We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather sleep on the pavement outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'd rather sleep on the pavement outside”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The receptionist managed to check me in without once making eye contact, after making me wait over 10 minutes despite being the only person in reception.

The (allegedly non-smoking) room she put me in STANK of smoke. I mean STANK like a New Orleans bar on a Sunday morning. I had to battle to be moved to another room.

The bathroom was unclean (nothing worse than seeing someone else's hair plastered to the shower walls.)

Room service food was good - but I was slapped with an extra $5 surcharge on check out (no mention of this in the menu) for the honour of having room service actually delivered to my room: "it's normally served in the restaurant". Ok then.

I feel like I need a holiday to get over staying in this dark, dirty, unfriendly place.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere. This place will ruin your trip to Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Victoria J,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.

I was concerned to read of the problems you experienced with your room, we are a non smoking hotel so I have passed your feedback into our Houskeeping Manager to follow up. Please accept my apologies.
With regards to the $5 service charge for your room service this is advertised on your in room menu and is a standard surcharge to hotels world wide, I am sorry to hear you were not aware of this prior to ordering.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me directly in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me on 9274 1222.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    1,995
    1,156
    404
    218
See reviews for
841
1,581
424
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April/May 2011, check in was hassle free. The room was a little "Shabby" and in need of refurbishment, especially the bathroom however this did not spoil our stay, when rooms are being used they can't be kept "as new" for ever, we were out and about exploring and didn't need lots of amenities. Staff were helpful. We were overlooked by the neighbouring building, so kept the louvres closed.

Great location, close to the Wynyard Railway Station and a short walk to the shops & cafes along with the Harbour & Bridge. Great value for money,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireLass004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear YorkshireLass004,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
It was great to read you loved our location and the helpful staff and we hope you will stay here again next time you are in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at the Travelodeg Wynyard on 2 different occassions, the latest stay was 3 days ending on Good Friday.As a base to explore the central district of Sydney it's great. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced.

Wynyard train station is minutes away and allowed us to get to the horse races and had we packed a bit lighter could have taken us to the airport. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and never seemed put out by any request made by guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Keith C,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Wynyard. We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team. I am pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you are looking for a value accomodation that is reasonably equipped and clean, the Travelodge is a good choice. If you need a gym, go somewhere else, it's tiny with 4 cardio machines but practically no weights.
Book early 2-3 weeks in advance to get a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAKETHEL0NGWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear myvoyager ,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, really appreciate it and hope you will stay here again next time you are in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I found this hotel handy to everything in Sydney CBD. Walking distance to Darling Harbour. Free bus to Circular Quay, China town. Concierge very helpful. Comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear sometimesoon,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Wynyard, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your positive comments.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's a travelodge... Room was very clean, bed was large and mostly comfortable, lots of tea and coffee available in the room for free, air conditioning worked, bathroom small but functional, location great, staff friendly and mostly under control of what was going on. Absolutely fine for the money, no issues at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooseman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Mooseman100,
Thank you for your positive review of Travelodge Wynyard.
I will share you feedback with our team and we hope to see you back at - one day in the future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Reasonable price for this area of Sydney but dark and a bit shabby. However clean and staff helpful. Easy walking distance of lots of main tourist areas. Coles supermarket in Wynard station. Free internet at library. Prices in resturant for dinner good value .

Room Tip: Higher floors for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Waddi,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Wynyard. We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,788 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing