We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Russell Hotel
Ranked #33 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I found th Russell quite by accident, and what a find it was a an old building refurbed to a quaint hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, tiny beds!!! lovely breakfast room and location right in The Rocks, so easy walking to all the sights, great cafes, pubs and restaurants abound, as well as galleries

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    366
    96
    29
    19
See reviews for
125
395
95
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Its ideally located for exploring the old part of Sydney.
Of course, it is on George Street. the oldest street in Australia.

Room Tip: Use the Russel to see the many historic sights in the Rocks, plus the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We chose this hotel as we were on a budget, and we're so pleased with our choice. A very short stroll from the ferry, and would only be a five-minute walk from Wynyard train station. The hotel staff were very efficient, the place is very clean and everything is on your doorstep. Our budget choice involved a shared bathroom, but that actually wasn't a problem at all, as it was just across the landing. I would say the only negative thing was the bed, as it was sticking to the traditional theme of the place, it was old and uncomfortable. The breakfast was 'continental', but not just the basic white toast and rice bubbles. An assortment of breads, cereals, boiled eggs and lovely filtered coffee. I'm already looking forward to our next trip to Sydney. Next time I think I might go for a slightly more expensive option and get a larger room - it will still be cheaper than most other options in this area.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more to get a lot more room and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fyziojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a fantastic little boutique hotel in Sydneys' Rocks area. The hotel is a renovated original building in the Rocks in Sydney. It is surrounded by restaurants, bars and shops. You are located amongst some of Sydneys' premier tourist sites and everything is nearby.

The hotel itself is a renovated original 1800's building. Some rooms have an ensuite, and some use shared facilities. We had a room with an ensuite, that was massive. The room faced the rear of the building over an area known as the Nurses Walk. It was room number 15. Facing the rear meant no city views, but we only slept there, so that was no problem. The room was furnished with older style furniture, but it was all clean, and fresh.

On the negative side, there was not a lot of free power points. The room had no fridge. The area got a little noisy at night. There was no free internet. There was very little storage space for toiletries in the bathroom.

In defense of the hotel. Old buildings from the era of this building were hardly likely to have been built with modern electronic needs in mind. A small price for such a historic setting in my opinion. The lack of fridge is a little strange, but we got by without one for our 4 day stay. The area is in a restaurant, bar and tourist hub in Sydney, so what do you expect. Get out there and be a part of it! The internet issue is common to most hotels in Australia's large cities. That is just the backward way our hotels operate. As for the bathrooms, they should add more shelving. There was plenty of space.

The hotel has an attached restaurant/wine bar. It is important to note that kids are not allowed in there at night. That was ridiculous given that families travel too. Anyway, that just meant that they never got any added value from our stay. all dinners were taken elsewhere.

The toilet area by the wine bar also leads to a rear entry to another little gem. "The Fortune of War" pub. It claims to be the oldest pub in Sydney, and may just be. They have live bands on the weekend, and it is a great place to have a beer within the walls of a very historical old pub.

Another great feature of the hotel was the roof top garden. This little terrace on the roof offers great photo opportunities, and makes a great place for a BYO drink.

The hotel is very convenient to trains, ferries and buses. You really do not need a car if you are staying here. There is a train from the airport and once there, public transport is readily available.

My four stars are for the charm of the property, the friendly staff and the location. Others may rate it lower, as the hotel is not abundant with services. But for me, it was 4. The inconveniences are not unexpected in such an old building, but the charm is actually in the age of the building, and the local history.

Don't miss the weekend markets, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Fortune of War pub, the Argyle Pub and wondering around the old historical areas of the Rocks. These things are all available within 5 minutes of the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware if your room has an ensuite, or if you need to use a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekweni_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I loved the location and the history of the place. Room was well appointed and clean. Nice terrace.

But the energy was off and I just did not feel the price was worth it. Aloof service.

We are going back to Sydney and staying elsewhere.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Located in The Rocks section of Sydney, The Russell is an ideal location for walking, sightseeing, and catching either the ferries or bus in Sydney. The hotel, built in the 1800's has historic charm and each room is different. Traveling on a budget, we reserved a "shared bath" room and found it to be just fine. The room was small, but they have a lovely sitting room with sofas, comfortable chairs and TV, so we had a very comfortable place to read, play cards, and watch TV -- usually by ourselves. The rooftop garden is also a very nice place to relax when the weather is good. The shared bathrooms are updated and on our floor there were two baths shared by seven rooms. Only once did I have to wait to use the bathroom and then I just went to the next floor -- no big deal. Bathrooms are cleaned several times a day so they always were fresh. They leave the doors to vacant rooms open and encourage guests to give themselves self-guided tours of other rooms. I found many lovely rooms with ensuite bathrooms -- great for those who want to upgrade. Robes, iron and ironing board, and a hot water pot with coffee and tea are provided in each room (instant coffee is typical in hotel rooms in Australia). Breakfast is included and is quite good: hard boiled eggs (still hot), various pastries and bread, fruit, yogurt and granola/cereals, juice and coffee -- what else does one need? Eating out in Australia is very expensive so we figured that The Russell saved us about $25.00/day in food expense. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a sign on the Rooftop Garden wall that says, "People arrive here as strangers and leave as friends." Its true.

Room Tip: If you are "noise sensitive" ask for a room away from the Wine Bar side of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyretiree1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at The Russell for 2 nights prior to taking a cruise, It has so much personality and is located in a great location for walking around the heart of Sydney. We made our reservations several months before arriving so we could be sure to get a room. I was concerned about staying in a room with a shared bath but it was not a problem at all. The bathroom was always free when I needed it, sparkling clean and right across the hall from our bedroom. They were kind enought to store our luggage on the last day until we were ready to get on our ship. Everyone at the desk was extremely helpful. Charlie Lumsden really went out of the way to help us out. It was much appreciated!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Hotel

Property: The Russell Hotel
Address: The Russell Hotel 143A George St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Russell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Russell Hotel with just 29 delightfully different rooms is perfectly located for the Sydney visitor seeking a convenient and characterful base from which to explore this exciting city.Sydney is literally on your doorstep at the Russell with Circular Quay, Sydney Harbour and the Museum of Contemporary Art just across the road.The Russell Hotel is a gorgeous bed and breakfast hotel known for its superb location and charm.No two guest rooms are identical at The Russell. The Russell offers a variety of ensuite rooms and very affordable rooms with shared bathroom. The largest rooms overlook George Street whilst guests in search of tranquillity might prefer one of the courtyard rooms or one above Nurses Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Hotel Sydney
Russell Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing