We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, good location and nice rooms with character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, good location and nice rooms with character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for a weekend, it is a great location, easy walking distance to circular quay and Pitt street mall. The room was clean and the stone walls added character. The pub serves good food and nice brews. Overall an excellent place to stay in Sydney, would come here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    184
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
277
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Went here for a few drinks, and was completely enamored by firstly, the ambiance, and then by the beers! I think its going to be up there along with Hotel Schwartz and Lowenbrau in ranking of my favorite beer-bars in Sydney, but will probably steal the thunder because of its ambiance.

They brew a range of their own beers and serve some typically English pub grub. The beers are refreshing and a perfect accompaniment on a warm evening. However, the place is tiny, and you will be lucky to find a table inside, and even luckier to find one outside!

This quaint little place has got all the qualities of typical small English pub. And the fact that its such a tiny place probably makes it even more appealing.

The drinks are a bit expensive, but considering the atmosphere and ambiance, totally worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BABSBINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice area , right on the border of the old quarter and a 10 min downhill walk to the Quay and its amazing sea food restaurants and ofcourse the characteristic opera house.
The rooms are cozy and have the basic amenities. There is no safe in the room and since the building is old the windows might rattle for a bit if its too windy. The staff is great and very helpful. There is a bar on the ground floor and they brew their own beer. It can get loud there but you wont hear a thing in your room.(There is another entrance to the hotel so you dont have to walk through the bar). The breakfast is okay and you can (sometimes) get free wi-fi but that's provided by some third party and may or may not work.
If you have heavy suitcases then you might need the assistance of the staff to get your suitcases to your room as there is no lift.
All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: If you have lot of luggage then try to get a room on the 2nd floor as they don't have any lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Quaint accommodations - bedroom was very small, but very clean. Bathroom roomy and nicely appointed.
Within walking distance of so many things in the CBD and a good choice for cruisers, as it's about 5-10 minutes walk to the Overseas Passengers Terminal.
No noise from bar at night. Brew was fairly good, but it lacks body and is too thin, especially if you prefer typical English ales. Also, wait a few minutes before drinking, as the temperature is too cold.
If visiting on a Monday, be sure to get the meat pie and peas special in the bar - great deal at $7 and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoReCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed for a week in Jan-Feb while attending a conference at Sydney Convention Centre. We didn't want to pay Darling Harbour prices. This was a great alternative. While the rooms are a little small they are quiet even though it is above an excellent pub. The pub closes at 10pm so even on the busiest nights we slept soundly. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schneides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay here, having found the hotel on Trip Advisor. I like drink or three so staying in a brewery seemed like a good idea. We booked via the hotels' own website with an email and decided to opt for an en suite room.

We managed to find it using the street map we'd got and parked right outside the side door (you use one if you are coming or going outside opening hours)

There aren't any lifts so just bear that in mind if you have a lots of / heavy luggage, there are a lot of stairs!

The staff were very helpful both with checking in / out and with advice on the airport, places to visit etc... the bar staff and waiting staff were also friendly and polite.

We had room 201 which has a partial view of the Harbour Bridge and is opposite the reception / office room. The location of the hotel means that there is some street noise, we found we had some unexpected early morning wake up calls but it wasn't a problem to drift back off to sleep.

Our room was a good size and looked as though it may be used for meetings as it had some office type equipment and a really big table and chairs in there.

The bed was very comfy and the bathroom had nice toiletries and a grooming kit. Shower pressure was good and hot water available all day.

Breakfast was served in a separate room, lovely and light with nice flowers. Its a continental breakfast with a fruit plate, we found that its was plenty big enough to keep you going to lunch.

Downstairs in the bar there is a great atmosphere, lovely beers and good food, what else can you want from your hotel? The bar was busy every night, a good sign, you need to time it right to get a table. We didn't get too much noise in the room however.

Location is great, you can walk to the bridge in 10 mins and down to the harbour / Circular Quay in 10 mins (obviously depends how fit you are) so you are not far from any of the main sights and within easy reach of ferries to further flung places. You are also within reach of plenty of bars and restaurants. Its worth going into the smaller bars as some of big entertaining spaces out the back which are not always obvious from the front.

Overall I think you get a better experience staying in a smaller place like Lord Nelson than you would do in a big hotel chain.

Sydney is a big city and has a city vibe (for Oz standards anyway) but we were walking around at night and felt very safe.

While we were in Sydney we went to the Aquarium which was good, took the ferry over to Manly which has a lovely beach, took the bus to Bondi (nicer than I expected) you get the #333 bus from Circular Quay, buy a ticket from the booth outside MacDonalds. We also walked over the Opera house but we didn't do any tours just explored the bits which are open.

Room Tip: go for an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Staying at the rocks is great close to opera house and Harbour nice clean rooms at a good price we have stayed on two occasions and planning again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing