We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classy hotel with great staff”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is a little off the beaten track (well, as off the beaten track you can get in central Sydney) but it means you are in what feels like a quiet, local neighbourhood. There's a couple of small restaurants & cafes at the end of the street that are more populated with locals than tourists. However you are only a 15 minute walk from Circular Quay through the Rocks.
The hotel itself is well decorated without being flash. The rooms are huge with a bathroom the size of some hotel bedrooms. A door shut off the bathroom and wardrobe area from the bedroom which meant we got no noise from the corridor even when we had a room close to the elevators. Beds were very comfortable.
We arrived, after a transpacific flight, mid-morning and while we couldn't get into our room had access to the beautiful pool area & spa so could relax down there, swim, shower and change clothes. The shower area isn't huge but the pool area is wonderfully soothing with it's star-studded ceiling.
There was only one computer in the business center, internet was an additional charge and there was no wi-fi in the lobby but that unfortunately seems to be an Australian standard.
Michael the head concierge was a fount of knowledge and more than helpful when we had an issue to deal with. Having left our problem with him we were confident it would be resolved while we got on with our vacation and it was.
The whole place is just solidly classy.

Room Tip: I'm sure the view over Darling Harbor is better but even if you have a room overlooking the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKSarahAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

Michael is indeed a fount of knowledge, he has been working at the hotel from opening and we feel privileged to have him as part of our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    263
    95
    34
    40
See reviews for
263
902
86
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentfield, CA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a superb stay at this lovely hotel. The staff was very helpful especially the concierge group. The accommodations were divine. Thoughtful gestures like custom cookies for the kids with their names were very welcoming for all of us (though they were prettier than they were tasty). We were given gentle warnings on dining places folks had steered us towards and the concierge staff were 100% accurate.

Room Tip: We had a lovely corner suite on the first floor (up one level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeGoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

Your feedback relating to the cookies has been shared with Chef for he review and option for improvement.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the service you should get everywhere you go. Many 5 stars should go there and get some lessons.

Rooms are nice although I'm not a big fan of this classical style. Bed was very comfy and the room was quiet. You're 5-10 min away from the Rocks.

The service was great. Everybody was really friendly and helpful, I don't remember getting such a service in the past years, especially for that price.

They also let us take a shower in the spa before taking our flight although we gave the room back a few hours earlier.

If I had to say anything it would be regarding Internet. I know most of 5 stars hotels only provide pay per use internet but why a 3 stars hotels provides free internet and not a 5 stars?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

When only the best will do, stay at the Observatory. We had the pleasure of staying here the night before our cruise and the night when we returned from our cruise to Fiji.

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we were well looked after by the staff. With the Observatory Hotel you won't get views of the harbour bridge or opera house but you will get is pure luxury - fluffy towels, bathrobes, quality toiletries, comfy beds, heated towel rails - it's all there and more. The quality of the hotel is echoed in the decor, the paintings on the walls in bedroom, bathroom, etc.
.
We were upgraded to a waterfront room (Darling Harbour) which was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was huge. We opend the curtains on the morning to find our cuise ship "parked" outside our window (how's that for sevice!!)

ALL the staff are efficient, friendly and accommodating - when we went for a walk we were even offered bottled water to take with us.

If you like the corporate feel of the larger hotels the Observatory is not for you. If however you prefer good "old fashioned" service, quality in everything else then the Observatory is for you.

Over the years I have stayed in a number of hotels in Sydney, but I can honestly say that from now on I will be staying at the Observatory, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

PS Forgot to mention the spa, swimming pool and steam room.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are away from street. The two different waterfront rooms we have stayed in were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney/Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

As a five star Orient Express hotel, one expects the Observatory Hotel to be superlative and luxurious - which it is. Fluffy towels, Peter Morrisey toiletries, fabulous linen, comfy beds, heated towel rails - it's all there and then some.
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable.
But it was the little extras that delighted and made this a special occasion.
Yes, there was the high tech iPod dock/digital alarm clock - but there was also the little analogue, battery operated alarm clock by the bed for those who get nervous if they have an early morning wake up. A plate of fruit in the room for snacking on.
Night time turn down service includes fresh towels, toiletries and bottled water left by the bed. The paintings on the walls are not prints but lovely original sketches and watercolors.
The staff are more than efficient but welcoming, friendly and accommodating - no request is too much trouble.
The library, bar and drawing rooms in the public areas give the hotel a 'clubby' atmosphere rather than the cold corporate feel of so many larger hotels.
A wonderful experience - but don't stay there if you are expecting a harbor view - the water view is of Darling Harbor - lovely, but obscured in the morning for us by a large cruise liner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladesville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,798 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Has a fine reputation in Sydney for its old world boutique touch, fine dining at the Galileo Restaurant & constant hotel awards. Located in a quiet corner of The Rocks, away from Sydney’s party night life, part of the older Sydney town it is definitely great for introverts & couples.

The hallways & public areas looked very grand, tasteful designs & beautiful flower arrangements. Our Superior Water view room had a view from Barangaroo in Darling Harbour, which is basically the docks area for large cruise liners, not the most inspiring view but from our balcony we could see planes queuing in the sky preparing to land one after another which was cool to watch.

Our room wasn’t quite boutique-style but furnished using old style pattern & colours, it sometimes felt like an old person’s home. The soft lighting matched the cream & white tones of the carpet & curtains, but the floral patterns need to go. Bathroom with dual marble sinks, rain shower head, deep bath & Peter Morrissey designer bath products. Comfortable Queen mattress with fine Sheridan bed sheets. Staying here for a special occasion, management very kindly provided a chilled bottle of champagne to help celebrate our night.

Staff were extremely professional. Very courteous to us at all hours. Located 10 min walk from The Rocks, 20 min from Circular Quay. In hindsight, don’t stay in the cheaper rooms under $400), stay at your grandmas, pay the extra for a boutique room & spoil your girl for a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review relating to your recent stay at The Observatory Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed you experience; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedback with our team.

We hope you will have another occasion to celebrate at The Observatory Hotel; and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a wonderful week in Sydney, made all the better by our lovely stay at the Observatory
Hotel. The service was fantastic all the way through, and our room was so nice and clean.
We were looking out on Darling Harbour, and 3 mornings we awoke to an amazing Cruise
Ship berthed outside our window. We were only 10 minute walk from The Rocks and Circular
Quay. The staff went out of the way to help us, and even booked us a Restaraunt for Dinner
that we had chosen. The Lap pool and spa were fantastic, at the end of a busy day site-seeing.
Thanks alot for having us

Room Tip: Looking towards Darling Harbour is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

I am delighted you had an opportunity to experience the hotel facilities.

We hope to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,453 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing