We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #49 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent location, right in the Rocks area of Sydney and within close walking distance to the bridge, the Opera house, circular quay. A charming hotel made up of old Sydney houses and converted into a very good hotel. The staff were excellent, very helpful with everything we asked them. If you like seafood try the excellent Fish at the Rocks restaurant which is just around the corner from this hotel. We had a small patio outside our room with an incredible view of Sydney harbour bridge and also a small kitchen area in the room so it more like staying in a studio apartment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Bellicious,
Thank you for your kind words about our team and the hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Sydney with us.
Kind Regards
Ravi Satyavolu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    819
    268
    92
    53
See reviews for
380
1,046
83
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you want to stay right in The Rocks - our room looked right out on the back of Suzanne's Place - this is a good spot. Not as pricey as some places without sacrificing ensuite facilities. The full kitchen was helpful, too. The room was very clean and of a generous size. A guest laundry was a plus. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge,New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a harbour view studio through AIirNZ,and when I booked I asked for twin beds.On arrival it was a queen bed and a sofa bed-not ideal and not what we wanted.Very helpful staff arranged for a rollaway bed to be placed in our room,explaining that the hotel had very few twin bed rooms and if I had booked on the hotel website this would have been explained.When i booked through AirNz it was obvious that AirNZ had a hold on the available rooms as the hotel website showed them as booked.One month later those same rooms were available,but I was already booked and paid through AirNZ.It's a good basic hotel,though the bed making was not brilliant and there was no mattress cover under the sheet on the rollaway bed.However it's got a great location,great views,and very helpful,polite desk staff-the hotel's best asset.I suspect that the hotel is due for a makeover soon.

Room Tip: Harbour view please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear SueC
Thank you for your feedback all comments help us to improve our overall service standards and
we love hearing that our desk staff are a great asset for the hotel as well as our location.
Kind regards
Ravi Satyavolu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at Rendezvous prior to a cruise. It was a great location for cruise passengers as it was located within walking distance of the cruise terminal. Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The hotel was comfortable and had great views of the city including the Opera House but a little expensive. The downfall was that the toilet seat was broken and not fixed when we brought it to the hotels attention. The room was an efficiency unit and did have a stove and microwave which could be helpful if you wanted to cook. Management really upset us as we had booked the room with a free breakfast but the management would not provide the breakfast unless we paid for it ($19 AUD) and submiitted a claim to our travel agent. We booked the hotel direct. Great workers - poor management.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear JimK42
Thank you for your feedback your comments assist us to make improvements.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Rendezvous is ideally positioned in the Rocks area of Sydney with views of the bridge. The staff were very helpful friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived (at 0700). We were given use of the spa area to freshen up until our room was ready.
The room was large, clean and well equipped with a full kitchen area. The large balcony had views over sydney and that bridge. Breakfasts were the usually buffet style, not much variety but sufficient. They seemed pricey but not compared to the rest of Sydney.
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

With my husband attending two days of meetings in Sydney it was too good an opportunity to pass up a couple of nights in Sydney for myself and our young toddler. Finding the Rendevous Stafford on Wotif, I was originally going to book the standard 1 brm apartment (with no view or balcony) which seemed good value. But then I mentioned that a harbour view room was also available and we decided "what the hell" lets treat ourselves. I'm so glad we did because the views from our room on the 6th floor were fantastic and well worth the extra expense. The balcony was huge and all glassed in so it was safe for our toddler to run around. We had spectacular views of the Opera House and the huge cruise ship berthed at Circular Quay.

The location of the Rendevous Stafford is right in the middle of the Rocks just up the road from the Argyle Centre and 5 minutes walk down to Circular Quay - a very convenient location. The apartment was very quiet and comfortable. Parking is available underneath the hotel (at a cost) and is accessble via a lift from the hotel (an advantage that a lot of other hotels don't have). We enjoyed our stay at the Rendevous Stafford Hotel so much it will be difficult to stay anywhere else in Sydney!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here on Anzac Day Eve. Didn't find it as great as recent views suggested, but it is hard to find good accom. in Sydney unless you spend $500 a night.

Good points - great location in the Rocks, close to Circular Quay and Opera House. Nice view of harbour bridge from balcony, quiet, comfortable, self-contained kitchenette was good.

Negative points - cleanliness - there were stains like blood on the back of the bathroom door. Hair from other guests was left stuck to the walls and other surfaces from where the cleaner had wiped over. Service - not rude, but staff were indifferent. Also, I asked what time was checkout and the night desk clerk (early hours of 25 April 2012) told me straight away it was 12 noon. I felt he didn't really know, but just told me that randomly - or maybe he was trying to trick me into getting over charged. Next morning I checked again with another desk clerk and was told 12 noon was wrong - it is 10am.

Complimentary tea/coffee - no milk was provided in my room, I had to ask for it to be sent up.

I will stay elsewhere next time I find myself in Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear CochinCat,

Thank you for your feedback we have used your comments to assist us in improving our standard of service.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing