We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Nearby Hotels
US$239
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$130
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
362
453
116
43
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
453
116
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswynyard stationyork apartmentscircular quaygreat locationdeluxe studiowasher and dryeryork streetfull kitchenapartment hotelone bedroom apartmentlarge balconyopera houseexcellent apartmentliving arealaundry facilitiesserviced dailydining table
Filter
Updating list...
752 - 757 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

very central hotel, 10 minute walk to Circular key . The deluxe room with separate lounge and bedroom was well fitted out and had a nice corner balcony . Ours had a dishwasher , washing machine , tumble dryer , electric hob and fridge /freezer . It made for a very enjoyable 6 night stay , not cheap but good value . Nice outdoor pool which seemed to be rarely used .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time at The York by Swiss-Bel Hotel. We look foward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I'd read mixed reviews on this place, but I wanted a 2 bedroom apartment within walking distance to circular Quay and this place delivered. The staff were fabulous, very helpful and friendly. Parking was safe and cheap for the city. We had the deluxe room, and it was very roomy with air con in both bedrooms and the lounge. It would be a great spot for a long term stay with everything needed. My only complaint would be the shower had obvioulsy not been cleaned (hair in the drain). If you stay, head across the road for beakfast at "barramundi", as recommended by staff.

Room Tip: Pick the deluxe apartments.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz_Jez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Public Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear Oz_Jez,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in February 2012 before our cruise. Our rate upgraded us to a deluxe room, subject to availability. We were upgraded and our room was excellent! The ladies at the front desk could not have been better. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBill_89509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Mr Bill,
Thank you for taking time to review the York by Swiss-bel Hotel.
We constantly strive to provide excellent customer service and are greatful when it is noticed and appreciated. We hope to see you again for another Lovely Stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

we decided to opt for a tp floor pent house between 4 of us rather than 2 rooms each, so pleased it was superb with 2 balconies looking over Sydney harbour and a fully fitted kitchen, lounge and dining room and 2 bathrooms, the lounge had sofas and seats for 8 people, wifi was chargeable at $10 a day, washing machine and tumble dryer were also buuilt in along with fridge and freezer. teh pool is on teh 3rd floor and also had a whirl pool spa bath, from teh out side thsi looks like a boring red brick building even teh public area was spartan but when you opened teh room into the bedroom it took our breath away teh balcony one side accommodated 8 poeple so we sat and drank and ate outside watching the sky go red, the location is up a slight hill but literally 4 mins walk from Circular Quay

Room Tip: if theres more than one room needed opt for the Penthouse, 2 mins walk away if the courtyard cafe in teh Rocks buy your break and cakes from here and eat them on the balcony, Starbucks is also next door
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the York by Swiss-bel Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is through positive feedback that we are able to know how best to service our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We've just returned home from a quick 3 night trip to Sydney to climb the Harbour Bridge. I had been monitoring Trip Advisor religiously, and worried because of some of the reivews. They were either glowing, or really terrible. After staying at The York, I assume that the apartments are all privately owned, and some may be better than others. Ours certainly exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in a deluxe executive suite on the 22nd floor. The main reason we decided to stay here was because, with 2 teenage boys, most hotels would offer 2 queen beds in a room (they don't want to share a bed!), or interconnecting rooms (double the price). A serviced apartment was certainly a better move.

We entered the apartment and straight ahead was the living room, to the left was a bedroom for the boys, and to the right (down a short hall) was the master bedroom. The master bedroom had a large ensuite next to it, with a double sink, bath, shower and loo. Next to that was a laundry with washing machine and dryer. Other reviews have said appliances were noisy, however this was not the case in this particular room.

Walking forward from the front door, you pass the 2nd bathroom on the right, and walk into the main living area. It has a full kitchen with appliances (toaster, saucepans etc). A large L shaped couch with TV. To the right of the living room is a rectangle table with 6 chairs. A little further to the right, behind sliding doors, is an office with desk, chair and couch.

The kids room had its own veranda with table and 4 chairs, where we had breaky! The living room had a veranda with a table and 2 chairs. We had a lovely view of Lavender Bay. There were certainly buildings in the way, but, hey, it's the city. At night it was lovely.

Friday afternoon we walked to Darling Harbour and had lunch, then that night we walked down to the bridge and did the climb. Saturday, we walked down to the market at the Rocks and then to Circular Quay to catch a ferry to Pyrmont, the monorail around and walked back to the unit. It was a great location and gave us the opportunity to visit many sites without need for a car.

After each trip out, we enjoyed a swim in the beautiful pool on the 6th floor, and soaked in the spa. There was also a sauna and gym.

We would recommend this apartment to friends and family, but perhaps suggest they stay in that particular unit or at least book the deluxe executive. I believe the executive all face the front of the building.

On the down side...I would be careful with little kids. The verandas do have pot plants and chairs. You can lock the sliding doors, but there are not locks up high, so you would need to be vigilant. Again, this was in this particular unit, others may be different.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 22nd floor and had no problems with the traffic noise. Closing the glass sliding doors cut out a lot of noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYSB, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We appreciate your positive comments, and have certainly taken onboard your suggestions for improvement.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews