We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,696)
Filter reviews
3,696 results
Traveller rating
2,464
886
222
72
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,464
886
222
72
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensopera housecircular quayjuliet balconymacquarie streetgreat locationhigh teamarble bathroomcharming hotelsmall balconyrooms are largeconcierge stafflovely roomfew minutes walktrain stationan easy walkbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,223 - 3,228 of 3,696 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sir Stamford a couple of months ago when we had a concert at the Opera House (just a few minutes walk away).

A grand old hotel - beautiful room, great location, delicious food in both the restaurant and in the buffet breakfast area.

The staff were professional and went out of their way to be helpful.

Would definitely stay here again - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussieNSWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

We are very pleased you loved our grand old hotel - beautiful rooms, great location and delicious food, plus professional helpful staff!

Sir Stamford at Circular Quay will have operated as a hotel for 22 years this August. The hotel first opened as a Ritz Carlton in 1990 integrating the 1897 Health Department historic 4 storey building which gives the hotel so much character.

Thank you for continuing to recommend our hotel - word of mouth is the very best we could wish for. There are 2 fabulous operas in the Sydney season ahead - the magnificent Aida - opening 13th July and then my personal favourite Lucia di Lammermoor opening on 28 September

Kind regards
Heather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This Hotel was located within walking distance of the opera house, circular quay and the rocks, making it an amazing location. However the property seemed to be in need of refurnishing with the furniture looking worn. The hotel is advertised as 5* however the feel is that of a 4* at best. There was no ceiling lighting in main part of our room and you had to individually turn on/off the 3 lamps in our room. Furthermore the double bed was made up of 2 single beds made up together. The service was average, when I checked in at 11pm the staff seemed uninterested. However given all the other hotels in the surrounding area rated as 5* they were at least >$140 AUD a night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisuretraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. Our location is truly one of the best in the city - and our style is definitely different from most other hotels in the city whether they are 4 star or 6 star. Ratings given by travellers is so much more accurate and timely. Engaged staff 100% of the time is our goal and we put a lot of effort into really making that one of our key differentials - so we are always disappointed to here our team didn't impress. We'll keep trying harder.

Have a great time in Australia.
Kind regards
Heather idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I took my elderly mother on holiday to Sydney - her first visit, and I wanted to choose a comfortable but lovely hotel that was intimate but had great service. I have stayed in Stamford hotels in Singapore and Adelaide and going by previous experiences, I hoped there would be one in Sydney. The staff were wonderful and looked after our every need. The breakfast spread had lots of variety and the room it was served in was delightful with lovely decor and beautiful green views. The only down point I had was the tricky shower arrangement which my mother wouldn't have been able to manage, so I recommended her have a bath instead (and the bath was lovely). I visit Sydney every so often on business and will be staying here next time I visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yrinsyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dera Valued Guests

We are very pleased to hear from business guests as although our reviews are dominated by our leisure travellers, almost half of our guests are international and interstate business travellers However it was even nicer to hear that you returned with your Mother for a Sydney treat. Taking the time to share with family is so special and indeed choosing a hotel that will provide an experience rather than a bed is even nicer. The Dining Room has such a gracious feel and watching the fashionable walk by on the lovely wide Macquarie boulevard with the autumn leaves drifting down is priceless..

La Traviata - the Harbour Opera is absolutely proving a huge drawcard and the hotel is filling very fast with those who are attending this world class event before it closes on 15th April.

Sorry to hear the plumbing was a little tricky - our fittings are the original American ones from the hotels Ritz Carlton past and can be confusing - but we do agree our baths are beautiful.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great old-style hotel in circular quay. Takes less than 5 minutes to walk to shops as well as the Sydney Opera House. Beautiful room with a huge bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanderson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your review, our 1897 building is certainly very beautiful and the legacy of the Ritz Carlton who procured all the hotels fitting and furnishings is still very evident today. We are very fortunate to work in such an historic environment as our location in Macquarie is one of the oldest streets in Australia.Many of the colonies earliest wealthy built their homes along the street and many of Australia's most famous have or do still live in Macquarie Street today. From the Mint and Barracks to the Opera House there is much to admire.

Thank you again
Heather idoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love this hotel! The location and the decor are fabulous. The highlight for me is definitley the staff. We were travelling with our 2 young boys and the staff were always polite, attentive and friendly. We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning, and once again the staff, food and service were commendable. We had a room with 2 double beds and it was a good size for our needs. This is the only place I will stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbc707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guests

You are in good company as we have many regular interstate guests who also love Sir Stamford at Circular Quay. Children are our future guests and we do like to make their stay memorable - they also like to the grandeur of our hotel and many a small face is riveted by the chandeliers and some of the porcelan in cabinets. The original art work in the hotel is very "child friendly" as this was a directive of the founders.

Our new staff member "Morris" gets lots of cuddles and ocassionally disappears to a room under the arm of a houseguest. (See our Facebook page for photos of Morris)

The twin bedded rooms (with 2 double beds) are perfect for travelling families and the rooms being slightly larger do make it more comfortable. Some families prefer a rollaway - and of course we do have the very comfortable rollawys that have a good mattresses.

Thank you so much for your postive comments about our friendly staff - we do appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

Looking forward to your return
Hather Idoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews