We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$244
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$129
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$157
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$140
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Zetland(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
309
212
47
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
212
47
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric puboldest hotelno liftmeat piepale alecircular quayflights of stairsrocks areatop floorfirst flooropera housecorner rooman easy walkvisiting sydneyfantastic locationaustralianoise
Filter
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 581 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Went here for a few drinks, and was completely enamored by firstly, the ambiance, and then by the beers! I think its going to be up there along with Hotel Schwartz and Lowenbrau in ranking of my favorite beer-bars in Sydney, but will probably steal the thunder because of its ambiance.

They brew a range of their own beers and serve some typically English pub grub. The beers are refreshing and a perfect accompaniment on a warm evening. However, the place is tiny, and you will be lucky to find a table inside, and even luckier to find one outside!

This quaint little place has got all the qualities of typical small English pub. And the fact that its such a tiny place probably makes it even more appealing.

The drinks are a bit expensive, but considering the atmosphere and ambiance, totally worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BABSBINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice area , right on the border of the old quarter and a 10 min downhill walk to the Quay and its amazing sea food restaurants and ofcourse the characteristic opera house.
The rooms are cozy and have the basic amenities. There is no safe in the room and since the building is old the windows might rattle for a bit if its too windy. The staff is great and very helpful. There is a bar on the ground floor and they brew their own beer. It can get loud there but you wont hear a thing in your room.(There is another entrance to the hotel so you dont have to walk through the bar). The breakfast is okay and you can (sometimes) get free wi-fi but that's provided by some third party and may or may not work.
If you have heavy suitcases then you might need the assistance of the staff to get your suitcases to your room as there is no lift.
All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: If you have lot of luggage then try to get a room on the 2nd floor as they don't have any lifts !
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Quaint accommodations - bedroom was very small, but very clean. Bathroom roomy and nicely appointed.
Within walking distance of so many things in the CBD and a good choice for cruisers, as it's about 5-10 minutes walk to the Overseas Passengers Terminal.
No noise from bar at night. Brew was fairly good, but it lacks body and is too thin, especially if you prefer typical English ales. Also, wait a few minutes before drinking, as the temperature is too cold.
If visiting on a Monday, be sure to get the meat pie and peas special in the bar - great deal at $7 and very tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoReCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in Jan-Feb while attending a conference at Sydney Convention Centre. We didn't want to pay Darling Harbour prices. This was a great alternative. While the rooms are a little small they are quiet even though it is above an excellent pub. The pub closes at 10pm so even on the busiest nights we slept soundly. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schneides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay here, having found the hotel on Trip Advisor. I like drink or three so staying in a brewery seemed like a good idea. We booked via the hotels' own website with an email and decided to opt for an en suite room.

We managed to find it using the street map we'd got and parked right outside the side door (you use one if you are coming or going outside opening hours)

There aren't any lifts so just bear that in mind if you have a lots of / heavy luggage, there are a lot of stairs!

The staff were very helpful both with checking in / out and with advice on the airport, places to visit etc... the bar staff and waiting staff were also friendly and polite.

We had room 201 which has a partial view of the Harbour Bridge and is opposite the reception / office room. The location of the hotel means that there is some street noise, we found we had some unexpected early morning wake up calls but it wasn't a problem to drift back off to sleep.

Our room was a good size and looked as though it may be used for meetings as it had some office type equipment and a really big table and chairs in there.

The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had nice toiletries and a grooming kit. Shower pressure was good and hot water available all day.

Breakfast was served in a separate room, lovely and light with nice flowers. Its a continental breakfast with a fruit plate, we found that its was plenty big enough to keep you going to lunch.

Downstairs in the bar there is a great atmosphere, lovely beers and good food, what else can you want from your hotel? The bar was busy every night, a good sign, you need to time it right to get a table. We didn't get too much noise in the room however.

Location is great, you can walk to the bridge in 10 mins and down to the harbour / Circular Quay in 10 mins (obviously depends how fit you are) so you are not far from any of the main sights and within easy reach of ferries to further flung places. You are also within reach of plenty of bars and restaurants. Its worth going into the smaller bars as some of big entertaining spaces out the back which are not always obvious from the front.

Overall I think you get a better experience staying in a smaller place like Lord Nelson than you would do in a big hotel chain.

Sydney is a big city and has a city vibe (for Oz standards anyway) but we were walking around at night and felt very safe.

While we were in Sydney we went to the Aquarium which was good, took the ferry over to Manly which has a lovely beach, took the bus to Bondi (nicer than I expected) you get the #333 bus from Circular Quay, buy a ticket from the booth outside MacDonalds. We also walked over the Opera house but we didn't do any tours just explored the bits which are open.

Room Tip: go for an en suite
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews