations based on my last stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radiss0nBluH0tel, General Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Willstars,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel.

I was concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction with your room allocation on your recent stay. With regards to our rooms, the Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney is a Heritage Listed Building and the floor plans vary throughout the entire hotel. I do apologise for this room not being to your liking for future stays we can arrange for a larger room to be allocated upon arrival. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel when you next travel to Sydney.

Sincerely,
Peter Tudehope
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,806 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney

Property: Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 O'Connell St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sydney
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#6 Business Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney is an intimate, boutique style, five-star hotel housed within a stunning heritage-listed building and located in the heart of Sydney. The hotel features 364 stylish guest rooms, eight meeting rooms including two with natural light, The Fax Bar, a Health Club and complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sydney
Sydney Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing