We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and convenient”
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #47 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here for one night with my husband. The room was small but cosy, and it made a great base for exploring the city. I was initially worried because the windows weren't double-glazed, but even with one of the windows open, the city noise was incredbly quiet. The room was also a bit stuffy, but the air conditioner installed alleviated that quickly. The only caveat I would have is that all the rooms were up quite a steep flight of stairs, and the elevator was broken at one point.

Great hotel. The staff were friendly and made us feel welcome, the location is excellent, and we got a great night's sleep. It's more like an old-style B & B, but fits in perfectly with the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Russell Hotel. Feb 3,4, 5
Good Hotel. If you're looking for the Marriott or the Four Seasons Hotel, this isn't it. However, this is a very charming old hotel located in the popular Rocks area of Sydney. You won't find many of the upscale amenities here, but you will find an excellent staff who will take time with you to answer all of your questions, and give advice about the area. The room was more than adequate, with a good shower and a comfortable bed. This hotel was chosen based on many of the reviews I read on Trip Advisor. The only real negative was that I read about the rooftop garden and how nice it was. Early one morning I went to take a look, and it looked nice, but then I saw two overflowing ash trays. A bit of a turn off. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
This was our first trip, to Australia... It was great... But be aware... You will need your wallet !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Loved the combination of olde world charm, quirkiness, service and location. A really charming little place where I would happily stay again...

Room Tip: Be aware front rooms noisy from George St and only some have aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The title says it all. Location is great - right in the heart of the Rocks. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Sydney for the first time (or second as was my case). Hotel was very clean and the prices quite reasonable for Sydney. Wine bar on the first floor is a nice touch. However, the rooms are very small and not air conditioned. The hallways are quite small also. No parking on site. Breakfast is included but not particularly good. Place has some historic charm but not as much as some others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryland1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just prior to taking a cruise that left from the International Passenger Terminal on Circular Quay just a block and a half away, we spent three nights at the Russell and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel was as we imagine hotel accommodation was many years ago, albeit with the addition of a few modern conveniences. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and it was decorated as it would have been years ago, giving it character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lack of an air conditioner was made up for with a good ceiling fan and the limited number of rooms, made for a relaxed feel. Given that the hotel has various steps at many locations, persons with limited mobility might be better off to get lodgings in a hotel that is on one floor. The hotel is very close to Circular Key and many good restaurants. It is within an easy walk to the Sydney Opera House, museums, etc. We easily walked with our luggage from the train to the hotel (about two blocks). The train arrives in Circular Quay and is a very quick and easy way to get to the Domestic and International Airport Terminals plus it costs less than a taxi.

Room Tip: It is likely wise to ask for a room that does not face the front street where the oldest pub in Sydn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greentree33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Russell is a fantastic Boutique Hotel. Ideally located in the Rocks part of Sydney. I stayed with 2 other family members and they kindly accommodated a twin room in to a 3 bed room. We had a shared bathroom which is something I have not done in the past, however was very clean and we did not find any wait time to get in and use this as only one other room shared this with us.
The Russell also has a lovely wine bar located on the ground floor and this doubles up as the breakfast area in the morning. Breakfast was cereals, toast, fruit and boiled eggs. However was perfect as the lovely restaurants and cafes all around to fill up throughout the day/evening.
This hotel is a must stay at, staff pleasant and friendly, nothing was a problem, FOC Wi-Fi access via a laptop in reception (limited to 15min) also can get Wi-Fi in the room at a small daily charge. There were fresh flowers in the room and also a lovely touch of a chocolate on the pillow in an evening. An Ironing board, hair dryer, tea/coffee making in the room.
This Hotel is everything you want or need when out all day exploring Sydney. Would defiantly stay again if visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank legg0h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Situated in The Rocks directly over the road from Circular Quay. Unbeatable location for Opera House and Bridge viewing and a trip to Manly on the Ferry. You can see Ocean Liners docked as you step out of the hotel. Many historical pubs nearby. Pleasant boutique hotel with an excellent wine bar beneath which doubles as the breakfast area in the morning! Fresh flowers in the room and choccies at bed turn time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 179 in Sydney
2,451 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 179 in Sydney
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $153 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Russell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing