We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$239
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$130
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$141
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$229
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$158
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
763
167
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
167
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensdrawing roomdormer roomchallis avenuecloud roomopera housekings crossquiet neighborhoodbed and breakfastboiled eggscircular quaysmall hotelhome from homeboutique hotelwithin walking distanceshort walkrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 966 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Simpsons is a delightful place to stay if you enjoy heritage listed architecture and service how it should be! Perfect location in Sydney with easy walking access to delights of Sydney Harbour and botanical gardens. Potts Point was full of yummy delis and cafes. My room was on the top floor but was perfect for my needs - a good size, with a window that opened and a nice ensuite. It was also very quiet. Your host, Keith, is extremely helpful and accommodating of requests where possible. The buffet-type breakfast was great. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Simpson's and have no hesitation in recommending it. I will definitely stay there again. It's not cheap but compares well with other CBD hotel prices.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what level your room is on in case you can't manage stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docmartin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

We are pleased that this guest enjoyed her stay with us. There is no doubt that if you do not need to stay right in the middle of the city (amongst the high-rise buildings and busy pedestrian and motor traffic!), then Potts Point is a great alternative.

We particulary enjoy the 20-mins. stroll into town, along the Woolloomooloo harbour foreshore and the Domain Park and Royal Botanic Gardens. Marie walks into work each day, and enjoys both the exercise and the ambience. Be warned, however, there is a flight of 116 stairs on the way ( but on the return it is only 58, as you can do them two at a time) !!

Speaking of stairs, our old mansion has three levels. Our three Dormer-rooms (Attic-style) are on the second floor (i.e. two flights), and our Superior King-bed rooms are on the first-floor (one fight), and we have DeLuxe Queen and Family-rooms on the ground-floor.

All our rooms have either Queen or King-beds, flat-screen televisions, small fridge, and all the usual amenities, and of course ensuite-bathrooms (two King-bed rooms have a small bath-tub with shower over, and the others have shower only). All bed-rooms have individual air-conditioning units, as well as windows that actually open !

In our Lounge we have a complimentary computer and also WiFi throughout. There is port and sherry for a tipple in the evening, and now that cooler nights are upon us the fire is lit in the lounge, giving a cosy atmosphere to read the large choice of books from the library.

We do not have all the facilities of a modern chain hotel, but sufficient to make your stay comfortable, and we hope enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

If you want a small intimate luxury hotel full of character and charm in vibrant residential area with good restaurants and shops within walking distance of central Sydney this is a beautiful venue.
The hosts Keith and Marie are friendly and knowledgeable (except for ornithology) and are eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Would love to have had time to stay longer and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonseweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thanks for this friendly Review. Sorry about the lack of ornithicogical knowledge ! I will have to brush-up on it !

Especially as we have a surprising adundance of birdlife for a densely populated area. I think the reason for this is that the Royal Botanic Gardens are less than a mile away, which is no distance at all if you are a bird with wings !

We also get the flying foxes nesting occasionally in our palm trees in the front garden, and the odd curious possum, as well as the huge squawking white cockatoos and beautiful rainbow lorikeet parrots.

It all makes the Potts Point a very pleasant place to live, or visit, being such a cosmolitan and eclectic neighbourhood, yet still only a 20-minutes stroll to the city, which Marie walks each morning to work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Only metres from the sometime frenzy of Macleay Street, Simpson's is a dignified but relaxed retreat in a leafy part of one of Sydney's more fascinating precincts. The hotel has been tailored into a late-Victorian/Arts and Crafts mansion which offers privacy, casual comfort and a personal rapport with the owners and management.

Simpson's is not the place for those who like the often grand but formulaic five star chain hotels in the CBD. It is a good (and very pleasant) 15 to 20 minute walk from the city centre or five minutes from the rail network if walking doesn't appeal. The rooms are not five star and don't purport to be but they are spacious and well appointed in a "lived-in" fashion.

Breakfast is served in an airy atrium room and provides a good range of cereals, fruit, cold selections, breads, juices, tea and coffee. Some may decry a lack of hot options but the choice is ample, constantly refreshed and attractively presented.

As a base for accessing the harbour foreshores and parklands or for running or walking through some of the most appealing parts of the city, Simpson's is in an ideal location. It is also close to some of the city's liveliest cafes, restaurants and bars and a short taxi ride to delightful Paddington, bustling Surry Hills and the Eastern Suburbs beaches. For the unashamedly self indulgent there is a particularly well stocked delicatessen and specialty wine shop only 150 metres away.

This hotel is an intimate and casual alternative for guests who wish to experience Sydney rather than simply pass through it and staying there feels like being at a friend's house. Limited onsite parking is provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

We appreciate the balanced Review this guest has written, which seems to sum up "Simpsons", and the Potts Point area, very fairly and articulately.

We ourselves enjoy this local neighbourhood, with its interesting cafes, restaurants and shops, and its convenient proximity to the city.

We do enjoy giving ideas to visitors, and hope that they can leave with a good impression of our lovely city. We feel that "Simpsons" is a good base for those who do not need to be right in the middle of the city, but close enough to have convenient access to it, and to all the tourist activities.

As this guest points out, we do not have all the facilities of a large chain hotel, nor is our accomodation modern state-of-the-art, but we do have all the necessary creature comforts to offer an interesting and comfortable base to explore Sydney.

Whilst occasionally we might not fulfill everyone's expectations, our little team will certainly do its best to contribute to what we hope is a pleasant and enjoyable stay in this great city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Beautiful charming property with lots of atmosphere a drawing room with plenty of character and good furnishings port and sherry for guests enjoyment. Our bedroom was good size - the down side was the beds were just so uncomfortable to get a good nights rest and for me that is the main priority-upon leaving we found some sort of bed softener in the top of the wardrobe. Breakfast in the conservatory was ample and good, A big plus is the tiny car park as parking in this area is a total nightmare! Keith the owner is most helpful offering his knowledge re places to visit and eat,

Room Tip: No lift could be a problem to some travellers
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malpass51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We are glad that these English guests enjoyed our charming old home and the vibrant Potts Point neighbourhood, and do appreciate their compliments, but are very sorry that they did not find the beds comfortable.

They had originally booked for five nights, but in the end decided on just one night. They specifically requested a King-bed room configured as two King-singles.

I have personally looked at their bed, which is almost new, and and is a high quality product. Yes, it is certainly mid-firm, but is the manufacturers recommendation for up-market hotel accomodation.

By coincidence, I have had three compliments in the past month on our bed comfort, including one guest who even wanted the name of the supplier to buy one himself.

I agree entirely that hotel bed comfort is paramount, but we all have different needs. Most people prefer slightly on the firmer side, but I am sorry that this did not suit these guests, and are pleased that they otherwise enjoyed their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Simpsons of Potts Points. Great location & very comfortable. Keith Marie and Ree were delightful, and made everything very easy. Loved the antique furniture and old leather and the port and sherry in the drawing room. It was so close to so may attractions and great restaurants which were all walking distance.

On the down side, our toilet often kept running - annoying to get out of bed to re-flush (Keith is waiting on the plumber to install new cisterns), and the pillows were quite firm (?aged). I note some TA comments about the crockery - I bring my own coffee mugs to hotel as I dislike the hotel thick china ones. Agree completely - the cost of good china is so little for the pleasure that it brings, and breakages surely are few.

I would probably stay there again if I wanted to stay in Potts Point.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thanks to these guests for taking the time Review us. We are glad that generally they enjoyed their stay.

The old cisterns are a pain. I will send a copy of this Review to our plumber to try to speed him along! We plan to change all the inards, which is quite a job!

The bedding is a difficult question....firm, soft, or in between? For guests who need a really soft pillow, we do have feather down on request. Our pillows are regularly replaced, so I do not think that age would be the problem. We are about to order some more, so I will take advice from the suppliers.

In relation to crockery, I am always surprised at the number of breakages, especially in the bed-rooms, with both china and glasses, particularly in the bathroom. Most days we would have at least one breakage.

However, we will certainly take on board these comments, and in future will look at the alternatives, but having just purchased some $600 worth of replacements , this may be a little while before we can consider a complete change.

It is always rewarding when guests take the time to give constructive criticism, beacuse even with an ever watchful eye, it is easy to become complacent, or to overlook items which have become familiiar to us or to housekeeping. It is a never-ending job keeping on top of maintenance items in an old building, and sometimes it gets behind, despite best endeavours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews