We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is something special. From the time that you walk through the front doors into the lobby you feel that you have been transported back to a bygone era. The whole ambience is great and is probably from the 50's or 60's. It is hard to realise that this used to be a department store!!
I stayed there for 2 nights earlier this month and enjoyed the whole stay. The room was very comfortable - not large, but certainly good enough for 1 person.
Breakfast was great - plenty of variety and it was being topped up all the time.
It is in a great location - not far from the nearest train station or a short 15 minute walk to Circular Quay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,585
    1,880
    428
    112
    64
See reviews for
696
2,024
331
1,343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed overnight at the grace hotel and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is a bit old but I like it, it has character. The pool and gym on the top floor is disappointing - it's very small. There's not much on offer in terms of restaurants and shops inside the hotel but the location is so convenient you just have to walk around the corner and there are heaps of options for eating, drinking and shopping. If you stay on a sat night avoid the rooms facing the CBD hotel as it can get pretty noisy late at night.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nitalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toolamba, victoria
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here just the one night, snaring it through a mystery booking on Wotif. The building is stunningly art-deco and many of the unmodernised features have been retained, making the hotel rather endearing. The service was pleasant and helpful. The room itself was comfortable with a very nice king size bed. The room was spotless too.A downside was the shower was over a bath, though this was only a minor point.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staying at the Grace Hotel again in Sydney this time for a 8 day stint. What a wonderful looking hotel, and this has to be a must for any Art Deco officiando's out there. Rooms are nice enough, but not ultra modern. Try not to get the rooms facing the inne core of the hotel as limited light and no view. Location in excellent and staff very respondent.

Room Tip: Try get the rooms on the street sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon in January 2012. We booked it through Wotif and it turned out to be a good choice in Sydney, in terms of its location and price. We arrived from Sydney Airport thoroughly jetlagged, and despite being early the room was ready for us, which was good. It was a "superior" room (their lowest grade) and was generally fine, though we were slightly puzzled by the inclusion of a baby cot in the room (we don't have children and didn't request this), though it was removed the next day by the equally bemused hotel staff!

The hotel is in a central location, a few minutes walk to the tube and walkable to the Rock's, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour (the closest to hotel) etc. The concierge provided some maps etc to help with our travels, and was also able to book a shuttle bus back to the airport at the end of our stay. It's worth doing this to get from SYD airport to the hotel incidentally - it cost less than half the price of a taxi for two of us to go by shuttle service.

Our room was comfortable and (with the cot removed) spacious enough, though not enormous. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room also had a good easy chair, workstation, tv, tea/coffee etc. The bathroom was smallish but functional, though I'd have preferred a full shower curtain to the half-length screen, but that's just personal preference. See photos for a better idea of room layout etc. We slept well all four nights (including weekend nights) and weren't troubled by any noise, though we had requested and got a high floor room which may have contributed to that.

We visited the pool area one evening, on the roof. There's a lap pool and a jacuzzi, both of which were fine for one group but could be a bit crowded if there was more than two of you (or more than one group) there at a time. Not bad for a couple of minutes relaxing though.

In summary this is a good choice of hotel if you need a base in Sydney (where even regular hotel rooms can cost the earth), with comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and a good central location close to tourist attractions and the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and there'll be no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed at this property a number of times over the past few years and it never disappoints. The rooms are well appointed and very spacious with a good mix between the classic look of the hotel with a new modern influence. The beds are really comfy which I find a must when traveling for work, and the staff are always friendly. Close to everything you need with readily available taxi's at the door when required. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a really good hotel, great service, great location right in the heart of the city, big rooms and at a reasonable price. I can't really say much more. I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank smallsFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing