We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star and then some....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney/Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Five star and then some....”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

As a five star Orient Express hotel, one expects the Observatory Hotel to be superlative and luxurious - which it is. Fluffy towels, Peter Morrisey toiletries, fabulous linen, comfy beds, heated towel rails - it's all there and then some.
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable.
But it was the little extras that delighted and made this a special occasion.
Yes, there was the high tech iPod dock/digital alarm clock - but there was also the little analogue, battery operated alarm clock by the bed for those who get nervous if they have an early morning wake up. A plate of fruit in the room for snacking on.
Night time turn down service includes fresh towels, toiletries and bottled water left by the bed. The paintings on the walls are not prints but lovely original sketches and watercolors.
The staff are more than efficient but welcoming, friendly and accommodating - no request is too much trouble.
The library, bar and drawing rooms in the public areas give the hotel a 'clubby' atmosphere rather than the cold corporate feel of so many larger hotels.
A wonderful experience - but don't stay there if you are expecting a harbor view - the water view is of Darling Harbor - lovely, but obscured in the morning for us by a large cruise liner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    259
    95
    33
    40
See reviews for
249
864
85
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladesville, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,786 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Has a fine reputation in Sydney for its old world boutique touch, fine dining at the Galileo Restaurant & constant hotel awards. Located in a quiet corner of The Rocks, away from Sydney’s party night life, part of the older Sydney town it is definitely great for introverts & couples.

The hallways & public areas looked very grand, tasteful designs & beautiful flower arrangements. Our Superior Water view room had a view from Barangaroo in Darling Harbour, which is basically the docks area for large cruise liners, not the most inspiring view but from our balcony we could see planes queuing in the sky preparing to land one after another which was cool to watch.

Our room wasn’t quite boutique-style but furnished using old style pattern & colours, it sometimes felt like an old person’s home. The soft lighting matched the cream & white tones of the carpet & curtains, but the floral patterns need to go. Bathroom with dual marble sinks, rain shower head, deep bath & Peter Morrissey designer bath products. Comfortable Queen mattress with fine Sheridan bed sheets. Staying here for a special occasion, management very kindly provided a chilled bottle of champagne to help celebrate our night.

Staff were extremely professional. Very courteous to us at all hours. Located 10 min walk from The Rocks, 20 min from Circular Quay. In hindsight, don’t stay in the cheaper rooms under $400), stay at your grandmas, pay the extra for a boutique room & spoil your girl for a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope you will have another occasion to celebrate at The Observatory Hotel; and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful week in Sydney, made all the better by our lovely stay at the Observatory
Hotel. The service was fantastic all the way through, and our room was so nice and clean.
We were looking out on Darling Harbour, and 3 mornings we awoke to an amazing Cruise
Ship berthed outside our window. We were only 10 minute walk from The Rocks and Circular
Quay. The staff went out of the way to help us, and even booked us a Restaraunt for Dinner
that we had chosen. The Lap pool and spa were fantastic, at the end of a busy day site-seeing.
Thanks alot for having us

Room Tip: Looking towards Darling Harbour is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

I am delighted you had an opportunity to experience the hotel facilities.

We hope to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in two weeks , each time booking a deluxe king room. On the first visit we were very impressed--the room smelt of cinnamon , quite lovely. As the friends who had recommended the hotel to us were staying there too , we met up and went out to dinner--they stay there regularly. We told them how impressed we were--you could not fault it.
The second visit was a totally different experience. The room looked tired and it smelt of stale tobacco smoke--as we had an appointment we quickly checked in and went out to met friends. When we came back the smell in the room was so intense I went to reception and complained. A young man came to the room , agreed it smelt unpleasant and offered us another room. As it was late we declined. They really should not let no smoking rooms that reek of smoke. It also needed a new mattress. Not our best night in a luxury hotel!
I would stay there again , but not in the same room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback. I am disappointed to hear of the challenges you experienced during your recent stay, and I hope you will accept my sincere apology.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel, and we will ensure you are allocated a non smoking guestroom.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Visiting Sydney for a conference at the Convention Centre I had the choice between a Darling Harbour hotel and the Observatory. No battle. I love this hotel. 25 minute walk and I was there.
The room was spacious, extremely comfortable, quiet and restful. Everything worked. I was very happy. It's nice to go for a walk and be greeted with "welcome back" when you return. I will be back. Again

Room Tip: The city view rooms are fine. I was in room 217 this time - a corner room with a view of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coorong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback. It is always a delight to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel, and hope you will consider us as “your home, away from home”.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Observatory hotel before leaving Australia and enjoyed it very much though found its location a little disappointing, especially after having stayed at the Harbour Rocks hotel at the beginnig of our trip: the added ten minute walk uphill from Circular Quay was a drag after a day of exploring the city. We did enjoy the pool & jacuzzi very much as well as the extremely comfortable king size bed and wonderful shower.
Probably the best sleep we had while in Sydney. All in all, it's a lovely luxury hotel in an older european classic styling. Excellent service by the concierge.

Room Tip: rooms at the back face the sea though I don't think you'd get a view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback. It is always a delight to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

Should you have an opportunity to visit Sydney again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We really enjoyed the large rooms and sumptuous bathrooms. The positioning is good, and with a quick taxi ride, you can be exactly where you want to be. The staff were very helpful, which was brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for your review of your experience at The Observatory Hotel. It is always a delight to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,185 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing