We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Brilliant Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #39 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If your are a tourist and in Sydney for sightseeing then this hotel is a great place to stay, accommoation is very spacious, superbly equiped and stylishly furnished. Hotel is a minute away from Wynyard Rail and Bus Exchange, less than 10 minutes walk from Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Harbour Bridge, Opera House etc - could not be more perfect in terms of location. We had a very spacious studio with large kitchen, a dining area and lovely seating area. There was also a washing machine and dryer. Hotel staff were welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. An added bonus for a central city hotel is that it has an outdoor roof top swimming pool - pefect for cooling down after a day sightseeing in the hot sunshine. We stayed 6 nights and it was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed the central location the York by Swiss-Belhotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    406
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
328
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

very central hotel, 10 minute walk to Circular key . The deluxe room with separate lounge and bedroom was well fitted out and had a nice corner balcony . Ours had a dishwasher , washing machine , tumble dryer , electric hob and fridge /freezer . It made for a very enjoyable 6 night stay , not cheap but good value . Nice outdoor pool which seemed to be rarely used .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time at The York by Swiss-Bel Hotel. We look foward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I'd read mixed reviews on this place, but I wanted a 2 bedroom apartment within walking distance to circular Quay and this place delivered. The staff were fabulous, very helpful and friendly. Parking was safe and cheap for the city. We had the deluxe room, and it was very roomy with air con in both bedrooms and the lounge. It would be a great spot for a long term stay with everything needed. My only complaint would be the shower had obvioulsy not been cleaned (hair in the drain). If you stay, head across the road for beakfast at "barramundi", as recommended by staff.

Room Tip: Pick the deluxe apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_Jez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Public Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Oz_Jez,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in February 2012 before our cruise. Our rate upgraded us to a deluxe room, subject to availability. We were upgraded and our room was excellent! The ladies at the front desk could not have been better. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBill_89509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Mr Bill,
Thank you for taking time to review the York by Swiss-bel Hotel.
We constantly strive to provide excellent customer service and are greatful when it is noticed and appreciated. We hope to see you again for another Lovely Stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

we decided to opt for a tp floor pent house between 4 of us rather than 2 rooms each, so pleased it was superb with 2 balconies looking over Sydney harbour and a fully fitted kitchen, lounge and dining room and 2 bathrooms, the lounge had sofas and seats for 8 people, wifi was chargeable at $10 a day, washing machine and tumble dryer were also buuilt in along with fridge and freezer. teh pool is on teh 3rd floor and also had a whirl pool spa bath, from teh out side thsi looks like a boring red brick building even teh public area was spartan but when you opened teh room into the bedroom it took our breath away teh balcony one side accommodated 8 poeple so we sat and drank and ate outside watching the sky go red, the location is up a slight hill but literally 4 mins walk from Circular Quay

Room Tip: if theres more than one room needed opt for the Penthouse, 2 mins walk away if the courtyard cafe in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the York by Swiss-bel Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is through positive feedback that we are able to know how best to service our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We've just returned home from a quick 3 night trip to Sydney to climb the Harbour Bridge. I had been monitoring Trip Advisor religiously, and worried because of some of the reivews. They were either glowing, or really terrible. After staying at The York, I assume that the apartments are all privately owned, and some may be better than others. Ours certainly exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in a deluxe executive suite on the 22nd floor. The main reason we decided to stay here was because, with 2 teenage boys, most hotels would offer 2 queen beds in a room (they don't want to share a bed!), or interconnecting rooms (double the price). A serviced apartment was certainly a better move.

We entered the apartment and straight ahead was the living room, to the left was a bedroom for the boys, and to the right (down a short hall) was the master bedroom. The master bedroom had a large ensuite next to it, with a double sink, bath, shower and loo. Next to that was a laundry with washing machine and dryer. Other reviews have said appliances were noisy, however this was not the case in this particular room.

Walking forward from the front door, you pass the 2nd bathroom on the right, and walk into the main living area. It has a full kitchen with appliances (toaster, saucepans etc). A large L shaped couch with TV. To the right of the living room is a rectangle table with 6 chairs. A little further to the right, behind sliding doors, is an office with desk, chair and couch.

The kids room had its own veranda with table and 4 chairs, where we had breaky! The living room had a veranda with a table and 2 chairs. We had a lovely view of Lavender Bay. There were certainly buildings in the way, but, hey, it's the city. At night it was lovely.

Friday afternoon we walked to Darling Harbour and had lunch, then that night we walked down to the bridge and did the climb. Saturday, we walked down to the market at the Rocks and then to Circular Quay to catch a ferry to Pyrmont, the monorail around and walked back to the unit. It was a great location and gave us the opportunity to visit many sites without need for a car.

After each trip out, we enjoyed a swim in the beautiful pool on the 6th floor, and soaked in the spa. There was also a sauna and gym.

We would recommend this apartment to friends and family, but perhaps suggest they stay in that particular unit or at least book the deluxe executive. I believe the executive all face the front of the building.

On the down side...I would be careful with little kids. The verandas do have pot plants and chairs. You can lock the sliding doors, but there are not locks up high, so you would need to be vigilant. Again, this was in this particular unit, others may be different.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 22nd floor and had no problems with the traffic noise. Closing the glass sliding d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We appreciate your positive comments, and have certainly taken onboard your suggestions for improvement.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed here in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment with 2 girlfriends start of feb (2012) for 4 nights.I found it to be fairly big and the bathrooms were nice. the main bedroom was very big and the 2nd was abit small but you're only really in there for sleeping so that was fine. Lounge room had room to move and the kitchen wasnt tiny either. It had everything you need and we got our rooms service everyday with new towles. didnt get any new shampoo etc in our stay just what was there when we go there. I'm sure you could ask for more if you needed it.everything seem pretty clean, also had a big balcony.
At night i found it to be abit noisy with all the cars, we were on the 15th floor so im sure the higher you are the less it would be. it wasnt to bad, im just a light sleeper. Which it never once woke me up just getting to sleep. that was only the first night so could of been still working on Perth time.
The location was great, could walk to most things. the place it self, i was pretty happy with and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goingawayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#68 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing