We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location one of few positives” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #48 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location one of few positives”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Whenever I see a hotel on Trip Advisor with a strongly positive rating, lots of good reviews, and a handful of negatives, I must admit I wonder if people are just being a bit picky. But this experience has shown me that it is indeed possible to have a terrible stay in an otherwise well-regarded hotel. The only thing stopping me from giving it one star is that the location is absolutely brilliant- right on the doorstep of The Rocks and Circular Quay, within spitting distance of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. We had one Saturday to spend in Sydney, and the markets at the Rocks are a long-time favourite- in that respect, this hotel was ideal.

The staff at the hotel were also excellent- extremely courteous and helpful.

Besides those two positives, it was an awful stay for me- and interestingly, I can see that many of the poor/ terrible ratings were from people who stayed in similar circumstances to us- families using the rollaway beds in what I understand may be older rooms on the second floor.

I booked a room with a queen bed and two rollaway singles through Wotif- I was travelling with my mother, toddler and baby, and that configuration suited us perfectly. After an excellent check-in in the lovely lobby, we took the elevator up to our room, where we found it rather lacking in some ways. The paintwork was shabby in places, and there was a loud ventilator grille above the door that droned all night. I believe it was connected to the heating unit, so if we'd turned that off it probably would have been okay- except that the room was freezing, and with two small kids we didn't want it to get any colder. By the next morning, the temperature had finally come up to a warmer point.

There was only one rollaway bed rather than two, but the hotel had provided a separate baby cot as requested, so that was fine. There wouldn't have been room for two anyway- the rollaway was jammed right in the middle of the living area, between the sofas and the television, which prevented us from using that space to sit and talk or watch TV. It was a one bedroom apartment, so we hadn't expected a second room for the bed, but we hadn't expected things to be so tight.

The queen sized bed in the main bedroom was great, though there was no cover on the quilt (just a sheet wrapped around it), and my mother and daughter had a very good night's sleep in there. The bathroom facilities were also very good; the kitchen was okay.

It wasn't until I got the baby to sleep in the cot and everyone else in the apartment was sound asleep that I went to get in the rollaway bed, and discovered that it was absolutely unusable. It was rock solid with no give at all, and all of the rigid springs were protruding up through the top. With everyone in our room already asleep after a very long day and all the lights out, I couldn't call to complain and request a replacement, though the staff assured me the next morning that this would have been provided immediately (I'm sure it would have been, but circumstances just did not allow for me to do that, so I acknowledge that my own situation prevented me from seeing what kind of response the hotel would have had).

Instead, I tried folding extra blankets on top of the mattress, but it was still too hard to lie on without shoulder or back pain. I contemplated putting the blankets on the floor, then decided to sleep on the couch instead. The couch had a sag in the middle and wasn't comfortable, particularly with my knees hanging off the edge, but it was softer than the rollaway, and by that point it was the best I could do. I had a pretty terrible night's sleep, as you can imagine.

The next morning upon checking out, I complained about the bed. The staffer I spoke to was vaguely apologetic and mentioned that they were planning on refurbishing some of the rooms, and they knew some of the rollaway beds needed to be replaced. I would love to know, in that case, why on earth they are still being provided to customers who are paying good money for a place to sleep. I did not pay my tariff to sleep on a couch- if that was the quality of accommodation I was seeking, I could have paid significantly less money for it. I was not offered any kind of restitution for the bad experience.

Back to the positives- the staff happily organised for us to catch the shuttle bus to the airport for our afternoon flight, and were able to store our luggage for us for the whole time we were out. We had a lovely morning wandering around the Rocks, and were happy with the location and the service that allowed us to leave our bags for the day.

However, given the experience I had, I would not return to this hotel with my family for future stays. I would also not recommend it to people travelling with children or requesting the rollaway beds for any other reason- unless the management advise that they have replaced the existing ones with something a few shades softer than sheet metal.

Room Tip: Check the rollaway beds as soon as you arrive if using and request an immediate replacement if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear C G
Your comments are noted with thanks. We are in the process of replacing all our rollaway beds, and it was pleasing to hear you enjoyed the Rocks area of Sydney.
Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    743
    237
    78
    48
See reviews for
339
917
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here in May 2012. (one night stay prior to boarding P & O cruise.). Great location right in The Rocks. Clean, basic accommodation. Staff were helpful. We stayed in a lower room floor with no view, upper levels probably enjoy lovely view of harbour and Bridge.
Breakfast in the buffet was small but adequate.
No worries about fire safety. During our stay there was a false alarm accompanied by loud announcements directly into the room via intercom. Annoying false alarm, but good system.
Would I return? No reason not to, although prefer to seek out new experiences so probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent location, right in the Rocks area of Sydney and within close walking distance to the bridge, the Opera house, circular quay. A charming hotel made up of old Sydney houses and converted into a very good hotel. The staff were excellent, very helpful with everything we asked them. If you like seafood try the excellent Fish at the Rocks restaurant which is just around the corner from this hotel. We had a small patio outside our room with an incredible view of Sydney harbour bridge and also a small kitchen area in the room so it more like staying in a studio apartment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Bellicious,
Thank you for your kind words about our team and the hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Sydney with us.
Kind Regards
Ravi Satyavolu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you want to stay right in The Rocks - our room looked right out on the back of Suzanne's Place - this is a good spot. Not as pricey as some places without sacrificing ensuite facilities. The full kitchen was helpful, too. The room was very clean and of a generous size. A guest laundry was a plus. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge,New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a harbour view studio through AIirNZ,and when I booked I asked for twin beds.On arrival it was a queen bed and a sofa bed-not ideal and not what we wanted.Very helpful staff arranged for a rollaway bed to be placed in our room,explaining that the hotel had very few twin bed rooms and if I had booked on the hotel website this would have been explained.When i booked through AirNz it was obvious that AirNZ had a hold on the available rooms as the hotel website showed them as booked.One month later those same rooms were available,but I was already booked and paid through AirNZ.It's a good basic hotel,though the bed making was not brilliant and there was no mattress cover under the sheet on the rollaway bed.However it's got a great location,great views,and very helpful,polite desk staff-the hotel's best asset.I suspect that the hotel is due for a makeover soon.

Room Tip: Harbour view please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear SueC
Thank you for your feedback all comments help us to improve our overall service standards and
we love hearing that our desk staff are a great asset for the hotel as well as our location.
Kind regards
Ravi Satyavolu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at Rendezvous prior to a cruise. It was a great location for cruise passengers as it was located within walking distance of the cruise terminal. Staff was very helpful and very friendly. The hotel was comfortable and had great views of the city including the Opera House but a little expensive. The downfall was that the toilet seat was broken and not fixed when we brought it to the hotels attention. The room was an efficiency unit and did have a stove and microwave which could be helpful if you wanted to cook. Management really upset us as we had booked the room with a free breakfast but the management would not provide the breakfast unless we paid for it ($19 AUD) and submiitted a claim to our travel agent. We booked the hotel direct. Great workers - poor management.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear JimK42
Thank you for your feedback your comments assist us to make improvements.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Rendezvous is ideally positioned in the Rocks area of Sydney with views of the bridge. The staff were very helpful friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived (at 0700). We were given use of the spa area to freshen up until our room was ready.
The room was large, clean and well equipped with a full kitchen area. The large balcony had views over sydney and that bridge. Breakfasts were the usually buffet style, not much variety but sufficient. They seemed pricey but not compared to the rest of Sydney.
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing